Fordmods Logo

Questions about installing aftermarket stereo in 2010 FG XR6 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Questions about installing aftermarket stereo in 2010 FG XR6
Posted: Sun Aug 26, 2012 12:39 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 7

Joined: 26th Aug 2012

Ride: 2010 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Ballarat
VIC, Australia

Hi,

I've purchased a 2010 FG XR6 Sedan and want to upgrade the stereo. Doesn't have premium sound.
I've replaced the stock speakers but I'd like to chuck an amp and sub in there too.
How do I go about wiring up the amp to the stock ICC..?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions about installing aftermarket stereo in 2010 FG XR6
Posted: Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:27 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 182

Joined: 9th Jan 2011

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: 2004 ba xr6 turbo

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

you need a line converter.


Attachment:
lllllllll.png
lllllllll.png [ 32.63 KiB | Viewed 263 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions about installing aftermarket stereo in 2010 FG XR6
Posted: Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:35 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 182

Joined: 9th Jan 2011

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: 2004 ba xr6 turbo

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

ideally u would run front speaker wires to a line converter for a 4 channel amp to run ur speakers and the rear speaker wires to run your sub amp, so then that way theyre all acting as signal wires pretty much, but they can be a bieetch to tune, as u already have bass, treb, mid ect on ur factory deck sending those signals to your speaker wires, which are now you signal wires to your amp.

and the remote wire just connects to like accessories or something its just a signal to turn on/ off
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions about installing aftermarket stereo in 2010 FG XR6
Posted: Mon Aug 27, 2012 11:34 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 7

Joined: 26th Aug 2012

Ride: 2010 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Ballarat
VIC, Australia

Sweet. Anyone able to recommend a decent LOC?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions about installing aftermarket stereo in 2010 FG XR6
Posted: Mon Aug 27, 2012 7:54 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 182

Joined: 9th Jan 2011

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: 2004 ba xr6 turbo

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

aerpro make them, just go into your local audio shop and ask them for a LOC, should be about 20 - 30 bucks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions about installing aftermarket stereo in 2010 FG XR6
Posted: Mon Aug 27, 2012 8:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1204

Joined: 24th Apr 2010

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Ef Fairmont

Location: Bleakheath
NSW, Australia

Jaycar would be better quality for that kind of price, you can also grab one off ebay from china for next to nothing delivered, and lets face it they are all made in china anyway.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions about installing aftermarket stereo in 2010 FG XR6
Posted: Mon Aug 27, 2012 8:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1204

Joined: 24th Apr 2010

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Ef Fairmont

Location: Bleakheath
NSW, Australia

Check out on here too as I am sure there is a DIY converter instructions on here from memory.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions about installing aftermarket stereo in 2010 FG XR6
Posted: Mon Aug 27, 2012 8:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1204

Joined: 24th Apr 2010

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Ef Fairmont

Location: Bleakheath
NSW, Australia

Sorry me again here's one off ebay for $6 delivered
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Line-Input-R ... 58951a07f2
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions about installing aftermarket stereo in 2010 FG XR6
Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2012 10:24 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 7

Joined: 26th Aug 2012

Ride: 2010 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Ballarat
VIC, Australia

Perfect, thanks a lot guys
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions about installing aftermarket stereo in 2010 FG XR6
Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2012 11:01 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

why do you need a line out convertor?

most amps these days have speaker level inputs built into the amp. Just need to run remote turn on wire to an ignition source

Image
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:48 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names