Fordmods Logo

watts linkage q 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: watts linkage q
Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:01 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 47

Posts: 21

Joined: 14th Mar 2008

Ride: eb11

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

how hard is to re doe the watts linkage bushes thank guys :x

 

_________________

ford rule

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:54 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 37

Joined: 19th Nov 2005

Ride: AIT Turbo EA S

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I believe there are a couple that need to be pressed out and the new ones pressed in. Not easy without access to a press.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 11:41 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

heat em up, drill em, use a vice with a socket... any way you can to remove.

New Nolathane ones are seperate pieces and can be installed by 'anyone'

OEM ones need to be pressed in.

Pedders will do this at a price. However they cost more than the 'better' type poly's

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 11:55 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1228

Joined: 5th Mar 2006

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: FALCON EB TURBO, EL XR6

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

yeah not easy but not impossible without a press, just use some large sockets. One the size of the bush (note: not the size of the outside section but the size of the inside section) and one the size of the outside of the watts bar. Throw them in the vice and get turning! once you get the outside part of the bush pushed in as far as you can just clamp the bar in the vice and it should punch out with a hammer and drift bar.

 

_________________

FALCAHOLIC

IF AT FIRST YOU DON'T SUCCEED
DESTROY ALL EVIDENCE THAT YOU EVEN TRIED


Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

I have SuperPro bushes in mine, and I did it in a vice. Piece of p!ss.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

Malakai wrote:
I believe there are a couple that need to be pressed out and the new ones pressed in. Not easy without access to a press.


seen this done with a long bolt two peices of flat bar and a socket the same size as the bush... to put them is pretty much the opposite to removing them.

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 11:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 66

Posts: 2548

Joined: 18th Mar 2006

Ride: EF-XR8chaser

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

just make sure that the diff shaft and bush rotate,my nolathane kit was almost a press fit,had to buff the bore of the steel bush to rotate,the old bushes knock out---as above,assemble all the bits and then do up all the bolts.

 

_________________

R.I.P HANS HARTMAN

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 5:52 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names