Fordmods Logo

jaycar amp stopped working 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: jaycar amp stopped working
Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2007 3:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 2637

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EL TURBO GHIA

Power: 372 rwkw

Location: penrith
NSW, Australia

hey guy

i have an old 2x150 wrms black jaycar amp

ive had it for years and its never missed a beat .

now it stopped working ,ive opened it up and i cant see anything ,no burnt tracks or anything ,it turns on and you can hear the sub move and the light is green and then it just goes red and does nothing ,ive checked all conections and still the same ,replaced fuses and so on .is it dead ?


cheers jarrod

 

_________________

HMMMM BOOST !!!


ED fairmont R.I.P

STREET FORDS FEATURE CAR ISSUE 42

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:59 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 62

Joined: 26th Jun 2006

Gallery: 9 images

Location: Albury/Wodonga
VIC, Australia

Try disconnecting the rca's and the sub and power the amp up again.. if if stays in green mode it means either your sub has died or the rca's have a short in them..

Very odd for electronics of any sort to just die..

Cheers,
Nik
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:37 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 43

Joined: 12th Apr 2006

Ride: Ef falcon Gli sedan

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

What sub have you got?

I had the same amp running bridged @ 4ohm, powering a 3yr old pioneer sub. I was experiencing the same symptoms as you.

Turns out the sub was fried and the impedance of the sub was about 1ohm. This was tripping the amp into protection mode.

Just use a multimeter acros the sub terminals and test the resistance is close to that of the subs specs.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 7:06 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 2637

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EL TURBO GHIA

Power: 372 rwkw

Location: penrith
NSW, Australia

its a 15inch jaycar venom sub

 

_________________

HMMMM BOOST !!!


ED fairmont R.I.P

STREET FORDS FEATURE CAR ISSUE 42

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 7:24 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 1

Joined: 18th Apr 2007

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I'd say that either your sub has a shorted coil, when it moves it makes contact with the shorted parts of your coil and it's tripping the cut off circuit in your amp.
Or
You have a faulty Power transister, or power FET. You will probably have 4 of each. The power transisters are the big ones, you will have 4 that look the same as it is a 2 channel amp.
Or it will be the power FET which look simular, but about 1/3 of the size.
These are the most common components that fail in amps.

If you take the PCB out, go to jaycar, they may have some replacment transisters on the shelf.

 

_________________

Black BA XR6

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 6:50 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names