Fordmods Logo

HID LIGHTS 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 22 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: HID LIGHTS
Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:39 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 19

Joined: 24th Jan 2008

Location: penrith
NSW, Australia

hey.
i was thinkin bout fitting a hid conversion kit to my ba.
i believe the headlights are h4, the highbeams are h7, and the bottom driving lights (fog Lights) are h3.
would i only get a kit for the h4's or the lot??
wat bout the other lights?
and wats the process for fitting the Hid's??
how difficult is it??
thanx
dean
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 1:37 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1231

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: 2010 Nitro Blue FG

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Whatever you do, get the H$ hi AND lo kit it will save you a lot of money when getting them installed. I have 6000k hi/lo kit and they are INCREDIBLE. i will be getting 800k for the foggies soon. Speak to PROMAX AUTO. I know they are in melbourne which is a pain for you but they are experts in fitting HID's to all cars and know their kits as well. I bought my kit of Ebay from orange devices.

 

_________________

The boogieman checks under his bed for chuck norris

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 11:40 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5587

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

Do some reading.
Search on here using "HID", and the username "MAVS19".
This guy is a wealth of info on this - unfortunately he isn't on here for a long while, but his info is still here.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 8:15 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Get HID's for everything bar the high beam bulbs. HIDs don't like being flashed, and take a while to warm up to full brightness, not what you want in a high beam.

I've got the H4 hi/lo setup, and the H11 in the fog lights (BF FPV fog lights use H11's) All 6000K

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 12:27 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 274

Joined: 29th Nov 2004

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: 03 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Did you go for one of the cheapy setups off ebay data_mine or one of the proper german ones with the circuit protector?

 

_________________

2003 BA Fairmont Ghia V8 www.bseries.com.au/acey xr8 catback
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 12:40 am 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

I know of the story you're referring to. And I still don't believe it.

The ballast boxes are literally filled with dielectric medium, so there's no way any high voltage can get back into your car. (i guess doing something stupid with them could, but that's not their fault)

Put it this way, I had 'em in my EL, and I've happily got them in my GT-P.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 12:53 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 274

Joined: 29th Nov 2004

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: 03 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I know bugger all about electrics I wont deny it. But could it be possible for the current to travel through the ballast and up the wiring that powers the ballast? :).

If your willing to run the cheaper ebay kits on your bf gtp then I need no more convincing :D thanks DM :)

 

_________________

2003 BA Fairmont Ghia V8 www.bseries.com.au/acey xr8 catback
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 1:43 am 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

MilleniumFalcon wrote:
I know bugger all about electrics I wont deny it. But could it be possible for the current to travel through the ballast and up the wiring that powers the ballast? :).


I believe not...

1. as mentioned the ballast units are fully sealed with dielectric (a solid insulating goo).
2. the input (12v) and output (kV) stages are not physically connected, only power transfer is via magnetic fields (like any regular transformer)*.

There is a possibility of the windings failing that could cause a problem, but they'd have to fail then make their way through the solid insulating goo to make contact with anything else.

I'm not a sparky or electronics certified. But I did study it for 2 years, before changing professions.

* isolation like this is also used on 12vDC->250vAC inverters, they're safe to use in cars. And it's even more pertinent, as making your car live with 250v @ several Amps is going to be more deadly to PEOPLE, than the fractional mA at several kV a HID ballast produces.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 5:42 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 19

Joined: 24th Jan 2008

Location: penrith
NSW, Australia

ahh k.. thanx heaps for the feedback..
so i can still use the same headlights aye??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 5:58 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

^ what do you mean, use the same headlights???

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 9:13 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 19

Joined: 24th Jan 2008

Location: penrith
NSW, Australia

i mean the actual headlight it self..
not the globes..
because dont the hid''s use a special like lens or somehting.. i dont no to much about them yet..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 12:29 am 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Gotcha....

Most factory HID systems run with a projector headlight (think NC Fairlane, ED/EF/EL XRs) they're by far the easiest to setup with the correct beam pattern for a HID bulb. Also factory systems have to have a washer jet and a beam self leveling system fitted.

Now for us, while not legal, you can fit HID bulbs into 'regular' reflector style headlights, and by adjusting the aim, prevent glare for oncoming drivers. This is important as HIDs are easily 3x brighter than the norm, so you don't want to be blinding oncoming traffic. Aim the down and inwards a bit to prevent that.

I've had HIDs in my EL and now the BF for over three years, never been in any trouble (got pulled over enough times, the coppers never minded), and have rarely been flashed by oncomers (usually involving a bad angle on a hill or something).

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 7:34 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

data_mine wrote:
I've had HIDs in my EL and now the BF for over three years, never been in any trouble (got pulled over enough times, the coppers never minded), and have rarely been flashed by oncomers (usually involving a bad angle on a hill or something).
That is my experience as well. I went for 4300K so as not to draw attention and also went for BiXenon so the High beam is instantly available by beam tilt.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 4:41 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

twason wrote:
also went for BiXenon so the High beam is instantly available by beam tilt.


That's fine for the H4 bulbs, but the extra high beam bulbs, keep them regular, as already mentioned flashing the HIDs isn't good for them.

The hi/lo H4's accomplish the high by re-focusing the bulb within the unit so you're not flashing it as such, and the change in angle is (depending on the type) near instant, or rather quick. I've had motorised ones on the past that provided a visible, refocusing of the beam, as it moved the bulb into it's new position, the runs I'm currently running, use a solenoid, so the change over is near instant (and from the outside of the car, sounds like a hefty power relay clicking on/off).

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 10:12 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 19

Joined: 24th Jan 2008

Location: penrith
NSW, Australia

hey.. thanx heaps for the advice im startin to get a better understanding now..
yeh i heard that u needed a headlight washer n stuff.
but my dad has a mazda 6. and that comes factory fitted with hids.
but it doesnt come with the wahsers..
and i work for toyota.. and its only the top of the range aurions and corollas that have the wahsers.. the lower range ones habe no washers yet they still have hids..
so once the hids are in.. its the same as adjusting a normal halogen globe..
cause i got a headlight adjuster at work..
the only thing i need to no now is how to wire the hids up??
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 11:55 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names