Fordmods Logo

Where to run 4 Gauge with a 5 speed 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Where to run 4 Gauge with a 5 speed
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 6:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1231

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: 2010 Nitro Blue FG

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hey people, I've seen that most people with and auto run there 4gauge wiring through the clutch hole and then into the cabin. waht do people with a 5 speed as the clutch hole is taken up? Suggestions??

cheers
Andrew

 

_________________

The boogieman checks under his bed for chuck norris

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 6:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 1993

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA2 XR6T

Location: Mount Colah
NSW, Australia

you have a few options.
you can run it inside the inner guard and then into the car behind the kick panel.
theres a grommet you can make a hole in just near where the cruise module sits.
theres a couple of ideas for you

 

_________________

BOOSTED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 6:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 11791

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Holden VF Calais / NL FBT

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

drill a hole next to lutch cablehole in firewall
use a half inch drill bit and you will be set. Thats what i had to do Andrew and i know our not afraid to hack away at your car

 

_________________

Nicko

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 7:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 1993

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA2 XR6T

Location: Mount Colah
NSW, Australia

there is always that too
but there isnt really any need to
plus
if you are going to drill a hole, drill it big so you can use it in the future to run other stuff through.

 

_________________

BOOSTED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 8:06 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 732

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: LTDHO

Location: South eastern
VIC, Australia

Yeah When I went auto to manual I had to relocate my wires. I drilled through the firewall. I used a holesaw and used a gromet so I can put extra wires through or upgrade the power wire.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 11:05 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1231

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: 2010 Nitro Blue FG

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I think drilling a new hole in the firewall is the way to go. It must take a long time, as the firewall is pretty thick?

 

_________________

The boogieman checks under his bed for chuck norris

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 12:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 1993

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA2 XR6T

Location: Mount Colah
NSW, Australia

just take note that in certain states this can occur a defect without being engineered !

 

_________________

BOOSTED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 7:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 11791

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Holden VF Calais / NL FBT

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

andrew takes 30 seconds if you have the right metal drill bit and a good drill i used a cordless to do mine

 

_________________

Nicko

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 7:42 pm 
Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 4653

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Drives Like Fun

Power: 318 rwkw

Location: Melbourne Interior: Cappucino Exterior: Sparkling Burgundy
VIC, Australia

Andrew - I'd opt for running through the guard like ch0c0 said...I just reckon avoid drilling is a good idea where possible. Another option is running it beneath the car...but no, I don't know anyone personally that has done it.

Cheers,
Steve

PS, Glad to see you're up and about again :)

 

_________________

Vic Cruises & Events

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 13, 2004 1:16 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 927

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon EGas

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

f**k drilling through the firewall. I've got a manual and installed my own system. Use the rubber grommet in the second post. No point drilling holes you don't need.

 

_________________

BA Falcon Futura on EGas. Stock as...

EF 5 speed manual; PH 4480 Pacemaker Headers; 2 1/2" Lukey Mandrel Bent System; Hi Flow Walker Cat; Stage 3 Crow Cam; ChipTorque Chip; 3" Mandrel Bent Intake; K&N Pod Filter; Low Pedders Suspension; 17" EL GT Champagne Rims; RPM Series Clutch

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 3:52 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names