Fordmods Logo

Adding power pedals to BA Fairmont 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Adding power pedals to BA Fairmont
Posted: Sat May 03, 2008 10:45 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 16

Joined: 3rd May 2008

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hello,

I like the idea of power pedals in the BA 2 Fairmont. Are they easy to wire up into a BA Fairmont? How do you go about it?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 04, 2008 12:53 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 11791

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Holden VF Calais / NL FBT

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

Big Job!

Removal of dash to fit the pedal assembly and for factory install would require a change of dash harness.
Thats the hardest part - dissasembling the dash to remove and refit the loom!

Ask Lukeyson!
LOL

 

_________________

Nicko

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 04, 2008 11:25 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1008

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Ride: ED V8

Location: driving under the sun........now!
WA, Australia

I have to ask why??

For me this would be a job where the effort required would far outweigh the 'benefit' at the end. Dash out, looms, pedal boxes, possibly BEM's etc. Sounds like a lot of work.

I had power pedals in my BAII Fairmont Ghia, and they got set as close to the fire wall and were forever left there. Even when my missus drove the car and she is no-where near my 6'3".

I would give it a miss altogether!

........but hey, that's just me, and the wonderful thing about modding your car is that your mods only have to appeal to you!

Good luck!

 

_________________

ED XR8 Spri-mitatio-nt

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 05, 2008 9:54 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

I use tha adjustable pedals in the missus territory all the time. It's just a pity they are not memory pedals.

All my loom swapping was with a manual XR8. I'd love to have adjustable pedals otherwise.

I'm not sure which looms have the power-lines for adjustable pedals. My current guess is all of them since I thought it was an option for everything. There's a sub-harness on the pedal box itself too.

The higher models might have some additional control and feedback lines if they are controlled by the memory module under the seat, so for that you'd need a MontyGhia Drivers Side Main chassis Loom since it's that loom with the connector. C-395 is the connector between the Drivers Side Main Loom and the Pedal Box sub-harness - and looking at it now, it does have some optional pins.

I just had a quick squiz in the BA workshop manual, and while the steering column has to be dropped, fuse box has to be pulled forward and the steering intermediate shaft moved (Got to get under the car for this by the looks of it), it doesn't look like a dash-out is required.

It's funny to see instructions for 'don't pinch your fingers' as you pull out the box. First time I've seen that one!


Lukeyson

 

 

Attachments:
C-395 from WS Manual.gif
C-395 from WS Manual.gif [ 9.49 KiB | Viewed 1208 times ]
File comment: C-395 - this one is from a BF Fairlane.
IMG_3234_WEB.jpg
IMG_3234_WEB.jpg [ 23.86 KiB | Viewed 49 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 06, 2008 10:01 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 16

Joined: 3rd May 2008

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Cool cool.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 06, 2008 10:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 3519

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA XR8, XD Fairmont Ghia

Location: Ferntree Gully
VIC, Australia

we have done this conversion and it isnt a big job, your car will be wired you just fit the pedal box and the switch.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 06, 2008 11:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 11791

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Holden VF Calais / NL FBT

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

xr8 dismantler wrote:
we have done this conversion and it isnt a big job, your car will be wired you just fit the pedal box and the switch.


So what needs to be done - and whats the parts cost from you?

 

_________________

Nicko

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 1:09 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 189

Joined: 5th May 2008

Location: Kununurra
WA, Australia

what exactly are power pedals, sorry my naivity

 

_________________

-- Built Not Bought --

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 1:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

Adjustable brake/accelerator pedals available only on Auto's. The motor pulls them closer or or pushes them furtehr away from the driver. The switch for this when optioned is down in that blank near the igition barrel. On Montys and higher, they are hooked up to the Memory Module under the drivers seat, so that seat, pedal and mirror positions can all be remembered per driver.


Lukeyson
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 7:35 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names