Fordmods Logo

XR6/8 headlights... is this normal? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 28 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: XR6/8 headlights... is this normal?
Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 6:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

hey all, i just done the ED XR headlight conversion, however now i have the issue of when i switch from low beam to high beams the low beams switch off... i have been told this is normal but i believe its not suposed to.

when i use the quick high beam flash (pull back on stick) they all go on...

im also chasing some clips that hold the lights in so if anyone has a set let me know.

Image
Image

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 6:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

That's not normal. It should be all four on for high beams.

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 6:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 516

Joined: 3rd Dec 2004

Ride: SZ Titanium & ZG Fairlane

Location: Roxby Downs
SA, Australia

My EL XR8 was doing that. I bought it like that so I thought that was how it was meant to be. After seeing a few cars on here with all of their lights on I took it into ford and got them to replace the stalks. Cost me about $350 and didn't fix it. Ended up being about a $13 relay.

 

_________________

Image
F6 Rspec #139 - Stock Car Racing

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 7:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 527

Joined: 14th Mar 2005

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: ebxr8

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

not normal my eb does the exact same thing after i did my conversion,i haven't yet got around to getting an auto elec. to look at it.if u get it fixed post results on wat and how much as i'd be very interested. :idea:

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 7:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 4182

Joined: 30th May 2005

Ride: 1993 EB XR8

Location: BrisVegas
QLD, Australia

na, all 4 are on for highbeam, and good to see my old bulbs came in handy

 

_________________

ILL60 - EF XR8, Sunroof, Ticky Kit, 19x8.5/19x11 TE37's, 347, AFr185's, TFS BoxRcustom converter, Hurst Quarterstick, huge billet cam.

51TER - DL LTD. Stock.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 7:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2550

Joined: 28th Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF 5 Speed, XH Uterus :P

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

my EF conversion has all 4 on with high beam.

 

_________________

Maloo - Holden's word for ugly.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 8:55 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 50

Posts: 3227

Joined: 12th Feb 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 113 rwkw

Location: your mums
NSW, Australia

on low beam should have the outer lights on, and with high beems all 4

 

_________________

BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 9:05 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 137

Joined: 10th Nov 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: BFII XR6T & ED

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

yeah post up what fixes it.....been curious why mine do the same thing.....might try a relay and see if that solves my problem.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 9:09 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 50

Posts: 3227

Joined: 12th Feb 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 113 rwkw

Location: your mums
NSW, Australia

also is the wireing loom on the lights the one for the right side or are they been swoped around on the healight, say the high beem wires been put in the low beams and so on, also did you put the right globs on the right hole.

sorry just once b4 i had a mate put the wrong glob in a low beam and it ended up powering the high beems instead of the low beems.

 

_________________

BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 11:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

they have all new globes in them. i replaced the low beams with the ones 67RCE gave me (work great cheers.) and i bought the high beams bulbs today from supercheap. i tool the old one with me. the low beams are H1's and high beams are H3 (i chose the 130 watt over the 100 watt) i actually wanted the blue lights for the high beams xennon or something like that as they suposed to be better light but they only came in 55watt and i dont think it would be enough for high beams lol

ill change the relay tomorrow and see if anything changes.

i havnt swapped any wires. its installed how i got it and the low beams are on the outside so they would have to be correct.

i do have a spare XR light loom set here so i might swap them and see how it goes...

im also swapping the indicator stalk as when i flicked high beams on (pulled towards me) they didnt turn off. so once i sort it out ill post what went wrong.

oh and the badges will be getting fixed up. aswell as paint

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 11:40 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread ... ghlight=ED

There ya go, courtesy of John_LS1, eat a souvlaki and say thanks to him.

edit: Whooops, wrong link, thats the right one now.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 12:17 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 50

Posts: 3227

Joined: 12th Feb 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 113 rwkw

Location: your mums
NSW, Australia

Steady ED wrote:
http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=21091&highlight=ED

There ya go, courtesy of John_LS1, eat a souvlaki and say thanks to him.

edit: Whooops, wrong link, thats the right one now.


what i read is they havent finshed sorting out the prob yet

 

_________________

BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 12:25 am 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

John_LS1 wrote:
after looking at The NC Sportsman loom i just pulled out i noticed a diode? pluged into the wiring loom which is located under the coolant bottle, i have seen this plug heaps of times on my car with nothing plugged in there. i also noticed that the low beam relay on the NC was a Blue 5 pin one not a Grey 4 pin like normal.

so i pluged both in and what do you know the high beam worked as normal!

so all that is needed to fix the proble is the diode thing (has a brown top with yellow plug) and a 5 pin relay for the low beams. these can be found on all Fairlanes/LTD's as they are wired up like the XR lights are as they use the same globes.


Image

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 12:30 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 50

Posts: 3227

Joined: 12th Feb 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 113 rwkw

Location: your mums
NSW, Australia

Steady ED wrote:
John_LS1 wrote:
after looking at The NC Sportsman loom i just pulled out i noticed a diode? pluged into the wiring loom which is located under the coolant bottle, i have seen this plug heaps of times on my car with nothing plugged in there. i also noticed that the low beam relay on the NC was a Blue 5 pin one not a Grey 4 pin like normal.

so i pluged both in and what do you know the high beam worked as normal!

so all that is needed to fix the proble is the diode thing (has a brown top with yellow plug) and a 5 pin relay for the low beams. these can be found on all Fairlanes/LTD's as they are wired up like the XR lights are as they use the same globes.


Image


Oops sorry missed that lol .

 

_________________

BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 1:04 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

sweet. first thing tomorrow im off to supercheap for a new relay and hopefully a funny looking relay if i dont have one on my spare loom here

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 12:06 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names