Fordmods Logo

Sub Amp Not Enough Power? 

 

Page 1 of 6 [ 76 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

 
 Post subject: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Mon May 10, 2010 1:52 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 184

Joined: 19th Oct 2009

Ride: BA XR6

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Currently have my kenwood mono (1000w) connected via the factory amps power aswell as my powervox (70RMS) amp for the rear speakers. When i crank the volume up the rear speakers fade. Could this be from not having enough power to run both amps?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Mon May 10, 2010 11:38 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 1109

Joined: 4th Sep 2009

Ride: 92 EB s

Location: DORRIGO
NSW, Australia

Yea mate. If your running the stock power and ground wire its too small.
Do a run of 8gauge to each amp.
Should do it.
Stock amp only powered say 50wrms.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Mon May 10, 2010 11:48 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 688

Joined: 4th Mar 2010

Ride: BF Fairmont Ghia & TS Magna

Location: central coast
NSW, Australia

hey

another option is run a 4gauge from your battery to you then into a spliter and run 8 gauge into your amp.

as stated before install a thicker ground wire between the negative post on your battery to the a well sanded spot on the body and bolt it to the body

cheers bear

 

_________________

I don't know what to write in here LOL
Bear's Build Thread

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Mon May 10, 2010 3:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 1109

Joined: 4th Sep 2009

Ride: 92 EB s

Location: DORRIGO
NSW, Australia

That is another option.
But a "T" piece will cost asmuch as another nut of 8gauge.
And with the 2 runs of 8gauge there would be less power drawn threw .
Im my old car a ran 4 gauge threw a T into 2 8gauges into a mono and 4 channel. When the bass hit the lights dimmed and the sub sounded s**t.
So I ran another 8gauge to the 4channel and the 4 into the mono.
No more hektic dimming. And way better sound.
The more runs the better imo.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Mon May 10, 2010 4:14 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

4g csa is greater then two runs of 8g, not to mention it's alot easier to have one lug and one fuse at the battery.

i have no idea what you mean by "less power drawn threw".

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Mon May 10, 2010 4:34 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

run 4g from battery to boot (or where ever your amps are) with an inline fuse. Then get a splitter and split the 4 gauge into 2 x 8 gauges. If you can afford it, get a splitter with built in fuses, that way each amp has it's own fuse to blow if something was to go wrong. Then run an 8 gauge earth from each amp onto the chassis...it is best to keep the earth as short as possible. My earth is the parcel shelf. Sand back the paint, have washer lugs on the end of the earth and hold them into place via nut and bolt. Not too sure as to why the earth should be short, but some people recommend it.

I've done the above setup on my 2 amps and they don't seem to cause any issues in regards to lights dimming or power loss.

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Mon May 10, 2010 5:19 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 383

Joined: 11th Aug 2006

Ride: 6.0L VE Calais-V

Location: Hastings
VIC, Australia

I'm on the bandwagon of one thick cable run to the back and split it back there. No point running 2 cables unless you already have run one of the thickest cable available :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Mon May 10, 2010 7:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 688

Joined: 4th Mar 2010

Ride: BF Fairmont Ghia & TS Magna

Location: central coast
NSW, Australia

87SIlude wrote:
That is another option.
But a "T" piece will cost asmuch as another nut of 8gauge.
And with the 2 runs of 8gauge there would be less power drawn threw .
Im my old car a ran 4 gauge threw a T into 2 8gauges into a mono and 4 channel. When the bass hit the lights dimmed and the sub sounded s**t.
So I ran another 8gauge to the 4channel and the 4 into the mono.
No more hektic dimming. And way better sound.
The more runs the better imo.

hey

for future reference a capacitor would have helped in your situation as it would have helped with the power draw at high bass

cheers bear

 

_________________

I don't know what to write in here LOL
Bear's Build Thread

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Mon May 10, 2010 8:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 1109

Joined: 4th Sep 2009

Ride: 92 EB s

Location: DORRIGO
NSW, Australia

A very expencive quick fix. A big 3 upgrade will propperly fix the problem.
Bigger better battery, grounds and power wires at the battery, alternator and amps reduces resistance so when the subs hit the power flows freely through the circuit.
Caps are not needed in most systems.
Unless your running something like meade.
Cheers.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Mon May 10, 2010 8:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 688

Joined: 4th Mar 2010

Ride: BF Fairmont Ghia & TS Magna

Location: central coast
NSW, Australia

hey

expensive quick fix hmmmmm not really my mate bought a cap of ebay its a 2 farad and cost just over $100 delivered and it has solved issues for him in his barina with stock alternator and battery that would be better suited to a remote control car LOL

cheers bear

 

_________________

I don't know what to write in here LOL
Bear's Build Thread

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Mon May 10, 2010 8:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 1109

Joined: 4th Sep 2009

Ride: 92 EB s

Location: DORRIGO
NSW, Australia

Does he have a fire extinguisher?
I hope he has. Haveing 14.3volts in a 100ebay metal case in my car isn't my idea of a fix.
Even the good ones arnt realy a fix. More of bandaid.
But if it works it works I guess.
What system is he running?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Mon May 10, 2010 8:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 688

Joined: 4th Mar 2010

Ride: BF Fairmont Ghia & TS Magna

Location: central coast
NSW, Australia

hey

high end clarion head unit unsure of model
alpine type r 6.5" components front
alpine type r 6.5" 2 way rears
pioneer mono block for sub
pioneer 4 x 100 for front and rears
kicker sub

and stinger wiring throughout and and i forgot to mention the cap is stinger although it is second hand

cheers bear

sorry for the thread hijack

 

_________________

I don't know what to write in here LOL
Bear's Build Thread

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Mon May 10, 2010 8:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 688

Joined: 4th Mar 2010

Ride: BF Fairmont Ghia & TS Magna

Location: central coast
NSW, Australia

hmmmm major off topic thred hijack happening

 

_________________

I don't know what to write in here LOL
Bear's Build Thread

Last edited by BEAR80 on Mon May 10, 2010 9:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Mon May 10, 2010 9:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 422

Joined: 10th Jul 2009

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Black EB 5 Speed EL Front End

Location: Bundaberg
QLD, Australia

isnt Powervox one of them cheap amps from ebay

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub Amp Not Enough Power?
Posted: Mon May 10, 2010 9:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 1109

Joined: 4th Sep 2009

Ride: 92 EB s

Location: DORRIGO
NSW, Australia

It is very much so.
Yea a system that small shouldn't require a cap.
Seeing 4gauge is good for up to say 3000wrms.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 6  [ 76 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:20 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names