Fordmods Logo

Installing a new head unit in a EF Fairmont 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 28 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Installing a new head unit in a EF Fairmont
Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 8:47 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 87

Joined: 5th Oct 2005

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hey all,
I have a 94 EF Fairmont, and I want to install a new head unit in it, either the Alpine CDA-9851 or Pioneer DEH-P7750MP, I have all the tools, soldiering iron, torx screwdrivers, and pretty good knowledge of electronics so actually hooking it up will be no problem, but I still have a few questions....

Do these head units simply slide straight in? or do I need to buy something so that it will fit in properly, and...

Will the electric atenna still operate the same? ie go down when the radio is off etc...

Thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 9:11 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 133

Joined: 21st Jun 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

When i installed my sony explod into my EL fairmont, i was able to conect the electric antenna to a wire so it worked the same way.

Try and use the brackets provided by ford from the existing head unit. This means that it will slide nicely into the area provided

 

_________________

96 Fairmont

XR8 bodykit and wheels
Lowered

Looking to do more upgrades

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 2:40 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Isnt the electric arieal also controlled by a switch on the top of the bezel?

And yes most HU should slide in.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 3:01 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

you may have to modify the brackets a lil, plus some alpines dont have the holes to match up to the factory brackets

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 7:56 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 1500

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

You may have to drill holes in the brackets to fit the new head unit.

Been there, done that LOL....

 

_________________

Instant Karma is gonna get you!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 11:09 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 86

Joined: 29th Apr 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: E series falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

I am currently trying to do the same thing in my EF. But i have stupidly drilled away the torx screws holding the stock head unit in place. How can i get it out now?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 11:11 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

sammyb wrote:
I am currently trying to do the same thing in my EF. But i have stupidly drilled away the torx screws holding the stock head unit in place. How can i get it out now?
A lot of swearing and imaginative destruction.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 3:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

Try using the Ford brackets first. If that doesn't work then make your own up, very simple just fold up some flat 1mm galv plate drill some holes in the right places etc.

The aerial will work the same way once wire correctly to the HU. The switch on the dash is only for antenna hieght.

Buying one of these harnesses will make the job easier.

Image

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 01, 2006 7:35 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 10

Joined: 16th Dec 2005

Location: wodonga
VIC, Australia

where would one get these harnesses from? car audio places im guessing?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 01, 2006 8:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

i cut my ford stereo plugs off, cause i ain't ever fitting one back in there!!
i just bought a Q6 and a Q8 plug and wired it all up.

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 8:57 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

jmannik wrote:
where would one get these harnesses from? car audio places im guessing?


I got mine from Super Cheap cost around $18

smoke_rubber wrote:
i cut my ford stereo plugs off, cause i ain't ever fitting one back in there!!
i just bought a Q6 and a Q8 plug and wired it all up.


Three good reasons why these kits are worth it.

1. Cutting the factory plugs off means all soldering has to be done inside the car.
2. These kits make it much easier for novices to match the correct wires up.
3. When I eventually sell my car the buyer will be getting the stock radio.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 12:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 10126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

sammyb wrote:
I am currently trying to do the same thing in my EF. But i have stupidly drilled away the torx screws holding the stock head unit in place. How can i get it out now?


continue to drill through to remove the screw then use a larger one to cut in a new thread and hold it in place...

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 1:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

madmax wrote:
1. Cutting the factory plugs off means all soldering has to be done inside the car.
3. When I eventually sell my car the buyer will be getting the stock radio.


1- i don't solder anything, you get proper terminals to crimp.
3- I am leaving this stereo in when i sell the car, if not i have an older cd player i can put in.
I did look at the possibilities before i cut the plug, and still cut it off.

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 6:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

smoke_rubber wrote:
madmax wrote:
1. Cutting the factory plugs off means all soldering has to be done inside the car.
3. When I eventually sell my car the buyer will be getting the stock radio.


1- i don't solder anything, you get proper terminals to crimp.
3- I am leaving this stereo in when i sell the car, if not i have an older cd player i can put in.
I did look at the possibilities before i cut the plug, and still cut it off.


I'm not having a go at you, just my reasons for why i think these wiring adaptors are a good idea. Personally I don't like crimping anything I find the connections unreliable.

The previous HU I installed I also cut the plugs off. Then on boxing day I restored the loom and soldered the plugs back on and used one of these kits to install my new HU.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 6:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2449

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EB-s

Location: Manjimup
WA, Australia

I cut and soldered all my connections, but left the original plug behind the stereo so i can rewire that back up later. Its just sitting with about three wires connected :D

 

_________________

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 5:50 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names