Fordmods Logo

sound system Static sound 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 30 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: sound system Static sound
Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 12:12 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 148

Joined: 17th Apr 2005

Ride: EF2 Futura

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

OK guys, Ive just picked up my Ef falcon and have installed the sound system into it. It sounds real mean ;) except i have one issue. When the motor is running i get this static sound through all the speakers, Fronts rears + sub. Its a contant *dunno how to describe* plep/boof sound every 10 seconds or so. It doesnt do it when the motor is off, and its a duel fuel car. Any idea's would be great! thanks guys

 

_________________

EF Fairmont - King Spring Lows, Monroe GT shocks, Avanti 17" Racing wheels, Sony CDX-GT500 HU, Kicker 6.2 splits, 2x 12inch Kickers, Powered by sweet gas injection!
Wrecking EF2 Futura

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 12:47 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 5313

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Surf, Turbo Diesel

Location: Melbourne, S.E Suburbs
VIC, Australia

i think thats interferance from the...... alternator?
but theres something you can buy from like super cheap and all is well

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 12:51 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 148

Joined: 17th Apr 2005

Ride: EF2 Futura

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

well ok from supercheap auto im taking? what is it exactly and how would it fit in? thanks for the help... its a start. Its bloody annoying!

 

_________________

EF Fairmont - King Spring Lows, Monroe GT shocks, Avanti 17" Racing wheels, Sony CDX-GT500 HU, Kicker 6.2 splits, 2x 12inch Kickers, Powered by sweet gas injection!
Wrecking EF2 Futura

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 12:56 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 5313

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Surf, Turbo Diesel

Location: Melbourne, S.E Suburbs
VIC, Australia

to tell ya the truth im a dumb s**t and i am most likely wrong...
but if you tell the blokes at super cheap auto what you posted here, they should help you, if you get a half descent person...

or wait till some one else replies, or pm pyroay... he is the sound system genius of ford mods imo :P

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 12:58 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 148

Joined: 17th Apr 2005

Ride: EF2 Futura

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

oh i know, i just see pictures of his car and i just dream .... but yeah ill wait for a few more replies and see what other people say, Well come on guys your opinions! :P

 

_________________

EF Fairmont - King Spring Lows, Monroe GT shocks, Avanti 17" Racing wheels, Sony CDX-GT500 HU, Kicker 6.2 splits, 2x 12inch Kickers, Powered by sweet gas injection!
Wrecking EF2 Futura

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 1:13 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

Okay is the power cable from the Amp to tha battery well covered? If its not well hidden and covered from other power cables etc then it WILL create distortion and static into your sound...

Use corregated plastic tubing to cover the power cable so that nothing can cause any interference :)

See how that goes.

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 1:21 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 148

Joined: 17th Apr 2005

Ride: EF2 Futura

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Well me dad recently changed the idle motor for me and its only been since then that its been plick, poping... Static in other words. Hrmmm well the power cable is run down the one side by its self and the audio cable on the other side..

 

_________________

EF Fairmont - King Spring Lows, Monroe GT shocks, Avanti 17" Racing wheels, Sony CDX-GT500 HU, Kicker 6.2 splits, 2x 12inch Kickers, Powered by sweet gas injection!
Wrecking EF2 Futura

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 1:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3772

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 33 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

ive got the same problem atm kinda pissing me off im gonna check all my cables on the weekend make sure all the grounds are good etc
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 2:25 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 148

Joined: 17th Apr 2005

Ride: EF2 Futura

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

well let me know what you come up with mate and i get any answers ill let you know as well... Other opinions?

 

_________________

EF Fairmont - King Spring Lows, Monroe GT shocks, Avanti 17" Racing wheels, Sony CDX-GT500 HU, Kicker 6.2 splits, 2x 12inch Kickers, Powered by sweet gas injection!
Wrecking EF2 Futura

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 8:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

Yeah the reason its going static is because of interference somewhere in the wirring. Best to check and make sure its all well protected. :)

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 9:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3772

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 33 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

XRFan101 wrote:
Yeah the reason its going static is because of interference somewhere in the wirring. Best to check and make sure its all well protected. :)


not always could be a number of things i ruled out a few, its not the amp caus all my amps do it, bad ground could do it to faulty head unit maybe as well
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 10:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 509

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: '05 5.4L BA MK2 XT

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I had this problem with mine but never figured out what it was ....
The amp only seemed to do it on 1 setting (cant recall what it was), immediately after this started happening i found my headunit RCA plugs were faulty, then shortly after that the amp started popping fuses ...

Then i tried to outsmart it by plugging it in THEN turning on the power and i blew the crap out of it ...

pull your headunit out and try a mates headunit if possible, that will rule out that whole section, i reckon thats where the problem is.
no need to unwire everything if you have a pioneer headunit, the plugs are the same on most (if not all) pioneer headunits and another will plug straight in.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 10:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

Rapier wrote:
XRFan101 wrote:
Yeah the reason its going static is because of interference somewhere in the wirring. Best to check and make sure its all well protected. :)


not always could be a number of things i ruled out a few, its not the amp caus all my amps do it, bad ground could do it to faulty head unit maybe as well


Exactly, by wiring i mean it could be the power cable, the Audio cables that go to the HU and yes even the ground cable. anything that interferes with these wires will infact create a static sound when playing music.

I mean im not saying that could be the problem, but most likely it is....... :roll:

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 10:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 607

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: XR6

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

you can get a power filter tell autobarn your problem and ask if there is a filter of some sort i know there is but not sure wat its called

 

_________________

BA XR8 BOSS 260
Winter White
18' gt-p wheels
Flash Tuned
2 jl 13.5' w3's
tv indash

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 29, 2005 9:04 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 374

Joined: 22nd Dec 2004

Ride: EB 5Spd

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

ive had a similar problem in the past, checked cables, grounds etc etc turned out to be my rca's, bought some tripple shielded aerpro ones (real thick muthas) and fixed it real good no more interference but usually mostly caused by a bad earth

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 2:40 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names