Fordmods Logo

Fordmods Advertising

Tutorial Part 3 - Amplifiers Explained 

 

Page 2 of 4 [ 48 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

 
Posted: Tue May 31, 2005 10:48 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 1372

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: Lancer Coupe

Location: Southeastern suburbs, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

pyroay wrote:
The DMac wrote:
mad...my pioneer is 100db and my eclipse is 105db signal to noise ratio.

Great Work too mate.

Cheers


Great thats the way, my phoenix stuff is 113db so i'm fine. People often ask why spend extra money on amps, there is one of the answers..... No introduced noise, at any volume.


People say the same to me and why spend money on a radio, its just a radio, then i stick em in the in the car and crank it up and then they shut up.

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 31, 2005 2:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 11790

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Holden VE

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

pyroay wrote:
chunkz wrote:
aaron you should write a book

dummies guide to car audio
could make some dosh for the car mate


Could do that, you'd be supprised how long it takes to write these little tutorials and get the pics.

I would like to have a Car Audio Day at someone's place in melb were people can bring their car and talk about installation techniques and bring there gear and we can actually do a number of installations on cars in one day. Everyone could get a hand and see how things can be done.

Not sre how hard it would be to pull together....

Aaron we can certainly look into doing something like that for sure

 

_________________

Nicko

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 31, 2005 3:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

pyroay wrote:
Yes computer fans are fine, Jaycar has a good selection.

Look at the noise they make as well as the airflow. It is important to have the quietest one's possible.
Also when you mount them you need to use sound deadener all around to stop the pannel they are bolted to from humming with the fan speed.


Okay cool thanks man, i will be going to town this weekend so i will have a looksky for a fan.

Cheers for the help :)

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 9:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 3183

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

pyroay wrote:
Yes computer fans are fine, Jaycar has a good selection.

Look at the noise they make as well as the airflow. It is important to have the quietest one's possible.
Also when you mount them you need to use sound deadener all around to stop the pannel they are bolted to from humming with the fan speed.


I have my amp mounted under the dirvers seat, and i HAD a computer fan hooked up, but i had issues with not being able to find anywhere to actually mount it, anyone got any suggestions?

 

_________________

Nicco's M112 Blown, T-56 equipped EF
forums/viewtopic.php?t=68319

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 12:57 am 
Fordmods Audio and Turbo Expert
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 2121

Joined: 14th Dec 2004

Ride: FG Turbo Territoty Ghia

Location: Traralgon
VIC, Australia

Mount the amp under the seat on a piece of 6mm MDF. Then bend a small piece of aluminmum bent at right angles. Should take approx 30min...

 

_________________


Pro Class
1st Super Tech - Summernats 2007
Australian SQ Champion - Am Show 2004
Australian SQ Champion – Pro Show 2006 & Best of Show
Ford Champion - Melbourne 2004 & 2006
451.5wkw - now SOLD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 1:57 pm 
Fordmods Audio and Turbo Expert
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 2121

Joined: 14th Dec 2004

Ride: FG Turbo Territoty Ghia

Location: Traralgon
VIC, Australia

I am looking for good quality photos of YOUR installs to include in these tutorials.

What should you do ?

- Read the tutorial
- Take photos of either your equipment or installation showing somethnig that i can include that relates to the text
- E-mail ohotos to me
- Photos should be good quality pics that are nice and cler and nice and close so the object of interest fills the frame.

I wont promise i will include all photos but i will try to incorporate some into these documents.

 

_________________


Pro Class
1st Super Tech - Summernats 2007
Australian SQ Champion - Am Show 2004
Australian SQ Champion – Pro Show 2006 & Best of Show
Ford Champion - Melbourne 2004 & 2006
451.5wkw - now SOLD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 2:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

Damn i wish i took pictures when i installed my sub an amp.. I have put the amp on a custom made mounting board and secured that to the side of the boot on the (outside) of the boot lining. Looks pretty good and is a nice place to mount an amp.

Oh well mabe next time. :roll: Ive only taken a picture of the finished result so thats not much help is it.. :(

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 2:23 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 229

Joined: 15th Apr 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 1996 EF Fairmont Ghia

Location: country
VIC, Australia

hey pyroay can i hook up a 4 channel amp to my stock speakers to make them run better and leave the stock amp for the stock sub? Suggestions?

 

_________________

1996 EF Fairmont Ghia
- 2.5'' mandrel bent exhaust
- Au xr8 air intake snorkel
- Tinted windows
- Two way electric sunroof

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 3:31 pm 
Fordmods Audio and Turbo Expert
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 2121

Joined: 14th Dec 2004

Ride: FG Turbo Territoty Ghia

Location: Traralgon
VIC, Australia

Certainly can. One of the biggest weaknesses of a stock system is the lack of power fromt he headunit.

I'd run rears from headunit
fronts from 2 channels of the amp and the sub from the other 2 if it's a 4 channel smp...

