Fordmods Logo

speakers whining 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: speakers whining
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 8:00 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 125

Joined: 5th Mar 2007

Ride: eb xr6

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

hi i have just installed a new cd player, 6.5 inch splits, 2x6x9s and a 12' sub wid a monoblock and 4 channel amp and i am now getting this anoyying whine coming through the speakers. sorry i this sounds dumb, first time doing anything wid sound system usually doin stuff underneath lol. Is it the way i have wired it and mayb getting interferance. thanks.

 

_________________

XR 1992 161 RWKW 14 sec 1/4s

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 8:01 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

space the signal wires from the power.
ie: other side of the car.
OR
purchase better more shielded cable

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 8:28 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 125

Joined: 5th Mar 2007

Ride: eb xr6

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

THANKS for that, i purchased good quality cables but did not run the rca and power on different sides, so ill be trying that this weekend thanks!!!!

 

_________________

XR 1992 161 RWKW 14 sec 1/4s

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 8:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 2893

Joined: 24th May 2006

Gallery: 21 images

Ride: XH B&S ute, Navara 4x4

Power: 202 rwkw

Location: Bordertown
SA, Australia

I always had a very minor whine in my rear speakers etc in my EB. The other day the missus come in saying that it now had an awful whine in it. Weny out and checked and she was right (it does happen every now and then :twisted: ). I had run bothe wires down the drivers side on top of the original loom. Have since shifted the RCAs to the other side:no problem now. By the same token Toddy had the same problem but only seemed to happen (real bad) when he was indicating, had his foot on the brake or the lights on. The mistake here was even though he sepaerted the cables (power on passenger side, RCAs on drivers side, the main loom ran under the RCAs. He shifted his RCAs to the passenger side (and DIDN"T shift the power wires) and the wine dissapeared.
Draw your own conclusions from this. :? 8-)

 

_________________

You'll ride a black tornado across the western sky

You'll rope an ol' blue norther and milk it 'till it's dry

Bulldog the Diamantina pin its ears down flat

Long before you take this cowboy's hat

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 10:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 659

Joined: 18th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: WRX

Power: 132 rwkw

Location: Frankston
VIC, Australia

Yeah its just ineterferance from the power and rca's.

If you run the power down the passenger side make sure its not too close to the aerial too, cause i havnt had a radio for months now since i stuck my 2GA down the pass side.

 

_________________

Car Killer.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 9:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2396

Joined: 25th Sep 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: Da Maverick & xe ute

Location: Upper FTG. melbourne
VIC, Australia

if you are getting interferance check ALL your grounds, including the one ontop of the dash, its usually a ground loop that causes it, or $2 rca's, i learnt my lesson and bought dls ultimates, very nice cables if i do say so myself

 

_________________

Mods: sprint kit, steeda short shift, svo lip, El handles, El Air intake, au xr wheels, lukey cat back, jbl focal and pioneer sterio <--- Sold

Xe ute - Bright green with 302

Da maverick - Straight gas turbo

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 1:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4946

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Trik'd up EFII XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Dont be fooled by purchasing better quality signal cables / RCAs to correct the problem as this 'can' make it worse :)

as said before common cause for this is a ground loop so check all ground points are filed back to the bare metal, good contact from the ground wire to terminal to ground point....also this can simply just be induced interference from the power cables so ensure those are decent quality with good shielding, are kept well away from your signal cables and you may still even have to run an inline filter to remove th excess 'noise' being induced in the cables.

 

_________________

For Sale: 25 Farad Rockford Fosgate Competition Series Carbon Cap, more to come - pm me if interested

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 7:29 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names