Fordmods Logo

Question on steering wheel controls 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Question on steering wheel controls
Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 7:33 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 57

Posts: 178

Joined: 3rd Aug 2005

Ride: Falcon XR6

Location: FTG
VIC, Australia

Does anyone know if the AU Falcons had an option of audio controls on the steering wheel, or was it only cruise controls that were steering wheel mounted?

 

_________________

95 EF XR6 Manual
Pioneer, Oz Audio, Butler, Image Dynamics, Audison
MEASQ - Aust Champion Intermediate Class 2006
MEASQ - Vic Champion Intermediate Class 2007
MEASQ - Aust Champion Intermediate Class 2007
MEASQ - Aust Champion Expert Class 2008
MEASQ - Aust Champion Advanced Class 2011 (Shared)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 13, 2006 1:11 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 354

Joined: 27th Jun 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghiaaaaa!

Location: Wesside, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

My Bro's AU2 has cruise on the right and audio on the left (Seek, Volume up and Volume down) and the cruise on and off is on the end of the indicator :)

 

_________________

Image
Whiteline'd

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 13, 2006 5:16 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 29

Joined: 25th Jun 2005

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: au2 futura 75th anniversary edit

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

ive got an AUII futura and the steering wheel has cruise control buttons on the right and audio controls on the left.

but i got a new head deck put in as i wasnt entirely happy with the existing 6-stacker unit (trouble playing burnt cds, not excellent sound etc).

this meant that the steering wheel controls were useless though,
because the head unit needs some kind of modulator thing
for them to work.
this is apparently built into the stock ford head unit.

i also found out that if u want to buy one for aftermarket head units it'll cost u around $80 (from memory) so i didnt bother getting one.

u dont really need one cos there are only contols for volume up/down and next track on the steering wheel, and most head units these days r mp3 compatible and have lotsa little gizmos and features, so 3 buttons on the wheel are hardly enough.

 

_________________

This is Ford country.
On a quiet day
you can hear the
HOLDENS RUSTING...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 13, 2006 8:15 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 57

Posts: 178

Joined: 3rd Aug 2005

Ride: Falcon XR6

Location: FTG
VIC, Australia

Thanks for the reply's guys.

josh_82G .... what brand of head unit did you buy and what sort of connections does it have for steering remote?
Also you mention that you found out that an aftermarket "modulator" can be fitted to interface with the remote, do you have any more details on that?

The reason why I asked is that I compete in CAASQ audio comps and having a steering wheel remote is worth a few extra points to me .... all I would need is volume and track up and down, so the functionality would be fine.

I'm assuming the AU controls would bolt onto an EF since the steering wheels are the same for EF/EL/AU.

I've recently upgraded my head unit to an Eclipse and it has a couple of wires that connects to the existing steering remote.
So I'm hoping that its possible to connect this to the AU remote .... Whether it is compatible with the existing Ford controls I have no idea .... I suspect its probably not otherwise it would just be too easy.

The Eclipse documentation doesn't tell me a lot about how it connects up .... all it says is that it's compatible with vehicles that have "voltage detection type" steering remote control.

Does the AU use voltage detection?

 

_________________

95 EF XR6 Manual
Pioneer, Oz Audio, Butler, Image Dynamics, Audison
MEASQ - Aust Champion Intermediate Class 2006
MEASQ - Vic Champion Intermediate Class 2007
MEASQ - Aust Champion Intermediate Class 2007
MEASQ - Aust Champion Expert Class 2008
MEASQ - Aust Champion Advanced Class 2011 (Shared)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 13, 2006 11:21 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 29

Joined: 25th Jun 2005

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: au2 futura 75th anniversary edit

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

Sierra,

the head unit i have is a JVC KD-LH3105.

the guy at jb hifi who installed it told me that i'd need to buy the module thing so the steering wheel remote would work, and that the stock Ford units have them built-in.

but he did also say that it would cost around $80 from Ford and is hardly worth getting for the price.

i agreed.

ive just had a look at the wiring schematic for my head unit, and there doesnt seem to be any wires marked 'steering remote' or similar.

