Fordmods Logo

How do you change the power ariel? 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 28 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
Posted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 7:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

Na seriously i had to lol, my car is alot lower at the front so i had to. tried moving the wheel the opposite ways etc didnt help at all, arms are too big i guess :roll:

I wasnt too concerned thou still only took me 30mintues. And the aerial that i got looks sic, its a low profile so you can put the whole thing down so it looks like you dont hav an aerial at all.

Well i think it looks better that way :P

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 7:45 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 823

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: BF Falcon SR

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Funny that.. Ijust finished my power aerial conversion just then... I jump on FM and there is a post how to do it...

hehe.

By the way mine cost $97... from supercheap using the 20% discount you get when you sign up to the online newsletter

 

_________________

Proud owner of one of very few BF SR manual (June 06 build) :)

Nothing really says thankyou like a dollar in the waistband

[BLEMIN]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/782173

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:25 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

just jack up the front left and leave wheel on! if you still cant get in you must have arms like popye lol.....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 9:44 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

joolz wrote:
just jack up the front left and leave wheel on! if you still cant get in you must have arms like popye lol.....


I must have lol, i couldnt even get my arms in to remove the splash shield!!! :roll:

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 10:51 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

Whats so hard about taking a wheel off? Makes the job a hell of a lot easier.

I'd hate to see you guys on the side of the road with a flat.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 617

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: AU III XR8 347ci

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

madmax wrote:
Whats so hard about taking a wheel off? Makes the job a hell of a lot easier.

I'd hate to see you guys on the side of the road with a flat.


LOL! :shock: :lol:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 2:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

Na hes right thou, its a 10 mintue job if that. Its not like it takes up your whole afternoon to remove a tyre. :roll:

30 minutes to put in a manual aerial including removing the tyre not a bad effort :)

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 9:56 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 120

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: 07 BFII XR6 Turbo

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

madmax wrote:
Whats so hard about taking a wheel off? Makes the job a hell of a lot easier.

I'd hate to see you guys on the side of the road with a flat.


I dont have any dramas with taking a wheel off.

I have dramas with taking a wheel off my car when I dont have any hard level ground to jack the car up on while I'm doing it. Stupid slanting driveways.

 

_________________

New Car:
'07 BF II XR6 Turbo (stock) in Neo with premium sound and bluetooth.

Old car: ('98 EL Futura)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How do you change the power ariel?
Posted: Tue Apr 27, 2010 1:15 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 407

Joined: 29th May 2008

Ride: Falcon EF GLi

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I have been meaning to change my manual aerial to a semi-auto one for ages now - what is involved in doing a conversion?

 

_________________

EF2 Fairmont Ghia. AU2 engine running EF gear. Intake, exhaust, injection etc; 8" rear stockies with 265/50R15 rubber. Shiftkitted auto, J3, custom grille and dash cluster and lots of other useless crap...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How do you change the power ariel?
Posted: Tue Apr 27, 2010 2:56 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 3045

Joined: 26th Nov 2008

Ride: 1975 XB Falcon 500

Location: In the drivers seat
SA, Australia

Nice 5 year thread mine :lol:

A conversion to an auto ariel should be as easy as bolting the new unit to the same mounting position as the standard ariel and running power to it. Then there is the trigger wire that most aftermarket head decks have an input for.

 

_________________

Image
http://www.facebook.com/Ford1975

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How do you change the power ariel?
Posted: Tue Apr 27, 2010 12:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1634

Joined: 8th Jul 2007

Gallery: 21 images

Ride: EL F100 CAPRI XR EF

Power: 234 rwkw

Location: brighton
SA, Australia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How do you change the power ariel?
Posted: Tue Apr 27, 2010 3:41 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 3045

Joined: 26th Nov 2008

Ride: 1975 XB Falcon 500

Location: In the drivers seat
SA, Australia

:lol: I did not even think to see if we had a doco for that one.

 

_________________

Image
http://www.facebook.com/Ford1975

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How do you change the power ariel?
Posted: Wed Apr 28, 2010 11:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 407

Joined: 29th May 2008

Ride: Falcon EF GLi

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I have got the following bits so far:
Factory aerial button installed in the dash
Green BEM waiting to be installed

What else needs to be done to make a genuine Ford aerial work as intended?

 

_________________

EF2 Fairmont Ghia. AU2 engine running EF gear. Intake, exhaust, injection etc; 8" rear stockies with 265/50R15 rubber. Shiftkitted auto, J3, custom grille and dash cluster and lots of other useless crap...

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:21 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names