Fordmods Logo

Fordmods Advertising

Tutorial 6 - Wiring, Capacitors, Door/Sub Box Measurements 

 

Page 2 of 3 [ 44 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

 
Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 9:14 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 260

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: EL XR6

Power: 141 rwkw

Location: Liverpool
NSW, Australia

just a quick question, are the calculations for the volume of the sub box accurate, you say that its about 2.4 cu/ft. but i crunched the numbers and came up with about 3.33 cu/ft. i checked it several times..... Is there something im missing.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 7:16 am 
Fordmods Audio and Turbo Expert
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 2121

Joined: 14th Dec 2004

Ride: FG Turbo Territoty Ghia

Location: Traralgon
VIC, Australia

I just double checked.

The box size comes out at 2.33c/f so i was off by .06c/f

Those dimensions are outter diensions and most of the box is 25mm MDF not 18mm which is more common.

 

_________________


Pro Class
1st Super Tech - Summernats 2007
Australian SQ Champion - Am Show 2004
Australian SQ Champion – Pro Show 2006 & Best of Show
Ford Champion - Melbourne 2004 & 2006
451.5wkw - now SOLD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 2:57 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 260

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: EL XR6

Power: 141 rwkw

Location: Liverpool
NSW, Australia

sorry man,
did the sums again, i didnt account for internal dimensions on my first calcs.. i cant belive you loose 1 whole cu/ft compared to internal and external dimensions.... i will never doubt u again pyro
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 2:32 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 9

Joined: 20th Jan 2006

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

so just to clarify, the maximum mounting depth in the doors of an ef falcon without the use of spacer rings and rubber things (hahaha that rhymes) is how deep?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 2:41 pm 
Fordmods Audio and Turbo Expert
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 2121

Joined: 14th Dec 2004

Ride: FG Turbo Territoty Ghia

Location: Traralgon
VIC, Australia

Depth @ top of hole 60mm
Depth @ centre of hole 70mm
Depth @ bottom of hole 72mm

So 70mm deep in the middle of the hole (i.e. where the middle part of the speaker will be)

That leaves a couple of mm clear fromth e window. You might be able to squeeze another 1or 2mm before actually hitting the window but i would not want to go that close. If you get a but of metal shaving or something on the back of the speaktr maget it would scrach the window or window tint.

 

_________________


Pro Class
1st Super Tech - Summernats 2007
Australian SQ Champion - Am Show 2004
Australian SQ Champion – Pro Show 2006 & Best of Show
Ford Champion - Melbourne 2004 & 2006
451.5wkw - now SOLD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Wiring colours
Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2007 1:51 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 7

Joined: 15th Apr 2007

Ride: ed xr6

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

Hi, I have just bought a ed xr6 and Im swithcing the headunit over, is there a quick guide to ford wire colours or something that anyone can point me to?

I am just interested in the wiring for the audio system...

Sry, if I am asking something that has already been answered, this is my first post. Look forward to many more ;)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 10:35 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 251

Joined: 22nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EF XR6 manual

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

---Allowing 2-3mm gap to clear the window the following is a guide to the max mounting depth allowable
Depth @ top of hole 60mm
Depth @ centre of hole 70mm
Depth @ bottom of hole 72mm

If you use a 12mm MDF spacer ring then the maximum depth in hole centre is 92mm-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi guys, just out of curiosity am i hopless at maths or does 70mm plus a 12mm spacer equal 82mm not 92 as stated :?: :? (spewing cos my orion xtr6 cs measure 85mm deep :cry: DOH)
Apart from that absolutely awesome job, makes it so much easier for us ppl just starting to get our stereos happening. Thanks heaps.

 

_________________

EF XR6 5spd 14.57@97mph
154rwkwts

Last edited by grub73 on Fri Apr 27, 2007 10:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 10:41 pm 
Fordmods Audio and Turbo Expert
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 2121

Joined: 14th Dec 2004

Ride: FG Turbo Territoty Ghia

Location: Traralgon
VIC, Australia

Updated.

 

_________________


Pro Class
1st Super Tech - Summernats 2007
Australian SQ Champion - Am Show 2004
Australian SQ Champion – Pro Show 2006 & Best of Show
Ford Champion - Melbourne 2004 & 2006
451.5wkw - now SOLD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 10:55 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 251

Joined: 22nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EF XR6 manual

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

cool, thanks again fro the great info

 

_________________

EF XR6 5spd 14.57@97mph
154rwkwts

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Wiring colours
Posted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 11:11 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 251

Joined: 22nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EF XR6 manual

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

monstertank wrote:
Hi, I have just bought a ed xr6 and Im swithcing the headunit over, is there a quick guide to ford wire colours or something that anyone can point me to?

I am just interested in the wiring for the audio system...

Sry, if I am asking something that has already been answered, this is my first post. Look forward to many more ;)


If the factory wiring hasn't been tampered with, you could possibly get the iso adapter plugs to siut your head unit from autobarn or some where like that. That way you wouldn't have to chop wires :D

 

_________________

EF XR6 5spd 14.57@97mph
154rwkwts

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 06, 2007 1:14 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 7

Joined: 15th Apr 2007

Ride: ed xr6

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

grub73 wrote:
monstertank wrote:
Hi, I have just bought a ed xr6 and Im swithcing the headunit over, is there a quick guide to ford wire colours or something that anyone can point me to?

I am just interested in the wiring for the audio system...

Sry, if I am asking something that has already been answered, this is my first post. Look forward to many more ;)


If the factory wiring hasn't been tampered with, you could possibly get the iso adapter plugs to siut your head unit from autobarn or some where like that. That way you wouldn't have to chop wires :D
Sweet mate, got it all sorted out now thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 10:53 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 300

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: EF II Fairmont Ghia

Location: Bowral
NSW, Australia

any chance to get the pictures back up for this?

 

_________________

Current Rides:
VX SS Commodore

EF II Fairmont Ghia, stock as a rock.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 8:16 am 
Fordmods Audio and Turbo Expert
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 2121

Joined: 14th Dec 2004

Ride: FG Turbo Territoty Ghia

Location: Traralgon
VIC, Australia

I offered fordmods to host them and they noever got around to it.

Now i dont have an account with my picture host place.

If fordmods are prepared to host them i still have pics

 

_________________


Pro Class
1st Super Tech - Summernats 2007
Australian SQ Champion - Am Show 2004
Australian SQ Champion – Pro Show 2006 & Best of Show
Ford Champion - Melbourne 2004 & 2006
451.5wkw - now SOLD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: caps
Posted: Fri Sep 28, 2007 11:06 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 48

Joined: 13th Aug 2007

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: EL 4 litre

Location: perth
WA, Australia

just on the caps how do the caps turn off wen you turn ur car off cheers:)

 

_________________

Old Mate Ford falcon

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 29, 2007 2:15 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 48

Joined: 13th Aug 2007

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: EL 4 litre

Location: perth
WA, Australia

soon as i charge it up i go to put it in and it reads low wtf aye and the the lights on the cap keep goin
which wuldnt be helping

 

_________________

Old Mate Ford falcon

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 3  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Aug 24, 2014 6:11 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names