Fordmods Logo

Line-In Converter for JVC headunit 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Line-In Converter for JVC headunit
Posted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 2:18 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I've got a KD-G400 JVC MP3 head deck... It has line input, which I think is the same as the CD changer plug in, anyway, I think they sell the Lin-In converters seperately (overpriced ofcourse), so I was wondering how hard it would be to rig one up?


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 3:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

well what does the input look like? are you able to take a pic...

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 3:10 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

hmm... not a pic, but I can tell you its a DIN connection, not sure on pins.. I can find out if you want..

actually I might be able to find the installation sheet which had that on it... and scan it.

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 3:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

yea that may help...
my dad's an electrician, so he might be able to help wif it ;)

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 3:19 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

lol... *quickly runs off and starts searching*... its here somewhere..

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 3:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

lol....so wat r u gunna use the line in for?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 3:25 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Well, for now my Creative Jukebox which I got for ym Bday, its got 20Gigs... I know the head deck is MP3 already, but 20Gig is better than 750MB, also this thing has a blue backlight, and touch pad!

Also in the future I am hooking a computer into my car... so that will be good if its already there.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 3:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

ok nice...
i'm getting a phone with 64mb for mp3's :( but apparently it comes with an ipod :D

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 3:30 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

thats not a bad offer.


So, about this onverter, how do you think it works... I would need a pin out diagram?

Do they just have seperate pins for signal +/-? or is there some sort of digital processing required?

Because the CD changer just outputs pre-amp signals? or am I way off whack here?

Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

if you know a tech ask him to get a copy of the schematics for it . will tell you what all the pins on the PCB are for, sometimes they have them printed on the PCB, worth having a look.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 10:30 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

cheers for that, ill look around, see if i got any...so if I didn't get any with the head deck... where do I get the schematics?

Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2004 8:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

If the input is for a stacker you most likely won't be able to to input a signal into it as it will be looking for data signals as well from the stacker. I guess it would be possible to electronically bluff it into believing that there is a stacker attached but i doubt that it would be worth it.
You can get an fm modulator that plugs into mp3 players for about $30 off ebay that would be much easier.
After all it will only be mp3's going through it so the losses from the modulator shouldn't be much of a problem....

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2004 10:08 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

yeah, point taken.. and tahts what I was thinking of doing... so, FM modulator it is...

Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 09, 2004 8:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Man it's cheap and easy, I have been toying with the idea of using a 40gb I-river which will allow me to carry my entire cd collection (some 300 cd's) with me and also download photos from my digital camera whilst on the run.
If I do go down that path I will be making a special cradle in the dash and a custum pre-amp that will allow switching between a cd-tuner and the I-river, but I just don't know if it will be worth all my effort....

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 10, 2004 1:44 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

If you want to find the inputs its so simple. Switch the head to Line in then with volume at a medium level touch each pin with a small nail or something similar making sure its not insulated to ur fingers which work better if they are moistened. listen for hum or buzz, they will be the positive input pins the negative will be the case or the pin which reads a dead short to the case. just be careful when touching pins not to short them. to get an idea on the sound to listen for if you have a home stereo with some rca leads connected to the amp touch the end pin with the volume up and the same humm or buzz will be heard.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 9:16 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names