ive also had a look at the wiring schematic for the AUII/III audio system in the gregory's manual, but there appears to be but a single wire running from the head unit straight to the clock spring in the steering wheel.

this could mean that this 'module' is indeed built in to the stock unit, or that it doesnt exist.

can i remind u that all the information i have in relation to any modules or modulators is only from what this guy told me when he installed my head unit.

if it indeed is required, im sure any equivelant device could be found at d**k smith or tandy.

im not too sure about the AU controls bolting onto an EF, but they very well could do.

i couldnt find anything in the manual about voltage detection either, sorry.

the manual does say, however:

REMOTE CONTROL SWITCHES
The remote control switches in the steering wheel are combined with the cruise control switches.
The switches cannot be separated and must be renewed as an assembly.

 

 

Attachments:
File comment: my baby
my car.jpg
my car.jpg [ 504.67 KiB | Viewed 48 times ]
File comment: audio controls
audio controls.jpg
audio controls.jpg [ 157.85 KiB | Viewed 66 times ]
File comment: steering wheel
steering wheel.jpg
steering wheel.jpg [ 152.36 KiB | Viewed 57 times ]
File comment: JVC KD-LH3105
copy of rfe.jpg
copy of rfe.jpg [ 95.26 KiB | Viewed 44 times ]

 

_________________

This is Ford country.
On a quiet day
you can hear the
HOLDENS RUSTING...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 2:35 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 57

Posts: 178

Joined: 3rd Aug 2005

Ride: Falcon XR6

Location: FTG
VIC, Australia

josh_82G,

Great info and pics ... btw ... nice looking Futura you have there :-)

I'll have to do a bit of reseach now and see what can be done.

Thanks for all your help :-)

 

_________________

95 EF XR6 Manual
Pioneer, Oz Audio, Butler, Image Dynamics, Audison
MEASQ - Aust Champion Intermediate Class 2006
MEASQ - Vic Champion Intermediate Class 2007
MEASQ - Aust Champion Intermediate Class 2007
MEASQ - Aust Champion Expert Class 2008
MEASQ - Aust Champion Advanced Class 2011 (Shared)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 2:47 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 8590

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: AU Fairlane 5.0, KE Laser, 01 Kw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I'd also be interested in that module... i wouldn't mind upgrading my deck but i desperately want to keep the steering controls.
I've gotten so used to them and just couldn't do without them now lol.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 6:56 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 29

Joined: 25th Jun 2005

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: au2 futura 75th anniversary edit

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

no worries

let us know how you go

 

_________________

This is Ford country.
On a quiet day
you can hear the
HOLDENS RUSTING...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 7:02 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 180

Joined: 21st Jul 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: FG XR6

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

The headunit you are planning on controlling will need to have a wire on the loom for this idea to work. Some models do have such - some dont.

The three switches on the steering wheel just connect different resistors between ground (i think ground, maybe 12v) and the "one wire" that goes out of the steering wheel.
The headunit has to "decode" these different resistances as separate switch inputs.
Don't remember what the levels are - too long ago..

The "module" is a fancy bit of electronics that converts 3 different resistance levels on the one wire into either 3 separate signals or a digital signal depending on how it's designed.
I considered making one using an A/D converter IC but figured the benefit was pretty small for the time it takes.

 

_________________

Subtle but high quality audio system.
Alpine processor and amp / Focal Utopia splits / Soundstream Exact sub

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:44 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 57

Posts: 178

Joined: 3rd Aug 2005

Ride: Falcon XR6

Location: FTG
VIC, Australia

Thanks for the additional info Maximus, hopefully I can get the Eclipse to work with those controls.

 

_________________

95 EF XR6 Manual
Pioneer, Oz Audio, Butler, Image Dynamics, Audison
MEASQ - Aust Champion Intermediate Class 2006
MEASQ - Vic Champion Intermediate Class 2007
MEASQ - Aust Champion Intermediate Class 2007
MEASQ - Aust Champion Expert Class 2008
MEASQ - Aust Champion Advanced Class 2011 (Shared)

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 12:16 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names