Fordmods Logo

Tweeters - Hard Dome Vs Soft Dome + Ambient’s 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

Post subject: Tweeters - Hard Dome Vs Soft Dome + Ambient’s
Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2005 12:36 pm 
Fordmods Audio and Turbo Expert

Ride: FG Turbo Territoty Ghia

VIC, Australia

Just thought I’d start a discussion on people preference on Hard Vs Soft dome tweeters.

My preference is soft dome. I have owned Focal Utopia (and MB Quart’s) hard domes and found them to be quite nice to listen to but at moderate to loud volumes they get too harsh for my liking. I also find hard domes aren’t as smooth / mellow sounding. On the Up side I am a drummer and find that cymbals have better realism sue to increased high frequency extension. Also some instruments such as piano or flute can tend to have more “silabenceâ€￾ and a more open airy feel.

I have heard quite a few sets of soft dome’s including owning Supermo’s and Dynaudio MD100’s, and find the sound more detailed, especially in the lower frequency’s and a smoother blend with midrange drivers especially in 2 way splits, without a dedicated midbass driver

The drawback I have found is high frequency roll off above 16k there is significant roll off and by 20k they are quite a few db down, which can be EQ’ed to an extent but not fully.

What are your thoughts?

Are ambient's the solution, with soft dome tweeters in the main set-up then hard dome tweeters as ambient’s on a gentle slope crossover to provide the greater high frequency extension and assist in raising soundstage height?

Pro Class
1st Super Tech - Summernats 2007
Australian SQ Champion - Am Show 2004
Australian SQ Champion – Pro Show 2006 & Best of Show
Ford Champion - Melbourne 2004 & 2006
451.5wkw - now SOLD

Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2005 12:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

SA, Australia

Aaron, just for a car audio newb such as myself - would you mind explaining the difference between the two in terms of construction? Thanks...