Fordmods Logo

replacing Fake chrome strips 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 24 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 10:37 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 26

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon XR6

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

ok then will do cheers madmax. Just one more question, do you just peel the chrome tape off and replace that? Or is the tape actually stuck to a plastic strip which you take off?

Julza

 

_________________

2003 Lightning Strike BA XR6

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 12:39 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 16

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

On the doors you need to take the tape off as the plastic strip is part of the moulding but on the front the plastic strip is attached by doublesided tape. Not sure about back.

Note : the tape took me about 3 hours to remove. It has a top plastic layer which is easy to peel off but the chrome such underneath is a b**ch
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 1:23 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 26

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon XR6

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

ok cool thanks for that geekman

sounds like you had fun ripping your strips off :D haha

Cheers,
Julza

 

_________________

2003 Lightning Strike BA XR6

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: replacing Fake chrome strips
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 12:33 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 59

Posts: 161

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Guildford
NSW, Australia

Quote:
someone must make it if ford use it.. Lets make it a mission to find out.. i am sure most of us here would love to get out hands on it... GOOD POST !

This is a dammed good idea ScottFiske. Have you ever tried getting information from FoMoCo. Their normal response to any question is to go to one of their dealers who will have the right equipment and knowledge to fix the problem .... sounds like it is an advertising channel for the dealerships than a technical service. I am talking about the link on the Ford webpage to the technical people at Ford.

Hey nannas_ed if you have the name or number of the guy you mentioned in your post I would sure like to get it .... my silver stripping is pealing at the ends and the dirt has got under it and looks really s**t. I would love to get it replaced.
:P

Last edited by elusiverunner on Tue Jul 07, 2009 7:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 8:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

geekman wrote:
On the doors you need to take the tape off as the plastic strip is part of the moulding but on the front the plastic strip is attached by doublesided tape. Not sure about back.

Note : the tape took me about 3 hours to remove. It has a top plastic layer which is easy to peel off but the chrome such underneath is a b**ch


He's refering to a EL fairmont. On an EL Fairmont the chrome strip is seperate to the moulding, it is double sided taped in a groove down the centre of the moulding with the ends tucked into the moulding. On these the chrome is not tape it is a thick plastic strip same as on some earlier bumbers, XF etc.

On the EA, EB and ED the chrome or red strip was part of the moulding.

By the way I love the Margaret River region, I was there at christmas. Brought back 4 dozen bottles of wine. :D

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing Fake chrome strips
Posted: Thu May 21, 2009 11:58 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 130

Joined: 21st May 2009

Ride: NL Fairlane Concorde Ghia

Location: Adelaide, SA
SA, Australia

I have an NL Fairlane, same thing the chrome is yuk, was wondering if anyone knows how to remove the whole moulding...

Thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing Fake chrome strips
Posted: Thu May 21, 2009 6:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2515

Joined: 27th Mar 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: FG MkII Xr6t Ute

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

revan8_NL wrote:
I have an NL Fairlane, same thing the chrome is yuk, was wondering if anyone knows how to remove the whole moulding...

Thanks


I have used fishing line before, it's good as it doesn't kill the paint. If it's only the fake chrome that needs replacing you can probably take the stip out by itself if you are careful. I too am in the process of looking for some chrome strips as I picked some of the ghia door strips up and the fake chrome is rank.

 

_________________

EVL098 wrote:
Cramping in the hand from having it on your Wang for an excessive period of time is a definate con.
Seriously do people google "f**k up modifications for Fords owned by Jews" and get linked straight to this site nowadays?

AU,factory fitted tickford kit/IRS, t5,Sports ryder/KYB: gone.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing Fake chrome strips
Posted: Fri May 22, 2009 3:10 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 130

Joined: 21st May 2009

Ride: NL Fairlane Concorde Ghia

Location: Adelaide, SA
SA, Australia

[/quote]

I have used fishing line before, it's good as it doesn't kill the paint. If it's only the fake chrome that needs replacing you can probably take the stip out by itself if you are careful. I too am in the process of looking for some chrome strips as I picked some of the ghia door strips up and the fake chrome is rank.[/quote]


Thanks, Ill give it a shot.
Yeh I want to get rid of the whole moulding chrome and all..

See how it works out
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: replacing Fake chrome strips
Posted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 5:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 1166

Joined: 31st Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: ef falcon, el fairmont ghia

Location: Christchurch
New Zealand

Has anyone found out what can be done to fix this? does it look any good with it removed?
as i have the same prob.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:36 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names