Fordmods Logo

rockford sub +more info 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: rockford sub +more info
Posted: Sat Aug 20, 2005 3:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1380

Joined: 13th Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA GT

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

hey all, i have a rockford fosgate, rfp1215 sub. but iam really getting p****d off trying to work out box size, i have used these box programs but im not really good with a computer. i would like to know if some1 could tell me the dimensions of what the box should be so i can fabricate!

thanks kermey

if any more info is needed just ask, cheers!

*edit*

I have found this from what some people have posted on the web

2.25 cu/ft tuned at 30 Hz- some1 said this is what the manual said

Details are as follows,
Model NO. - RFP-1215
Power - 500watt RMS/1000 Watt Peak
Impendance - 4 OHM x 2
Sensitivity - 90db
Frequency Responce - 21-100 MHZ
Dual Voice Coil

i hope this helps, thanks guys!!!

Last edited by kermey on Mon Aug 22, 2005 10:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 20, 2005 4:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

soes the sub have any paperwork with it?

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 4:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1380

Joined: 13th Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA GT

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Interceptor wrote:
soes the sub have any paperwork with it?
nope!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 4:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1380

Joined: 13th Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA GT

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

really getting anoyed because i went to get this system done!!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 4:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2449

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EB-s

Location: Manjimup
WA, Australia

The programs used for creating sub boxes will only work if you know the required volume thats needed! It would be beneficial to find out from your local dealer whether they can give you the recommended box size, or you may be able to email rockford and get a response. If this fails and you cant find someone with details, then you may just have to try it in other peoples boxes till you find one that suits you. Then just copy it! Thats what i did. A friend had a similar ten inch pioneer sub, so i stuck it in his box, and it sounded fine to me.

 

_________________

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 4:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1380

Joined: 13th Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA GT

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

the trouble is nt many people have 15inch subs! thanks for the reply mate, do u know of any one in perth selling rockford subs??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 5:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2449

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EB-s

Location: Manjimup
WA, Australia

no idea. I know a few local places around bunbury, but they dont have any shops or anything in perth. You might have some luck on the car audio australia forum. I know Aaron (pyroay) is a member on there, and if you find a post of his i think he has the site in his signature. Not too hard to find from google though. Chances are someone on there (being audio enthusiasts) is going to have a 15inch box or something, or possibly even details. Just give it a crack

 

_________________

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 6:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

try www.caraudioaustralia.com

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 22, 2005 10:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1380

Joined: 13th Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA GT

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Interceptor wrote:
tried couldnt find much!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 22, 2005 10:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1372

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: Lancer Coupe

Location: Southeastern suburbs, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

http://www.fortunecity.com/skyscraper/b ... p1215.html

Thats the site that has the specs. 1.5cu feet is need. That means 42000ccm. Has a play with some figures and you will be able to work out a box size that suites what you want.

Okay i was just playing with some figures and got a box with an internal volume of 42400ccm. the front is 40cm by 40cm. The base is 40cm by 33cm, the top is 40 by 20cm. Therefore once you nail these up you can work out the size of the back as i can't figure the back's length out but it will also be 40cm wide. Then once you do these you can just trace the sides from what you create with these pieces.

NOTE: these are internal measurements so when cutting add the thickness of the timber to your measurements so you dont lose internal volume. Also note that i have described this box as if it were standing up tall. So therefore when you put it in your car you would lye it down on the back piece, which is the piece i could not figure out on of the measurements for.

This is just a suggestion, hope you figure out a box better than this one for yourself.

cheers and good luck.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 23, 2005 12:16 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

kermey wrote:
Interceptor wrote:
tried couldnt find much!
did you try posting a thread up and asking?

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 23, 2005 9:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1380

Joined: 13th Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA GT

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

The DMac wrote:
http://www.fortunecity.com/skyscraper/black/438/rf/rfp1215.html

Thats the site that has the specs. 1.5cu feet is need. That means 42000ccm. Has a play with some figures and you will be able to work out a box size that suites what you want.

Okay i was just playing with some figures and got a box with an internal volume of 42400ccm. the front is 40cm by 40cm. The base is 40cm by 33cm, the top is 40 by 20cm. Therefore once you nail these up you can work out the size of the back as i can't figure the back's length out but it will also be 40cm wide. Then once you do these you can just trace the sides from what you create with these pieces.

NOTE: these are internal measurements so when cutting add the thickness of the timber to your measurements so you dont lose internal volume. Also note that i have described this box as if it were standing up tall. So therefore when you put it in your car you would lye it down on the back piece, which is the piece i could not figure out on of the measurements for.

This is just a suggestion, hope you figure out a box better than this one for yourself.

cheers and good luck.



Thanks heaps mate this is exactly what i was after, im very gratefull cheers! how did you find that site?? i tried for ages to find that info!! im going to do the box to the same measurements as in the owners manual!!
thanks for taking your time to do this for me im very gratefull!!

Cheers! :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 23, 2005 9:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1372

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: Lancer Coupe

Location: Southeastern suburbs, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

i typed the model number in goggle, for some reason the rockford fosgate site didn't have it, maybe they have a new range or something.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:19 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Im assuming you tried winISD? If you can get some more specs.. you can play with the box and port shape/length in there to achieve what you are aiming for. Nice free program.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 7:09 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names