Fordmods Logo

EL XR6 / XR8 Headlight Switching From Low To High 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

Post subject: EL XR6 / XR8 Headlight Switching From Low To High
Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 10:29 am 
Getting Side Ways

Ride: SZ Titanium & ZG Fairlane

SA, Australia

Hey guys I have been driving my EL XR around for almost three years now with really crap headlights. Ever since I bought it I have noticed that when I go from using low beams to putting on my high beams, the low beam lights actually go out and leave only the high beam middle two lights on. This makes it very hard to see anything at night especially to the sides of the road as the light is just projected straight in front of the car. I thought that this was pretty crap but just thought that that was how it was supposed to be as the low beam globes aren't dual filament or anything.

On the weekend while doing another three hour trip at night in the bush with s**t lights I noticed that if I pull back slightly on the indicator stalk towards me while on high beam the low beam cuts in as well so that I have all four lights on and I can then let go of the stalk and it stays that way so that I can actually see.

Now I was just wondering if there is only meant to be the high beams on and not the low beam lights too on high beam, or has my light switch in the stalk been dodgy this whole time?

F6 Rspec #139 - Stock Car Racing

Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 10:52 am 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 26 images

Ride: '97 EL XR6

QLD, Australia

Sounds like the light switch is faulty or a bad contact on the wires. You should have all 4 lights on when on hi beam.

Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 10:56 am 
Technical Contributor

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

WA, Australia

yeah sounds like abit of loose wiring around the stalk.

Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 11:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: FGX G6ET

NSW, Australia

<--------------
<--------------
<--------------

Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 11:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 3 images