Fordmods Logo

fg g6e amp/sub overhaul suggestions. 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 3 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: fg g6e amp/sub overhaul suggestions.
Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 6:32 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 398

Joined: 16th May 2010

Ride: 2010 G6E

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

hey, as the title suggests i'm looking at idea's on a better setup for my g6e, i've recently replaced the factory sub with an 8" kicker, although it's an improvement, it still just doesn't cut it.
anyone able to throw some suggestions on how easy it is putting a new amp in. (i.e using existing wiring, is it as easy an unplugging old amp when done.)
only looking at powering sub, no speakers, factory sound doesn't get cranked so still is decent.
any, info, tips, suggestions and even referalls to a place in melbourne that can sort me out at a fair figure would be sweet.

the el was good, there was pictured step by step threads for everything lol.
cheers.

 

_________________

be good or be good at it.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: fg g6e amp/sub overhaul suggestions.
Posted: Tue Jul 01, 2014 6:43 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 156

Joined: 3rd Nov 2011

Ride: 2009 XR6 FG N/A

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

Use a monoblock amp
I don't have much knowledge of the specifics for the premium audio setup, but I assume the amp is in the boot somewhere?
You could easily tap a line converter in to the signal for that amp and run that to your own better quality amp.
That will get you more power and control over the frequencies for the sub = better quality sound

 

_________________

2dads XR6 FG Build

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: fg g6e amp/sub overhaul suggestions.
Posted: Wed Aug 27, 2014 10:00 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 7

Joined: 26th Aug 2014

Ride: G6 + Territory

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Ive been led to believe its in the boots side panels, rip it out and replace with a monoblock with the approriate RMS to the kicker, youll notice a dramatic difference! not too sure on the power supply the factory amp runs? 8ga possibly, so replace with either 4ga or 2ga, more power supply the less issues to it later on :wink: hope that helps mate

 

_________________

Got Bass?

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 3 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 3:32 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names