Fordmods Logo

Installing a new head unit in a EF Fairmont 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 28 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 7:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

madmax wrote:
I'm not having a go at you, just my reasons for why i think these wiring adaptors are a good idea. Personally I don't like crimping anything I find the connections unreliable.


yeah fair enough, but i personally like to crimp proper terminals, and slot them into a Q plug.
are you using the proper crimpers, i have 3 different types of crimpers that i paid $80 each for, and my crimps never fail.

What are those stereo plugs worth anyway?

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 2:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

smoke_rubber wrote:
madmax wrote:
I'm not having a go at you, just my reasons for why i think these wiring adaptors are a good idea. Personally I don't like crimping anything I find the connections unreliable.


yeah fair enough, but i personally like to crimp proper terminals, and slot them into a Q plug.
are you using the proper crimpers, i have 3 different types of crimpers that i paid $80 each for, and my crimps never fail.

What are those stereo plugs worth anyway?


Around $18-$20. This is the first time I've used them. I've put a new DVD Mp3 HU in my car, old one into wifes car so she can use the stacker. In both installations I used these wiring adaptors, makes it real simple as you make up a loom on your bench then just plug in the HU and it all works.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 4:49 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 371

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

i went to a stereo place and they had some pre-made up brackets there, so i just got a pair of those, they just like the normal ones with diff holes in em and flattened out.

 

_________________

EF XR8 - 5speed, Extractors & Exhaust

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 2:56 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 87

Joined: 5th Oct 2005

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Just a quick question, when you get a new after-market stereo, does the back of it have plugs like the back of the ford one? or does it have wires leading out which then can be connected to the wiring harness...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 7:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

you'll have bare wires with a plug on one end that plugs into the stereo. you'll have to connect the wires to the car's wiring harness, or buy a plug like the one discussed here.

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 7:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 852

Joined: 15th Nov 2007

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

hey i just bought one of these for my new EF fairmont, the pioneer i have was connected to a fairlane where the plastic connector was different. the wires on the new EF one are different for 4 wires and i dont no which i should connect to ? any help please
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 7:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 4182

Joined: 30th May 2005

Ride: 1993 EB XR8

Location: BrisVegas
QLD, Australia

what wires are different?

 

_________________

ILL60 - EF XR8, Sunroof, Ticky Kit, 19x8.5/19x11 TE37's, 347, AFr185's, TFS BoxRcustom converter, Hurst Quarterstick, huge billet cam.

51TER - DL LTD. Stock.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 2:08 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 852

Joined: 15th Nov 2007

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

the wires from my pioneer head unit to the old fairlane connector, which connects to the head unit are different from the EF / EL connector

i think there is no black for ground just a orange one spare and the only wire to match the blue there is a blue/white.

this has been done by just matching colors from the pioneer cables to the EF connector i bought is it correct by doing it like that ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 2:25 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 5889

Joined: 2nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: '14 Grand Cherokee

Location: Port Lincoln
SA, Australia

look how old this thread is :P

daniel000 ground is usually black or brown IIRC.

 

_________________

11/93 ED OPT20 GLi | Full Boat Spec

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 2:38 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 852

Joined: 15th Nov 2007

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

lol yeah i no i was desperate to get some asnswers so ive been looking everywhere.


i no ground is usually those colours but on this dam plug the only colours left are orange yellow blue and red. and on the head unit plugs there are red yellow black and blue/white
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 9:10 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 1061

Joined: 7th Sep 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BF3 Egas wag SY AWD Terry Ghia

Location: Brookfield
VIC, Australia

I now use esco strip screw terminals as it takes 5 mins and no soldering. You can swap head units in 5 mins if you upgrade again. I used to spend like an hour getting it all soldered and and sleeved etc.
You can get a damaged screw out with a big pair of wire cutters to grip the outside of the torx. then buy a set of torx keys.

 

_________________

BF3 Egas XT Wagon
SY Territory Ghia AWD 6spA :))

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 12:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 852

Joined: 15th Nov 2007

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

but on this dam plug the only colours left are orange yellow blue and red. and on the head unit plugs there are red yellow black and blue/white
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 6:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 852

Joined: 15th Nov 2007

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

dw found out how to do it.

the orange colour is useless because with the cd stacker, the ground black has a seperate plug.

all figured out and system is pumpin

lol
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:13 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names