Fordmods Logo

Sub in stock radio unit? 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 34 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: Sub in stock radio unit?
Posted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:25 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 147

Joined: 31st Mar 2011

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: ba 05 xr6 mkII

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

hey guys with the 05 mkII ba without premium sound, is there any way of wiring a sub into the stock unit? or do u have to get an aftermarket headunit???

cheers

 

_________________

05 ba xr6 mkII

Mods: Re-spray, Interior LEDS, K&N air filter, 20" versus rims, SuperLow King springs all round, Monroe Gt shortened rear shocks, 2.5" XFORCE Catback mild steel exhaust with twin 3" tips

The Garage: http://www.fordmods.com/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=106741

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub in stock radio unit?
Posted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 12:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 65

Posts: 971

Joined: 11th Jan 2005

Ride: BA MK11

Location: West Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I have a BA MK1,and all the wiring is insitu.I have already fitted tweeters,and intend fitting subbie and amp soon. Low level-non colour screen sound system.

 

_________________

The older I get the better I was!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub in stock radio unit?
Posted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 12:41 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 147

Joined: 31st Mar 2011

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: ba 05 xr6 mkII

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

so if i was to pull the center bit out, would there be a place to just plug in a sub? or would i need to install an amp as well?? i just want a bit more bass, but dont really want to spend the money on an aftermarket unit, that i dont know how to install....

 

_________________

05 ba xr6 mkII

Mods: Re-spray, Interior LEDS, K&N air filter, 20" versus rims, SuperLow King springs all round, Monroe Gt shortened rear shocks, 2.5" XFORCE Catback mild steel exhaust with twin 3" tips

The Garage: http://www.fordmods.com/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=106741

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub in stock radio unit?
Posted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 1:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 65

Posts: 971

Joined: 11th Jan 2005

Ride: BA MK11

Location: West Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I am going to buy amp and sub from F T G,as they have a ready supply of them.I believe you need the amp to drive the sub.All wiring is there-certainly in mine.

 

_________________

The older I get the better I was!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub in stock radio unit?
Posted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 7:14 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 147

Joined: 31st Mar 2011

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: ba 05 xr6 mkII

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

ohh ok!! so the wiring?? do u mean there are wires in the back parcel shelf, where it would be on the premium sound? or there is just space in the back of the unit to add an amp??

 

_________________

05 ba xr6 mkII

Mods: Re-spray, Interior LEDS, K&N air filter, 20" versus rims, SuperLow King springs all round, Monroe Gt shortened rear shocks, 2.5" XFORCE Catback mild steel exhaust with twin 3" tips

The Garage: http://www.fordmods.com/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=106741

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub in stock radio unit?
Posted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 7:23 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 45

Joined: 1st Mar 2010

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BFII XR6T / EF GLI project

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Dont waste your time/money on the stock sub and amp.

The only thing that they are good for is a wheel choc!!!!

I didnt even get my BF home form the dealership before I dropped it into a car audio mob and got a real sub put in. :evil:

all the sub does is destort if you turn it up past 3/4.

My sub and amp is sitting on a shelf at home i should just throw it out

If you really want a sub in the stock position get your self a rockford fozgate 10in sub and a good amp.
may cost a bit extra but it is worth it

 

_________________

BFII XR6T - Conquer - K&N Pod Filter - Baby seat and Elmo sun shades!!!
EF Gli - 2.5" zorst NOW WITH CLOCK

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub in stock radio unit?
Posted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 7:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 65

Posts: 971

Joined: 11th Jan 2005

Ride: BA MK11

Location: West Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Turbo Jimmy wrote:
Dont waste your time/money on the stock sub and amp.

The only thing that they are good for is a wheel choc!!!!

I didnt even get my BF home form the dealership before I dropped it into a car audio mob and got a real sub put in. :evil:

all the sub does is destort if you turn it up past 3/4.

My sub and amp is sitting on a shelf at home i should just throw it out

If you really want a sub in the stock position get your self a rockford fozgate 10in sub and a good amp.
may cost a bit extra but it is worth it


Send it my way-I will even pay postage!

