Fordmods Logo

USA Deck into australia.. fm tuner work? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: USA Deck into australia.. fm tuner work?
Posted: Sat Dec 25, 2004 4:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 2215

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 17 images

Ride: Oettinger Golf GTI

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

As the topic says, im wanting to get this deck from the US and just wondering how the radio frequency would work and if it'd be ok or can get something to make it work?

Thanks!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: USA Deck into australia.. fm tuner work?
Posted: Sat Dec 25, 2004 5:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

fuzion wrote:
As the topic says, im wanting to get this deck from the US and just wondering how the radio frequency would work and if it'd be ok or can get something to make it work?

Thanks!

It would work but you'd have to check what frequency range it has, just like the jap import ones.
As long as it has say 88->105 you'll be right. Above and below that you'd be missing out on your favourite stations.

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 25, 2004 5:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

FM will be fine

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 1:51 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 46

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: NL Fairlane

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I've had 2 cd players from the USA and 1 MD player. All have been fine with FM, and only 1 had a problem with AM. Who listens to AM anyway? Only for cricket or footy I spose, but with the savings you get from buying over there, it's worth it for sure!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 5:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 492

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: EF Fairmont Wagon, ph34r!

Location: Northam
WA, Australia

The reason the AM band was screwy was probably because the frequency steps are different. In this country it's 9Khz but over there it's 10Khz or something.

The only country FM would be a problem is Japan. They use a narrower band than everywhere else (but afaik everything else is standard). This can be overcome with a simple downconverter which Jaycar at least used to sell a few years ago but I wouldn't know if they still do or not as its been a while since I last recieved that catalogue and their website quite frankly sucks (though that's probably more to them using Filemaker as their backend than anything else).

 

_________________

Team Argon Silver

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 27, 2004 1:56 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 2637

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EL TURBO GHIA

Power: 372 rwkw

Location: penrith
NSW, Australia

hey mate

my new headunit is american and the fm works fine ,havnt tryed AM as i never listen to it

 

_________________

HMMMM BOOST !!!


ED fairmont R.I.P

STREET FORDS FEATURE CAR ISSUE 42

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 27, 2004 12:40 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 62

Posts: 285

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: buick

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Ive got a cd deck in my Buick I got last year from the states. It works fine.As others have mentioned the ones on some Jap imports have probs.
While I was over there this year most audio outlets were selling a pay satalite FM radio gadget. I don't think this would work here but not sure on that ( don't no how succesful thats going to be when you can play cd's).

ghiaman
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 3:08 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 1993

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA2 XR6T

Location: Mount Colah
NSW, Australia

you will also find that a lot of units have the ability to change the area, which changes the frequency spacings.

ie in the US they have 10khz spacing for AM, and only have stations on all the odd FM frequences, ie 88.1, 88.3 etc

my alpine headunit has the abilty to change, but in most cases the FM will still work fine, unless you wanna go to the drive inns, or listen to communmity radio :)

 

_________________

BOOSTED

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alexa [Bot] and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 7:09 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names