Fordmods Logo

Tutorial - Add auxiliary input to EL's Premium Sound System 

 

Page 3 of 4 [ 52 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

 
Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 8:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

yes that answers my question...now to go and do this on my fairmont...
thanks for the guide mate...you are a champ!

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 9:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 10124

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Moph wrote:
Not sure sorry, Happy, 'cos I get confused by the whole SPST terminology when it comes to stereo sockets. They're not as plain and simple as normal switches and relays!

The sure way to know: if you go to DSE to look at it and it has only 3 solder pins, then its a non-switched plug (non-prefereable). If it has five solder pins, then its a switched plug.


yeah I went and had a look and only three plugs ... did you get the ones from jaycar ?

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 18, 2006 10:39 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 3764

Joined: 25th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EFII 5.8 NOS TerroristGhia

Power: 274 rwkw

Location: Sydney Australia
NSW, Australia

Have got the switched plug from jaycar this morining, but am confused as to how to wire this in, saw your pic, can you please axplain how the switched plug is wired. I know i seem simple but hey, too much NOS lol
Brett

 

_________________

The Terrorist ED Retired due to RUST.
The TerrosistGhia, EF Ghia 351 EFI 5 Speed.
Millennium Falcon, Sleeper EL DOHC 6 Speed Manual EFI LPG
Member#1131
I didn't Vote for Multiculturalism, DID YOU!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 18, 2006 10:44 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 3764

Joined: 25th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EFII 5.8 NOS TerroristGhia

Power: 274 rwkw

Location: Sydney Australia
NSW, Australia

Ok My bad, i had another look and i take it you cut the right output from the stacker, and tis is also the input to the DPS, same with the Left output, and the common is just spliced in
Brett

 

_________________

The Terrorist ED Retired due to RUST.
The TerrosistGhia, EF Ghia 351 EFI 5 Speed.
Millennium Falcon, Sleeper EL DOHC 6 Speed Manual EFI LPG
Member#1131
I didn't Vote for Multiculturalism, DID YOU!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 25, 2006 5:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 10124

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Yahoo ... just done this mod for the EF premo sound, awesome results. will take some pics then we'll put a complete doco together to help others!!

Now I can plug in my iRiver and get great sound!! :D

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 25, 2006 5:42 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 71

Joined: 25th Apr 2006

Ride: AU3

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

if only i knew this when i had my Ef insteading of having to carry lotsa cd's around...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 03, 2006 4:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 10124

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Thread updated - please see first post, this is now a permanent tech doco.

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 4:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 45

Posts: 419

Joined: 16th Jan 2005

Ride: EF Ghia 5.0

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

My CD stacker is dead, showing 'ERR 2' or something on the display. Can I still patch in the mp3 input, or does the stacker have to be powered up for everything to work?

Mike

 

_________________

EF Ghia 5.0 - XR8 in a tuxedo....classy, low and loud

Bordeaux Purple, Tickford kit, slammed, 18" BA XR8's, EL Ghia chrome, full leather, Pioneer audio, C&C, ABS, LSD, Crane cam, GT40P heads, high flow cats, Genie extractors, lots of woodgrain, chrome and interior lights!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 11, 2007 8:33 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 95

Joined: 22nd Jul 2007

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Nevermind, posted thread.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 4:45 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 265

Joined: 2nd Jun 2007

Ride: DF LTD

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

hey moph ive just bought me a DF LTD 8-)

im most certainly doing this mod here, but i was wondering if you think its plausible to replace the factory stacker in the boot to an mp3 cd compatable one?

 

_________________

DF LTD 4L

Pacemaker Extractors, BA cat, 2.5" Lukey single muffler sports exhaust
K&N panel filter, custom 3" piping
Factory 3.23 LSD
5 Spd Conversion, EA Box, shortened shifter, heavy duty clutch.
Lowered with Pedders
J3 Chip on the go..

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 04, 2007 3:31 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 229

Joined: 26th Nov 2007

Ride: Toyota Landcruiser Series 100

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

man....this info is gold!!!!

well done mate.

i think its quite a clean finish too.

anyone in VIC done it who can do mine as neat as Moph?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 04, 2007 10:27 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 26

Joined: 4th Jan 2006

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

markwright - there is no elegant way to do this, as while the audio signal is a normal analogue signal from the stacker to the head unit, the stacker control is all digitally encoded. So you must have the original stacker plugged in and a CD playing for the head unit to accept audio signals via the audio in. Were you to find an MP3 compatible stacker that used the same digital coding from stacker to head unit then that would be okay, but the likelihood of this is low given its a 10 year old car.

The only way would be to retain the existing stacker and just cut in the audio feed from a new MP3 stacker, and control the new stacker using a separate remote. That way you press play on the head unit, the original stacker fires up (unmuting the head unit in CD mode), and you then press Play on the MP3 stacker remote and cut in the new audio signal. Not real elegant.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

YBHVE4, I'm not real handy with mods (my Suzuki Sierra has been off the road six months now with an engine rebuild......) but this is easy as. Just be careful and patient and you should be done in two hours tops.

 

_________________

Elly - '96 EL Fairmont Ghia]

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 04, 2007 10:56 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 265

Joined: 2nd Jun 2007

Ride: DF LTD

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

ah yeh i understand.
i suppose i could buy one of those portable dvdplayers? plug that into the aux input and iv got the lot there?
haha unless theres a mad scientist out there that can install a new lens and reprogram the factory stacker :P

might have to just go the whole aftermarket deal :roll:

 

_________________

DF LTD 4L

Pacemaker Extractors, BA cat, 2.5" Lukey single muffler sports exhaust
K&N panel filter, custom 3" piping
Factory 3.23 LSD
5 Spd Conversion, EA Box, shortened shifter, heavy duty clutch.
Lowered with Pedders
J3 Chip on the go..

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 8:57 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 229

Joined: 26th Nov 2007

Ride: Toyota Landcruiser Series 100

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I was going to get the plug in FM transmitters, etc when i heard sometimes you get static and I saw these instructions I have swayed this way.

IM going to give it a go.....fingers crossed all goes well.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial - Add auxiliary input to EL's Premium Sound System
Posted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 11:37 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 22

Posts: 84

Joined: 1st Jan 2008

Ride: EF II Ghia

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

For an EF series 2 ghia, does it use the same stacker as the series 1??

I made up a patch for the din plug, I un-plugged the din plug... turned my head unit on and my CD was still playing... even with no din plug connected!

When I disconnected the DIN plug, the rear speakers went off... so I'm assuming the DIN plug runs the amp?

I'm just wondering am I supposed to use the DIN plug or am I meant to use a different plug??


EDIT: found I had to follow the EL guide, the round din plug is only for connecting the amp for the rear speakers.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 3 of 4  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum
cron

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 1:24 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names