Fordmods Logo

What shape should my sub box be? 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

Post subject: What shape should my sub box be?
Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 12:59 am 
Parts Gopher

Gallery: 3 images

QLD, Australia

Hey all!

Firstly I'm new to the forums after bagging meself an EF wagon - so hi! I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to audio so no doubt you'll be seeing a fair bit of me around here asking those annoying questions :P

I'm thinking about installing a moderate system - HU/front splits and sub off amp/rears off HU and to save a few bucks and for a bit of fun, I thought i might do it myself. Because I frequent dodgy areas (or at least work in them), i want my sub to be as stealth as possible. Problem is the spare tyre well is taken by the lpg tank. So I want to make a custom sub box that is low and long, to fit across the boot directly behind the seats. Sort of to look like a custom toolbox or better yet, to not be noticed at all. The sub and amp, and prolly rear fill will all be fitted firing into the seats. I should be able to get the volume i need, but tell me, does the actual shape of the box matter? Most boxes are short and square while mine will be long and low. Any thoughts? Also, will mounting the amp on or as part of the sub box damage it by way of shock or anything? I see it quite a bit so my guess is no.

Thanks guys!

Dan.

Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 1:25 am 
Getting Side Ways

Ride: Falcon EB-s

WA, Australia

Generally you'll want at least 100mm from the port at the rear of the sub. Box shape does have an affect on sound, but if its designed to go into a specific area, then i'm sure you wont mind a bit!

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?

Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 1:52 am 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Trik'd up EFII XR6

WA, Australia

Andrew J wrote: