Fordmods Logo

Tutorial Part 3 - Amplifiers Explained 

 

Page 3 of 4 [ 48 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

 
Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 9:39 am 
Fordmods Audio and Turbo Expert
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 2121

Joined: 14th Dec 2004

Ride: FG Turbo Territoty Ghia

Location: Traralgon
VIC, Australia

dyl wrote:
Will the amp AA0422 50wrms x 4 fit into my boot where the stock one is??
Also is it easy to hook it up to the speakers?
I will try not to ask anymore questions as i am proberly anoying you now but thanks for the help.


Not sure dimensions are on www.jaycar.com.au just enter the product code..

Yes it's easy to connect

 

_________________


Pro Class
1st Super Tech - Summernats 2007
Australian SQ Champion - Am Show 2004
Australian SQ Champion – Pro Show 2006 & Best of Show
Ford Champion - Melbourne 2004 & 2006
451.5wkw - now SOLD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 09, 2005 12:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1372

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: Lancer Coupe

Location: Southeastern suburbs, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

pyroay wrote:
The DMac wrote:
mad...my pioneer is 100db and my eclipse is 105db signal to noise ratio.

Great Work too mate.

Cheers


Great thats the way, my phoenix amps is 113db so i'm fine. People often ask why spend extra money on amps, there is one of the answers..... No introduced noise, at any volume.


Funny thing, i was just looking on the Rock Fosgate website and checked out their mono blocks. It says that they are 90db A weighted. What does this mean and is it measure on a different scale or something.

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 09, 2005 2:14 pm 
Fordmods Audio and Turbo Expert
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 2121

Joined: 14th Dec 2004

Ride: FG Turbo Territoty Ghia

Location: Traralgon
VIC, Australia

No Rockford fosgate are very conservative in all their weightings, i would say those ampswould test out to be well over 100db "A" scale weighted.

 

_________________


Pro Class
1st Super Tech - Summernats 2007
Australian SQ Champion - Am Show 2004
Australian SQ Champion – Pro Show 2006 & Best of Show
Ford Champion - Melbourne 2004 & 2006
451.5wkw - now SOLD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 11:01 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 31

Joined: 31st Mar 2005

Location: perth
WA, Australia

Ok I have been given a 4chan sony xplode 500w amp I was told I could run 2x 1200w max 350w @4ohm +2 6x9 250w 4ways Is this true,& HOW do I hook it up ? there is a thred on amps but it dose not tell you how to hook them up .
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 9:31 am 
Fordmods Audio and Turbo Expert
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 2121

Joined: 14th Dec 2004

Ride: FG Turbo Territoty Ghia

Location: Traralgon
VIC, Australia

newbi EL wrote:
Ok I have been given a 4chan sony xplode 500w amp I was told I could run 2x 1200w max 350w @4ohm +2 6x9 250w 4ways Is this true,& HOW do I hook it up ? there is a thred on amps but it dose not tell you how to hook them up .


2 x 1200max means very little rms power could be anything from 200rms to 600rms per channel.

350rms sounds about right.

Amp is pretty straight forward to connect, firstly it should come with a manual telling you how to connect it all but if not
Power to the power or + terminal
Earth point on the car to the -'ive
Remote turn on or trigger wire from the headunit goes to trigger input on the amp, this tells it to turn on.

Then connect te speaker +'ive and -'ive
then RCAs input ad your done.

 

_________________


Pro Class
1st Super Tech - Summernats 2007
Australian SQ Champion - Am Show 2004
Australian SQ Champion – Pro Show 2006 & Best of Show
Ford Champion - Melbourne 2004 & 2006
451.5wkw - now SOLD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 9:59 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 31

Joined: 31st Mar 2005

Location: perth
WA, Australia

OK then Is it posable to link 2 amps to 1 pre out on the hu.& how. :?:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 11:12 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 227

Joined: 11th Dec 2004

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

pyroay I read your tech on stereo gear, not too bad a read.

Just a note on the Amplifiers. My understanding of "All frequencies" is white noise not pink noise. At least thats what I remember from my electronic eng days at uni.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 14, 2005 9:25 am 
Fordmods Audio and Turbo Expert
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 2121

Joined: 14th Dec 2004

Ride: FG Turbo Territoty Ghia

Location: Traralgon
VIC, Australia

Bert wrote:
pyroay I read your tech on stereo gear, not too bad a read.

Just a note on the Amplifiers. My understanding of "All frequencies" is white noise not pink noise. At least thats what I remember from my electronic eng days at uni.


Pink noise is all frequency's (same as white noise) but has a stronger bottom end emphasis and is normally what is used for RTA'ing.


newbi EL wrote:
OK then Is it posable to link 2 amps to 1 pre out on the hu.& how. :?:


You need a splitter 1RCA into 2. Do not buy a cheap one, they are a very common source of introduced noise into a system but something reasonable should cost between $8 - $14ea...

