Fordmods Logo

E series XR highbeam light issue. solution??? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 19 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: E series XR highbeam light issue. solution???
Posted: Sat Mar 31, 2007 9:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

hey all, as many may know i have been trying to solve the issue of the low beams switching off when i turn high beams on, so after thinking for a bit and experiencing low light situations i thorght of a possible solution that will hopefuly fix the issue. so before i started it i thorght id post it here first to see if its correct so i dont fry the lights.

the basic idea is to use the power wire from the high beams to trip the relay and put power (from either a switched wire or constant wire) to the low beams.

now some down sides i can see is that if i flash my high beams it will put all lights on (not sure if stock lights do this or not)

and possibly the low beams might cut out for a split second between when the lows cut out and the high beams cut in. but shouldnt be an issue.

Image

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 9:57 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 276

Joined: 2nd Aug 2005

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

have you tried different globes?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 10:06 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

its not the globes. its an issue with the way ford set them up. fairlanes are setup the same way XR lights are.

it you look around alot of people have the same issue as i have here.

hopfully by tonight ill have all this done and sorted.

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 10:26 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 109

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: Manual EL XR6

I've just checked my lights, and when i put the high beams on the low beams stay on. Also when i flash the highs, the lows come on with them. I haven't done anything to mine, it's like this from factory, and I've never known it to be any other way.

Cheers,
Jason.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 10:28 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

but yours is factory XR lights. mine is an EA with the ED XR lights. its easy to fix on the EB's ect but EA's loom is set out differently and is missing the resistor plug that EB onwards have

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 10:47 am 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

hi
did you try adding the wire with the resistor and swapping the relay pins around???
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 10:55 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

i didnt SWAP the pins areound, but i cant find that resistor. i found one right next to the relays but not up where everyone else said it would be.

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 3:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

ok i have it all sorted now. i didnt realise it was earthed through the interior switch. so i basically had to swap my idea around.

all you need to do to complete it is
1x 5 pin relay
4x female spade clips
2x wire splicers
2x circular terminals
1m of wireing

if you follow this diagram you cant go wrong. if you need colours PM me.

Image

this diagram shows the 2 factory headlight relays, the on on the right is the new one i added.

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 5:06 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

huggiebear wrote:
i didnt SWAP the pins areound, but i cant find that resistor. i found one right next to the relays but not up where everyone else said it would be.


OK
You will find your car wont have it you need to get it off a fairmont ghia or fairlane.. and then add it to your harness.

its up to you but i think just adding that wire and swapping 2 pins around is much easier then re wiring your headlights and adding more relays..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 5:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

well i had no idea what wire the resistor went between so adding a relay ensured it worked first time.

either way it worked out nicely

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 5:54 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

ok

the wire runs from the high beam power output and runs through the resistor/diod and into the centre pin of the 5 pin relay(pin 27a)

so when you put your high beams on that wire with the resistor/diod supplies power back to the relay and supplies power back to your low beam..

 

 

Attachments:
DSC00220.JPG
DSC00220.JPG [ 271.53 KiB | Viewed 32 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 7:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 527

Joined: 14th Mar 2005

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: ebxr8

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

someone should write up a technical doco on this fix as it comes up from time to time,my eb with xr lights r the same highbeams on, low beams off,flash highbeams and all four stay on.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 7:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

depends on the way you want to go. i will write up a doco either late tonight or tomorrow.

if troyman would also like to do on we cn add them toather and make one doco but with a few different ways of doing this.

note my way is only really suitable for EA's as the EB already has that resistor UNDER THE OVERFLOW BOTTLE. just add a YELLOW resistor and a 5 pin relay to the high beams and it should be done

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 7:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 527

Joined: 14th Mar 2005

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: ebxr8

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

I'll have to try and fix this when i get the motor in,i've been driving around like this for the past 2 yrs or so

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 9:28 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

im currently working on a tech doco for all to view on this subject.

i should have it finished tomorow...

i will post it up when its done.. :)
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 7:43 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names