Fordmods Logo

engine noise through amped speakers 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: engine noise through amped speakers
Posted: Sun Oct 05, 2008 5:44 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 106

Joined: 26th May 2008

Ride: BA XR6

Location: erina
NSW, Australia

well i never used to have this anoying noise throught the amp i have, i had a 40 amp power line filter on it, i recently got a 1 farad capacitor and a couple more sets of 6.5" splits, the splits are mounted on my boot lid with 1 of the sets of woofers on the parcel shelf. the head unit is powering these at the moment, my amp is now to power my front 6" splits and the 6x9 that are in the rear doors, and i am getting a new amp to power my twin 12" subs in the boot.

My RCA leads are run down the opposite side of the car to the power leads, and there are no breaks in the leads, and the ground that i am using IS clean.

Any one out there have any more idea for me to try get rid of the engine noise? it is very loud......

 

_________________

†={][}= TEKNO ={][}=†

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 05, 2008 6:56 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 383

Joined: 11th Aug 2006

Ride: 6.0L VE Calais-V

Location: Hastings
VIC, Australia

What brand head unit? Pioneer head units are known to cause engine noise when they've been damaged (RCA ground fuse blown).
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 05, 2008 8:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 732

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: LTDHO

Location: South eastern
VIC, Australia

Bad earth!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: yes
Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 9:44 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 106

Joined: 26th May 2008

Ride: BA XR6

Location: erina
NSW, Australia

well it is a pioneer, is there any way i could replace this RCA ground fuse?

It is NOT a bad earth, i have even tried running the earth wire straight to the - terminal on the battery, the engine noise is still there...

 

_________________

†={][}= TEKNO ={][}=†

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: .
Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 10:10 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 340

Joined: 7th Sep 2008

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: EF Futura

Location: Blactown, sydney
NSW, Australia

what side of the car r the wires running...run dower 1 side and REM the other....there is proberly a static cross between the two of them.

 

_________________

EF futura in the build.
http://www.fordmods.com/forums/ef-futur ... 70086.htmlImage

wtb:ef fairmont bonnet,lights & a set of ssl springs

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 11:08 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I found it to be a bad earth...not at the amplifier, but at the engine. Try and remove the earth at the engine block that connects the alternator to the block, give it a good clean and then see if that helps.

I had bad interference noise through my speakers with my old engine, changed the engine over and suddenly the interference was gone. Compared both earth points on the block and the old engine was all dirty and covered in oil.

Hope that helps.

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: ok
Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 11:28 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 106

Joined: 26th May 2008

Ride: BA XR6

Location: erina
NSW, Australia

the power and REM are down the drivers side, the RCA's are down the passenger side, if i put the REM with the RCA's i think it will interfere as well. as i said, it is something that just started happening after a few months of how it was wired, the only thing i changed was the line filter to the capacitor and now i cant get rid of it.

i am going to try wrap wire around the RCA leads at the amplifier and ground them, thats if no1 has any objections to the idea?..........


i will also have a look and the alternators ground, i think it is a more likely possible cause.

 

_________________

†={][}= TEKNO ={][}=†

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 11:55 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Also, with your new wiring. Does the power cable cross the RCA at any stage? if they have to cross, try to cross them in a perpendicular manner, or close to perpendicular.

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: ok
Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 12:02 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 106

Joined: 26th May 2008

Ride: BA XR6

Location: erina
NSW, Australia

no, i have them completely separate right up to the inputs on the amp. i cant figure out why i have the noise, unless i have damaged the H/U in the process of wiring the splits up. just want to know how to replace the RCA ground Fuse, or at least find it to see if its blown

 

_________________

†={][}= TEKNO ={][}=†

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ok
Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 12:04 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

TeKnO wrote:
no, i have them completely separate right up to the inputs on the amp. i cant figure out why i have the noise, unless i have damaged the H/U in the process of wiring the splits up. just want to know how to replace the RCA ground Fuse, or at least find it to see if its blown


I think it is an internal fuse. but that I am unsure of, someone else might be able to help you out there.

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 5:23 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 383

Joined: 11th Aug 2006

Ride: 6.0L VE Calais-V

Location: Hastings
VIC, Australia

Yeh, it'll be the internal RCA ground fuse in the head unit. You can send it to Pioneer to fix up or you can dodgy it up yourself, externally.

All the fuse does is link the RCA ground (outer section of the RCA) to the ground in the head unit (which is your ground wire / the head unit's chassis). You just need to link something from the outside ring of the RCA sockets to the chassis of the head unit.

Test it first, by touching a bare wire between the chassis and the RCA socket and see if your noise disappears. Obviously, the RCA's still need to be plugged into the head unit :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 5:39 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Maybe you need some more speakers.....

Get rid of the cap and the line filter and check the quality of the grounds in the engine bay.....

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: haha
Posted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 10:17 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 106

Joined: 26th May 2008

Ride: BA XR6

Location: erina
NSW, Australia

haha, naa, i think my 16 speakers will be enough for a little while, i will have a go at the wire to the H/U, thanx guys

 

_________________

†={][}= TEKNO ={][}=†

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 08, 2008 5:50 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 106

Joined: 26th May 2008

Ride: BA XR6

Location: erina
NSW, Australia

it was my rca ground fuse in the H/U, thanx guys, its on the way to pioneer

 

_________________

†={][}= TEKNO ={][}=†

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 08, 2008 8:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Seems to be a common problem.....

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:11 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names