 

_________________


Pro Class
1st Super Tech - Summernats 2007
Australian SQ Champion - Am Show 2004
Australian SQ Champion – Pro Show 2006 & Best of Show
Ford Champion - Melbourne 2004 & 2006
451.5wkw - now SOLD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 14, 2005 8:15 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 227

Joined: 11th Dec 2004

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

Learn something everyday :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 14, 2005 8:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1372

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: Lancer Coupe

Location: Southeastern suburbs, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

yeah my stinger ones costed $13 each at jb hifi.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 22, 2006 12:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 2159

Joined: 15th Nov 2005

Gallery: 17 images

Ride: TS40

Location: Latrobe Valley
VIC, Australia

every one has a cousin that talks s**t so mine was telling me how his digital amp produces twice as much power as a normal... whats the difference between a digital amp and normal ...? or was he talking s**t again???

 

_________________

Was - 2001 AUIII Ford Falcon Forte
Genuine T2 TS50 bodykit, 18" BF Cobras, Boge and Eibach Suspension and Complete AU2 Fairmont Ghia Interior

Now - 2012 FG Mk2 Ford Falcon XR6
Swift Green,6 Speed Auto, Stock... and a Fuel Card :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 22, 2006 12:29 pm 
Fordmods Audio and Turbo Expert
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 2121

Joined: 14th Dec 2004

Ride: FG Turbo Territoty Ghia

Location: Traralgon
VIC, Australia

Digital amplifiers amplify the signal differently and there is pro’s and cons to that.
The con is that they introduce noise and interference especially higher up the frequency chain, although there are now full range digital or hybrid amps that seem to be alleviating some of these problems. .

Because of the way they amplify the sound they are much more efficient up to 85 – 90% efficient, compared to 45-55% efficient like say a class A-B (most normal amps)

Because they are more efficient, they can be much smaller and also get less hot.

So i guess if it is rtwice as efficient (which many are) then from the same size package you can get twice the output.

 

_________________


Pro Class
1st Super Tech - Summernats 2007
Australian SQ Champion - Am Show 2004
Australian SQ Champion – Pro Show 2006 & Best of Show
Ford Champion - Melbourne 2004 & 2006
451.5wkw - now SOLD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 5:59 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 202

Joined: 1st Dec 2008

Ride: BAxr6 mkII, BA xr6, EA Spac

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Yea iaw the last post was in june but i thought if anyone could help me it would be this thread..

Im no good when it comes to car audio and i baught an amp (cheapo crap one) and a kicker sub, the amp's brand is coustic.

the previous owners of my car had an amp and sub but wanted to keep them so i just got my amp mount where theirs is ad go B hifi to install it the guy said he would need to run another cable and sis now every now and hen ig et egine noise and the severity changes from time to time.

i took it back to JB and he said it was a faulty amp and changed the amp over and it happened again now he says its because i got an old head unit... could an older head unit (JVC dont know the year but its got a cd player and casset player) cause randome engine noise? or this guy just a wank.

any help would be awesome :)

cheers

 

_________________

Homer- Everytime i try to learn somethign new it pushes out old information!
Like that time i learnt how to taste wine and forgot how to drive.

Marge- You didn't forget how to drive you where drunk!

Homer- And How!
Successful Trades: Private9

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 6:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 2159

Joined: 15th Nov 2005

Gallery: 17 images

Ride: TS40

Location: Latrobe Valley
VIC, Australia

engine noise can be caused by a few things... the most common (but unlikely because yours was"professionally" installed) is that the speaker wires are getting some interferance from the power cable or the amp isnt grounded enough...

will need a little info about your setup first... ill try make it simple for you...

you said you have an old head unit that they are blaming... does it have RCA output (red and white plug like tvs/playstations use) you should see these running into the amp

Cheers Cam

 

_________________

Was - 2001 AUIII Ford Falcon Forte
Genuine T2 TS50 bodykit, 18" BF Cobras, Boge and Eibach Suspension and Complete AU2 Fairmont Ghia Interior

Now - 2012 FG Mk2 Ford Falcon XR6
Swift Green,6 Speed Auto, Stock... and a Fuel Card :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 7:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2477

Joined: 10th Mar 2007

Gallery: 27 images

Ride: 1995 EF Fairmont

Location: Auckland
New Zealand

As FourL6 mentioned about the power wires being crossed with the speaker wires..

Try and trace the speaker wires from your amp and see where abouts in the cabin they run through. If the speaker wires ae running close to where your main power cable is, that could be the reason for you are getting the strange noises. Also this can happen with the RCA cables if they are too close to the main power cable so make sure that they are far away from the power wire too

Ideally you would have the speaker wires and RCA's running on the other side of the car from the main power wire just to make sure that they are far enough apart to prevent any interference. Also check that the ground is secure as FourL6 also mentioned

 

_________________

Money Talks, But All Mine Ever Says Is Goodbye
EF Fairmont - EFF111 Build Thread

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 3 of 4  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 4:43 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names