Fordmods Logo

should i upgrade wiring??? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: should i upgrade wiring???
Posted: Fri Dec 17, 2004 6:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 3928

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: ED 5 Speed GLiXR

Location: Now in Brisbane
QLD, Australia

i bought a set of kenwood 6x9s off a mate, and i was wondering should i upgrade my standard wiring or just stick with what i have got.
plus if i do upgrade the wiring where the feck does it run, i have tracerd it to running under the back seat but from there i cant find it :oops:

 

_________________

17" Tezza Steelies, King F**king lows, pedders sports ryders, 2.5" cat back exhaust, pacemaker extractors, T5 manual
Low, loud and Slow

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 17, 2004 8:22 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 43

Joined: 16th Nov 2004

Ride: eb xr6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

if it works leave it... shouldnt be any problem with ur wiring just double check ur connections... not alot can go wrong there m8
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 17, 2004 9:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 11103

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: AU III XR8 Pursuit 250 ute

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

if your powering the new speakers off the built in amplifier on teh head unit, then i personally wouldn't bother upgrading the wiring - proviuded that there is nothing wrong with what is currently there.

 

_________________

Heaps of performance EF/L parts for sale, including supercharged VCT motor!

2002 Ford AU Series III Falcon XR8 Pursuit 250 ute - 5.6L of V8 Windsor!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 17, 2004 10:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3772

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 33 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

yeah dont bother upgrading it it will be fine, not worth the effort of doing it!!!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 17, 2004 10:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

if you're gnna run new wire, you dont have to follow the factory routing of the wires, you can run them pretty much however you want

personally though, i wouldnt bother

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 18, 2004 10:37 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3277

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 36 images

Ride: Ronald Mcdonald Mobile

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

u usually only replace the wire if you are running it from an amp

 

_________________

Gooooone - Eb2 Coon - 143RWKW
Now - Mazda MX5 with HKS Supercharger 190RWKW
Crescent Motorsport Liverpool - 9600 6229

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 18, 2004 6:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 3928

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: ED 5 Speed GLiXR

Location: Now in Brisbane
QLD, Australia

yeah i definately couldnt be bothered trying to follow the factory wiring track, but my mate is giving me, some spare wires that came with his new speakers, so i will most likely put them in, because in the futre it will save me the hassle.

 

_________________

17" Tezza Steelies, King F**king lows, pedders sports ryders, 2.5" cat back exhaust, pacemaker extractors, T5 manual
Low, loud and Slow

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 18, 2004 7:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2449

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EB-s

Location: Manjimup
WA, Australia

until you get an amp, then itll be a waste and youll want to rip the wire out so that you can wire the speakers to the amp. I probably should replace mine, as the wire was cut, then joined, not using solder and had bare wire touching, os i got bad static. after rewrapping it in tape and having them not touching its fine but. In short, dont bother :o

Though chances are, if youve got 6 * 9's, you wont be getting a sub, and therefore maybe not an amp. i dunno, its all up to you i suppose!

 

_________________

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 18, 2004 8:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 3928

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: ED 5 Speed GLiXR

Location: Now in Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Yeah i had a look at the connectors on the speakers and the pins are different to the stock wires, so i need new pins on the ends of the stock wires. so i'll put in the new wires, and keep the stock ones. but it will be a quick change over if i want a sub or amp in the future.

 

_________________

17" Tezza Steelies, King F**king lows, pedders sports ryders, 2.5" cat back exhaust, pacemaker extractors, T5 manual
Low, loud and Slow

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 8:11 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 64

Joined: 5th Dec 2004

Ride: FALCON

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

if you have a pet dog then he might be able to notice the difference in wiring
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2005 10:15 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 598

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: Modified EA-S Falcon

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Southern Highlands
NSW, Australia

dude it will take sweet F/A time and is well worth it. take ya side kick panels off and run one down each side or down the same. if you intend on doing future upgrades use good cable and leave spare so if you ever intend on upgrading its already there.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2005 10:29 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 384

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BF Ute

Location: Narre Warren
VIC, Australia

TwinturboBMX wrote:
Yeah i had a look at the connectors on the speakers and the pins are different to the stock wires, so i need new pins on the ends of the stock wires. so i'll put in the new wires, and keep the stock ones. but it will be a quick change over if i want a sub or amp in the future.

you can always just change the pins or crimp them so they'll fit, honestly unless your running a new amp for the speakers it no real point, only reason for better wiring is if your running high voltage and need the thicker wire to handle the load, plus if you add an amp for your speakers you're gonna run the wire from the amp and not ure headunit

 

_________________

Explorers gone, bring on the ute.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:00 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 598

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: Modified EA-S Falcon

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Southern Highlands
NSW, Australia

TwinturboBMX wrote:
Yeah i had a look at the connectors on the speakers and the pins are different to the stock wires, so i need new pins on the ends of the stock wires. so i'll put in the new wires, and keep the stock ones. but it will be a quick change over if i want a sub or amp in the future.


WTF. dude its a piece of piss to solder new wire straight onto theterminal, it is also a better onnection thus no possibilities of connection problem
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:25 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names