 

_________________

The older I get the better I was!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub in stock radio unit?
Posted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 7:47 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 45

Joined: 1st Mar 2010

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BFII XR6T / EF GLI project

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

I woldnt do that to you

Seriously get and aftermarket 10in sub and a small momoblock amp and you will be very happy

The only reason I still have it is so I can return it to stock if I wanna sell it

 

_________________

BFII XR6T - Conquer - K&N Pod Filter - Baby seat and Elmo sun shades!!!
EF Gli - 2.5" zorst NOW WITH CLOCK

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub in stock radio unit?
Posted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 10:03 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 147

Joined: 31st Mar 2011

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: ba 05 xr6 mkII

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

ok so if i go out and buy a good sub and a good amp, i will be able to hook it up to the stock unit tho?? or are u saying if i want a sub ill have to do the full aftermarket stereo?

if possible to u have any pics of either the back of the unit or any set-ups similar to this??

remembering that this is in a standard sound set-up not premium.... so there is no stock sub :(

thanks

 

_________________

05 ba xr6 mkII

Mods: Re-spray, Interior LEDS, K&N air filter, 20" versus rims, SuperLow King springs all round, Monroe Gt shortened rear shocks, 2.5" XFORCE Catback mild steel exhaust with twin 3" tips

The Garage: http://www.fordmods.com/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=106741

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub in stock radio unit?
Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 1:54 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 12

Joined: 4th Jul 2011

Ride: 2006 FPV F6 Typhoon

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Hey Guys,

I am looking at doing a similar thing but didn't want to create a new thread.

I want to install an aftermarket Sub and Amp. Is it possible to hook this up to the stock ICC or should I just buy an dash mounted EQ, then hook the amp up to that?

If I do it this way. Where is the best spot to get the 12v cable through the firewall?

Cheers.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub in stock radio unit?
Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 5:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 65

Posts: 971

Joined: 11th Jan 2005

Ride: BA MK11

Location: West Melbourne
VIC, Australia

The wiring for the amp, is on the LH wall of the boot, If you wish to use after-market, but want to leave the wiring unmodified, so it can be returned to stock, then I believe that Jaycar would be a great place to look for a suitable plug. The wiring for the sub is in the middle of the parcel shelf.

 

_________________

The older I get the better I was!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub in stock radio unit?
Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 8:25 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 147

Joined: 31st Mar 2011

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: ba 05 xr6 mkII

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

ok so i tried pulling the side wall off the left hand side of the boot this afternoon, and i saw cables going to the back tail light and the cables that open the fuel tank.... there was also a wire coming through with the same bundle that was bolted to the metal part of the body. is this the earthing of the speakers? or is that wat im looking for?? cause i still dont know what im actually looking for :(

 

_________________

05 ba xr6 mkII

Mods: Re-spray, Interior LEDS, K&N air filter, 20" versus rims, SuperLow King springs all round, Monroe Gt shortened rear shocks, 2.5" XFORCE Catback mild steel exhaust with twin 3" tips

The Garage: http://www.fordmods.com/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=106741

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub in stock radio unit?
Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 8:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 65

Posts: 971

Joined: 11th Jan 2005

Ride: BA MK11

Location: West Melbourne
VIC, Australia

There is a moulded lump in the boot carpet, on the LH side of the boot. Under this is a couple of slots in a piece of steel mounted off a sub chassis.Also there is a big grey plastic plug with about 6 holes and plenty of colours in the selection of wires. This is the plug for the amp,and the slots are for mounting the amp-(standard)

 

_________________

The older I get the better I was!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub in stock radio unit?
Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 9:02 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 147

Joined: 31st Mar 2011

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: ba 05 xr6 mkII

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

well i couldnt see any of that sorry :( is there any pics of this on fordmods?? i will have a look again but i couldnt see anything that looked like it was just sitting there.

is it on the floor, or the wall?? is it close to the petrol tank intake?

 

_________________

05 ba xr6 mkII

Mods: Re-spray, Interior LEDS, K&N air filter, 20" versus rims, SuperLow King springs all round, Monroe Gt shortened rear shocks, 2.5" XFORCE Catback mild steel exhaust with twin 3" tips

The Garage: http://www.fordmods.com/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=106741

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Sub in stock radio unit?
Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 9:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 65

Posts: 971

Joined: 11th Jan 2005

Ride: BA MK11

Location: West Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I have all that I said previously,as I went out and looked specifically.LH wall of the boot.If yours does not have the lump,then it is very different to mine.I have also fitted bulbs to the footwells in the front.

 

_________________

The older I get the better I was!

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 12:50 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names