Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

Post subject: DF Series 1 "LTD: Sound System Rejuvination
Posted: Sat Jun 25, 2011 8:55 am 
Parts Gopher

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: Ford

QLD, Australia

First some back ground info for you...

I bought my 1x owner Ford DF Series 1 LTD back in February 2011 and whilst it had had all it's routine services as per the handbook (N.B. travelled just 82,000km in 16 years). The car was starting to fall apart around the edges, which i suspect is why the old retired chap that owned her was willing to part with her.

As a former motor mechanic, I saw the potential in the old DF. After all power windows not working, an cheap a** after market head unit with what sounded like blown speakers front and rear and central locking not working (N.B. but a sample of the many small jobs that had accumulated over the years) wasn't beyond anyone's ability --- all i had to do was apply myself and put away some time to get everything done ---

:arrow: So get on with it you say.... I couldn't bear the sound system for even low volume talk back radio. It was so clicky and crackly. Before i started to pull things apart i genuinely thought that someone had turned the volume up full blast and damaged all the speakers as a result, but i couldn't have been more wrong.

*********** Please read my next post as the story continues **************

Attachments:
IMG_0035.JPG
IMG_0035.JPG [ 55.43 KiB | Viewed 269 times ]

Last edited by LTD_DF on Sun Jun 26, 2011 6:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post subject: Re: DF Series 1 "LTD: Sound System Rejuvination
Posted: Sat Jun 25, 2011 9:14 am 
Parts Gopher

QLD, Australia

Upon removing the front door trims and rear parcel shelf (N.B. to access the factory fitted subwoofer) i discovered that the speakers all suffered from the same problem which was...

The diaphram between the speaker frame and the speaker cone had perrished from old-age/sun/use.