Fordmods Logo

interference through speakers 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: interference through speakers
Posted: Sun Dec 05, 2004 10:51 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 254

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: NA Series II Fairlane Sportsman

Location: Surrey Downs
SA, Australia

I have just installed my splits/amp package I got a while back, and it sounds awesome. I thought I would play it safe and install a noise filter as well, which has helped, but I still get a faint buzzing through the speakers whenever I have the headlights on.

Anyone got any ideas as to why? I have routed the signal wires and the power wires through opposite sides of the car, and earthed everything securely. Am stumped now.

 

_________________

1990 NAII Fairlane Sportsman
194,000 kms
MP3, HID, LPG, and a few other 3 letter abbreviations too.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 05, 2004 11:05 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

were did u put the noise filter?
i had to put 2 on my old kingswood 1 on the alt and 1 on the back of the deck to stop all noise

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 05, 2004 11:11 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 254

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: NA Series II Fairlane Sportsman

Location: Surrey Downs
SA, Australia

I have put it about 3 inches from the amp. in the boot.

I also have one for the headunit, and have never had buzzing through it.

The buzzing is not coming through the front speakers, only the back ones where the amp is hooked up.

Might have to try another one this week

 

_________________

1990 NAII Fairlane Sportsman
194,000 kms
MP3, HID, LPG, and a few other 3 letter abbreviations too.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 05, 2004 11:14 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 75

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

What size cable did you use? Have you got a good earth connection?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 05, 2004 11:16 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 254

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: NA Series II Fairlane Sportsman

Location: Surrey Downs
SA, Australia

Ummmm I used 15amp cable..... i think!

Very good earth connection, screwed twice direct to different parts of the body.

 

_________________

1990 NAII Fairlane Sportsman
194,000 kms
MP3, HID, LPG, and a few other 3 letter abbreviations too.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 06, 2004 12:04 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 658

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Try checking your crossovers and move them about if you can. And maybe even wrapping them in bubble-wrap.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 06, 2004 2:15 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 75

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

15 amp cable is way to small to be used with an amplifer. What are the specs of your amp? My guess is your getting significant voltage drop by using to small a cable
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 06, 2004 4:51 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 254

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: NA Series II Fairlane Sportsman

Location: Surrey Downs
SA, Australia

Aaaah okay, off to the shops to buy bigger cable then.... any recommendations?

Do I have to change all wires or just the battery and earth ones? Because the remote wire from the stereo is small coming out of the headunit.

and which wire should I run?

It is a 250W amp, not too sure of the technical side of it, it came as a package with the speakers

 

_________________

1990 NAII Fairlane Sportsman
194,000 kms
MP3, HID, LPG, and a few other 3 letter abbreviations too.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:14 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 75

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

mmm. What size fuse is in the amp?

As a start, I would recommend 8G cable which would be ok for anything up to 50 or 60 amps. You will need this for both your negative and positive leads. The remote is ok as a thin wire as not much current passes through it.

Have you got an inline fuse close to the battery on the positive lead? This is a must. no more than 30cm from the battery.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 9:33 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 254

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: NA Series II Fairlane Sportsman

Location: Surrey Downs
SA, Australia

Yeah it has a fuse near the battery, with a 15 amp fuse in it.

The amp itself has only a 5 amp fuse.

Should I change these as well?

Will run new cable this weekend.

 

_________________

1990 NAII Fairlane Sportsman
194,000 kms
MP3, HID, LPG, and a few other 3 letter abbreviations too.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 10:11 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 1097

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: GU patrol, XH XR6, Isuzu Mux

Location: Mackay
QLD, Australia

check all your connections on the speakers and amp and make sure they are all the correct pollarity, make sure you havent connected a negative to a positive in your speaker connections or anything like that. check all RCA leads and connections.

 

_________________

' 96 Xh XR6 Ute
'96 DF LTD 6cy
'08 GU Nissan Patrol
'15 Isuzu MUX LST

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 10:14 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 1097

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: GU patrol, XH XR6, Isuzu Mux

Location: Mackay
QLD, Australia

another thing did you use RCA leads or did you connect the amp through your speaker output of your head unit.

 

_________________

' 96 Xh XR6 Ute
'96 DF LTD 6cy
'08 GU Nissan Patrol
'15 Isuzu MUX LST

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 10:23 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 740

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

id look into gettin noise supressent spark plugs?

yeah put some fat cable in, like 4G from the battery and 8G from distribution boxes to the amp(s).

also ive seen this stuff that you wrap around the RCA cables when running them down the sides of a car, its like a aluminium sheilding s**t, havnt used it personally, but might pay lookin into it too ;)

good luck buddy :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 10:57 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 657

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Location: Eastern Suburbs
VIC, Australia

make sure that earths are grounded fully to bare metal. ie: sand away any paint under earth
while ur at it, make sure that all other electrical components in ur car are wired properly, check alternator earths etc.

 

_________________

2003 BA XR6T 5spd Manual PHANTOM
Custom Leather, 20" Kaotiks, Lowered, Exhaust, DVD System, BOV
Plenty more to come!

Member: Team Can't Stop The Doof Doof

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 11:06 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 75

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

The amp has a 5 amp fuse? This equates to a power of 60 W. Sounds lilke a cheap amp (which could be your problem).
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 12:45 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names