Fordmods Logo

Removing EL Ghia Prem. Head Unit and Stacker Wiring? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Removing EL Ghia Prem. Head Unit and Stacker Wiring?
Posted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 8:45 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Guys.

Im about to pull the Premium Sound from my EL, and want to remove the stacker wiring as well so It can be sold (with the stacker).

The question is, can it be done easily? - I dont want to remove the Amp Wiring as I will be using it with the next deck.

Thanks

Nigel
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 8:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

In a word, no it is not easily removed espcially the head unit wiring as it is integral to the harness, the stacker wiring would be marginally easier but still a reasonably big job.....

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 12:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Im not removing the Head Unit Wiring.. just the stacker control wiring. The rest is just amp control.... and I want that for my new one.

Nigel
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 2:07 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 386

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

the stacker and amp cable is a pain to remove.

From memory the stacker cable runs passenger side dash, there is little access and alot of mucking around. The amp cable runs underneath the centre console, across the front drivers seats and again because limited space it is a troublesome to remove without chopping it.

 

_________________

doing it in reverse with a fwd is like being fuked by a fat man and saying "well he has tits so i'm not gay"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Removing EL Ghia Prem. Head Unit and Stacker Wiring?
Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 3:58 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

Nigel wrote:
Guys.

Im about to pull the Premium Sound from my EL, and want to remove the stacker wiring as well so It can be sold (with the stacker).

The question is, can it be done easily? - I dont want to remove the Amp Wiring as I will be using it with the next deck.

Thanks

Nigel


Piss off the amp cable as well. It has a proprietry plug at the head unit end that is useless with anytihng else.

To get both the cables out, its pretty much an interior out job. Front seats, rear base, console and carpet.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 1:19 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

As I said, big job....

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 12:49 pm 
Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 4653

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Drives Like Fun

Power: 318 rwkw

Location: Melbourne Interior: Cappucino Exterior: Sparkling Burgundy
VIC, Australia

It's not a big job - doesn't take as long as you think.

 

_________________

Vic Cruises & Events

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:57 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names