Fordmods Logo

Replacing Stock EF Falcon Headunit 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 23 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Replacing Stock EF Falcon Headunit
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 2:17 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 8

Joined: 24th Jul 2005

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Adelaide, SA
SA, Australia

Hey dudes - picking up my new car on the weekend and was wondering how hard it is to replace the stock headunit on a 95 EF Falcon GLI. I've bought a JVC MP3 headunit to replace it with.

Is there a guide anywhere on the net as to how to do this ?

If not, what tools are required, how difficult is it and how long would it take to do ? Are there any common mistakes / issues I should be aware of ?

I'd much rather do it myself. take longer but learn a bit at the same time than give some car audio dude $60 to get it installed. Any help you can give would be much appreciated.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 2:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 476

Joined: 15th Apr 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: ef fairmont ghia

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

go to supercheap or some car place and get the wiring thing :shock: i forgot what its called but it has a plug which suits the ford plug and wires stickin out the end so you know what to wire to where.. eazzi :wink:

 

_________________

Sometimes when you do something right, people wont be sure you've done anything at all. (Futurama, Episode - Godfellows)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 2:35 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 8

Joined: 24th Jul 2005

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Adelaide, SA
SA, Australia

So its just a matter of

a) ripping the old HU out

b) plugging the ford plug into the plug that was in the back of the stock headunit

c) connecting the appropriate wires from the back end of the JVC plug to the same wires coming out of the ford plug

is that right ? is it hard to pull the old HU out at all ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 2:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 727

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Concorde

Location: canberra
ACT, Australia

thats about it.

good to see someone else has or likes JVC!!!

 

_________________

2nd Place Summernats19 SQ Comp, Street Pro 0-600 Class
STEREO - 128.7db
JVC EXAD DVD and surround sound
3 X 10" Lanzar Dual Voice Coil 6ohm Subs
4 X 6.5" Alpine S-Type 2-way, front and back
JVC 6.6cm Center Speaker
Engine -
2.5" exhaust, SS Inductions CAI, K&N air filter. 132.6rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 3:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 476

Joined: 15th Apr 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: ef fairmont ghia

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

mm jvc good mp3 better!

pretty strait forward... enjoy

ah stereo adaptor thats what i think they are called

 

_________________

Sometimes when you do something right, people wont be sure you've done anything at all. (Futurama, Episode - Godfellows)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 3:14 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 8

Joined: 24th Jul 2005

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Adelaide, SA
SA, Australia

Dude at supercheap said they're $20 and have a plug on both ends - is that right ? I would've thought one end would have had a plug (the end that will connect to the plug that norally goes into the ford stereo) and the other end would be loose wires that are labelled so I can connect to the loose wires that come out of the JVC unit...

Oh, and BTW - am I going to need Torx bits tog et the stereo out? I'm guessing the dash just comes out with normal screws that should be pretty easy to find, then the HU just gets unscrewed too ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 3:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 476

Joined: 15th Apr 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: ef fairmont ghia

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

from memory the non ford end plug is compatible with a stereo, but if its compatible with the stereo you have thats another story.. bonus is you dont cut factory loom and you can replace the original unit if you sell (or it gets stolen :evil: )

you will need torx bits - good thinking - i forgot :oops:

 

_________________

Sometimes when you do something right, people wont be sure you've done anything at all. (Futurama, Episode - Godfellows)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 4:05 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 8

Joined: 24th Jul 2005

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Adelaide, SA
SA, Australia

Is there anyway at all to tell if its going to be compatible with my unit, apart from plugging the bastard in and turning it on ?

Say that doesnt work, how am I going to know which wires connect to which ?

Thanks for all your help dudes, looks like its definitely gonna save me a bit of beer money and I get to learn how to do this myself.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 4:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 476

Joined: 15th Apr 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: ef fairmont ghia

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

theres about 10cm of wiring between plugs, check it fits the ford end FIRST then if it does check the stereo end, if they both fit - good - if the stereo end dont fit then you just cut off that end and join the wires, they have what they are for written on the wires.. if the ford end dont fit, take it back

 

_________________

Sometimes when you do something right, people wont be sure you've done anything at all. (Futurama, Episode - Godfellows)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 4:53 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 8

Joined: 24th Jul 2005

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Adelaide, SA
SA, Australia

Thanks for all of that, Bent. As long as the wires have what they're for written on them I don't reckon I can go far wrong. I was worried I'd have a big spaghetti of wires hanging out and no way of knowing what went where.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 11:31 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 105

Joined: 7th Mar 2005

Ride: 1995 EF GLI

Location: Alstonville
NSW, Australia

I installed my JVC head unit into my ef falcon, very simple.
Taking out the stock HU is easy just remove the part of the dash around it i had to take out 2 screws near the ash tray then it just slides up, you will need some torx anti tamper star bit screws to remove the actuall HU they are cheap from jaycar or supercheap.
Then you will want to take the side mounting brackets off you stock head unit and place them onto the jvc (should fit on easy)
As for the wires, i just got the wire layout from somewhere so it tells you what the stock ones are (eg Left front speaker - green + blue, Earth black...) Then looked at the yellow piece of paper u get with the JVC head unit it has all the wires and there colours and the functions then its just a matter of matching them up i soldered them but you could just do the bodgie cut and tape job :wink: .(I just cut the originall wiring loom off but as others have said you can buy a plug from supercheap that puts the stock loom to bare wires makes it a lil easier)
Well i hope this helps you a little bit
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 29, 2005 12:59 am 
Fordmods Audio and Turbo Expert
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 2121

Joined: 14th Dec 2004

Ride: FG Turbo Territoty Ghia

Location: Traralgon
VIC, Australia

only a single screw to get the surround off thats around the headunit.

In EF it is to the left of the ashtray with the ashtray down.
Then 2 x security screws which you will need a security screw driver for
(available form autobarn or supercheap)

You should also try to get the wiring harness adaptor.

Aerpro make them and there may be other manufacturors.

Ideally get one to suit Ford EF/EL to JVC headunit if ther's none in stock then grab a EF/EL ford one thats open ended.

Then you can simply make the wiring connections on a bench outside the car and it will just be a case of plugging it in...

 

_________________


Pro Class
1st Super Tech - Summernats 2007
Australian SQ Champion - Am Show 2004
Australian SQ Champion – Pro Show 2006 & Best of Show
Ford Champion - Melbourne 2004 & 2006
451.5wkw - now SOLD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 29, 2005 9:35 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 105

Joined: 7th Mar 2005

Ride: 1995 EF GLI

Location: Alstonville
NSW, Australia

A single screw??? not for me.. i have the big shell that fits over the ash tray and the ciggi lighter so when i press that in it falls downthen i have 2 screws one on left one on right,( i could take a pic to prove it :) )
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 29, 2005 9:52 am 
Fordmods Audio and Turbo Expert
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 2121

Joined: 14th Dec 2004

Ride: FG Turbo Territoty Ghia

Location: Traralgon
VIC, Australia

Well thats strange. 2 screws. You really did get screwed. LOL

No photo required i believe you.

 

_________________


Pro Class
1st Super Tech - Summernats 2007
Australian SQ Champion - Am Show 2004
Australian SQ Champion – Pro Show 2006 & Best of Show
Ford Champion - Melbourne 2004 & 2006
451.5wkw - now SOLD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 29, 2005 11:26 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 476

Joined: 15th Apr 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: ef fairmont ghia

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

i got 2 screws two (i think im a lucky boy! :twisted: )

 

_________________

Sometimes when you do something right, people wont be sure you've done anything at all. (Futurama, Episode - Godfellows)

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 10:39 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names