 

_________________


Pro Class
1st Super Tech - Summernats 2007
Australian SQ Champion - Am Show 2004
Australian SQ Champion – Pro Show 2006 & Best of Show
Ford Champion - Melbourne 2004 & 2006
451.5wkw - now SOLD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 3:46 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 229

Joined: 15th Apr 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 1996 EF Fairmont Ghia

Location: country
VIC, Australia

Do you know what power rms they put out (the stock speakers) someone suggested an alpine 4 channel v pwoer amp for around $300 are there any one from jaycar that would suit my needs? Can i hook up the old amp (stock one to the stock sub to give it more power?

Thanks heaps for the help :wink:

 

_________________

1996 EF Fairmont Ghia
- 2.5'' mandrel bent exhaust
- Au xr8 air intake snorkel
- Tinted windows
- Two way electric sunroof

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 4:05 pm 
Fordmods Audio and Turbo Expert
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 2121

Joined: 14th Dec 2004

Ride: FG Turbo Territoty Ghia

Location: Traralgon
VIC, Australia

dyl wrote:
Do you know what power rms they put out (the stock speakers) someone suggested an alpine 4 channel v pwoer amp for around $300 are there any one from jaycar that would suit my needs? Can i hook up the old amp (stock one to the stock sub to give it more power?

Thanks heaps for the help :wink:

Speakers dont produce power they use it. I assume you mean what power does the headunit provide and the answer is around 10rms x 4.

What power will the stock speakers handle?
it depends on what frequency you cross them over at but they sound a lot better with 30rms from an external amp than they do from the headunit

Jaycar Amp
STOCK-CODE: AA0420
2 x 80rms or
1 x 200rms
Cost $150 approx

Would be ideal for eith er the front stage or bridged to run a sub and is probably around twice the power output of the factory sub amp


For approx $20 more you could grab a 4 channel and run fronts with 50rms and sub with 160rms

Jaycar Amp
STOCK-CODE: AA0422
4 x 50rms or
2 x 50rms + 1 x 160rms
Cost $170 approx

 

_________________


Pro Class
1st Super Tech - Summernats 2007
Australian SQ Champion - Am Show 2004
Australian SQ Champion – Pro Show 2006 & Best of Show
Ford Champion - Melbourne 2004 & 2006
451.5wkw - now SOLD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 5:16 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 229

Joined: 15th Apr 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 1996 EF Fairmont Ghia

Location: country
VIC, Australia

Thanks heaps for the info :wink:
Could i use the 4 channel amp to run the four speakers and the stock amp to run the sub OR should i have the jaycar amp running two speakers and amp and have the stock amp running rear speakers?
Sorry bout all the questions i just know that u r the guy to talk to bout audio stuff. thanks

 

_________________

1996 EF Fairmont Ghia
- 2.5'' mandrel bent exhaust
- Au xr8 air intake snorkel
- Tinted windows
- Two way electric sunroof

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 5:26 pm 
Fordmods Audio and Turbo Expert
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 2121

Joined: 14th Dec 2004

Ride: FG Turbo Territoty Ghia

Location: Traralgon
VIC, Australia

dyl wrote:
Thanks heaps for the info :wink:
Could i use the 4 channel amp to run the four speakers and the stock amp to run the sub OR should i have the jaycar amp running two speakers and amp and have the stock amp running rear speakers?
Sorry bout all the questions i just know that u r the guy to talk to bout audio stuff. thanks


You can go that way. I dont see a lot of benefit in amplifying the rear speakers from an external amp in your situation.. Its not that hard to hook it up though so give it a go both ways...

It is also simplier to only use one amp but if you have them both you might as well play around with it..

 

_________________


Pro Class
1st Super Tech - Summernats 2007
Australian SQ Champion - Am Show 2004
Australian SQ Champion – Pro Show 2006 & Best of Show
Ford Champion - Melbourne 2004 & 2006
451.5wkw - now SOLD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 5:40 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 229

Joined: 15th Apr 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 1996 EF Fairmont Ghia

Location: country
VIC, Australia

Thanks for all the help pyroay i just wanted to get a cheap solution (for now) to get some better sound out of my speakers, so will probly just go for the four channel jaycar amp and power the front off it and either the sub or the rears aswell. Once again thanks heaps for your insight on the situation. Sorry for posting heaps of questions on your tutorial :(
Anyway time to start working so will hopefully get me an amp.
Cheers Dyl

 

_________________

1996 EF Fairmont Ghia
- 2.5'' mandrel bent exhaust
- Au xr8 air intake snorkel
- Tinted windows
- Two way electric sunroof

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 6:07 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 229

Joined: 15th Apr 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 1996 EF Fairmont Ghia

Location: country
VIC, Australia

Will the amp AA0422 50wrms x 4 fit into my boot where the stock one is??
Also is it easy to hook it up to the speakers?
I will try not to ask anymore questions as i am proberly anoying you now but thanks for the help.

 

_________________

1996 EF Fairmont Ghia
- 2.5'' mandrel bent exhaust
- Au xr8 air intake snorkel
- Tinted windows
- Two way electric sunroof

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 4  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Apr 25, 2014 10:50 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names