Fordmods Logo

head lights problem 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 23 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
 Post subject: Re: head lights problem
Posted: Thu Apr 30, 2009 10:31 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 694

Joined: 6th Apr 2007

Ride: 98 NL, 97NL, 98EL

Power: 141 rwkw

Location: Sunny Coast or Beerburrum
QLD, Australia

hiya, yeah this happened on my NL, Its a 60AMP one. its because I put 100W highbeam lights in it, If i remember right, (black box with i think a purple and a yellow wire going to it) the standard curcit breaker could not handle 2 100W's and 2 55W

What I did was go to Jaycar and buy a curcit breaker from there, (80amp) with a trip switches.

You can tell when they are all worn out cos the pins that go into the black c/breaker go rusty and don't make a good connection.

Its common on the EF/EL that people what brighter lights (and who could blame them!!)

But I have seen the c/breakers under the radiator tank just blow on normal 55W lights too .

ED's had a bigger c/breaker and thicker cables.

Hope this helps.

Haded it while i was away and it died, had to hard wire the lights to come on with the key in the on pos.

I also run a much bigger braker cos I sometime out extra driving lights on my car...

good luck

 

_________________

BANNED!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: head lights problem
Posted: Thu Apr 30, 2009 10:40 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 3805

Joined: 22nd Apr 2007

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: DENTED UP OLD AUT WAGON

Location: Wellington
New Zealand

shazza9275 wrote:
bought new relay breakers and it still does it but about 30secs later tho so its a little improvement

Yeah, that's what I would have guessed. The circuit breaker is breaking becuase of something else. Sure, the circuit breaker might be old and worn, but there is some overloading or a short causing the issue ....

Although I wouldn't trust me as far as I could throw me.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: head lights problem
Posted: Thu Apr 30, 2009 10:41 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 3805

Joined: 22nd Apr 2007

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: DENTED UP OLD AUT WAGON

Location: Wellington
New Zealand

Sommers NL wrote:
hiya, yeah this happened on my NL, Its a 60AMP one. its because I put 100W highbeam lights in it, If i remember right, (black box with i think a purple and a yellow wire going to it) the standard curcit breaker could not handle 2 100W's and 2 55W ...............
Hope this helps.
Damnit, THAT is why I should read to the bottom of a thread before quoting and replying...!!!!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: head lights problem
Posted: Thu Apr 30, 2009 10:45 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 694

Joined: 6th Apr 2007

Ride: 98 NL, 97NL, 98EL

Power: 141 rwkw

Location: Sunny Coast or Beerburrum
QLD, Australia

fiend wrote:
Sommers NL wrote:
hiya, yeah this happened on my NL, Its a 60AMP one. its because I put 100W highbeam lights in it, If i remember right, (black box with i think a purple and a yellow wire going to it) the standard curcit breaker could not handle 2 100W's and 2 55W ...............
Hope this helps.
Damnit, THAT is why I should read to the bottom of a thread before quoting and replying...!!!!


Glad to of helped! :)

Laticia.

 

_________________

BANNED!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: head lights problem
Posted: Thu Apr 30, 2009 7:14 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 218

Joined: 27th Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

if i upgrade the breaker is there a chance that it mite over heat wiring or anything like that ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: head lights problem
Posted: Mon May 04, 2009 9:49 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 218

Joined: 27th Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

hi guys
im still having the same problem with my head lights
i took a video just so you guys get a better idea of the problem
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y-OVIByYraY
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: head lights problem
Posted: Tue May 05, 2009 7:14 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 1998

Joined: 31st Dec 2007

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: xc wag's, tnklane wag's

Location: Munruben
QLD, Australia

so does it only happen on high beams to?

 

_________________

Signature removed by moderator.signature must not exceed 120x500 pixles

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: head lights problem
Posted: Tue May 05, 2009 3:33 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 218

Joined: 27th Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

it happens on normal head lights and high beams but normal head lights just takes a bit longer like 5 mins or so i think maybe wires getting to hot and tripping the breaker
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:47 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names