Fordmods Logo

Aircon??? 

 

Page 2 of 3 [ 43 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: Re: Aircon???
Posted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 7:40 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 8

Joined: 25th Oct 2006

Ride: AUII

Location: Broken Hill
NSW, Australia

Thanks, I will get one from the dealer tomorrow, cheers. :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Aircon???
Posted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 10:18 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 15

Joined: 24th Nov 2012

Ride: XR8 ute

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

bondy99 wrote:
Aircon compressor works ok and cycles correctly . I may still have a blockage inside the vehicle as I dont seem to get a good flow of cold air at fan speed 4.

Aircon compressor is heard switching on and off however the aircon light stays lit even when compressor's clutch is momentarily disengaged. Is that normal?

The only time the aircon light goes off is when you depress the switch.

Fan speed set on speed 2 is just noticeable.

Someone suggested the heater valve might not be shut properly. Heater valve appears to work correctly when changing from blue (cold) temp to red (hot) temp.


The A/C light is meant to stay on the whole time, just like any other car.
AU's don't have a TX valve, they use an orifice valve, with is what the filter sits in front of.

Without a set of manifold gauges to read high/low system pressures, you really do need to take it back to a decent A/C specialist, as others have mentioned.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Aircon???
Posted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 12:15 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 58

Posts: 913

Joined: 13th Sep 2010

Ride: Ford Falcon AU 2000 Series II

Location: Eagleby
QLD, Australia

Still have a problem with my fan blower.

Can anyone tell me whether the fan is suppose to make a loud noise , (not rattling or bearing noise), should have a lot more cod air come out, on some occasions, especially very hot days, hardly any cold air comes out (whilst driving), when this happens, I noticed minute whispers of steam come through the outlet vents in front console.

Cheers, Bondy99
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Aircon???
Posted: Sat Nov 01, 2014 10:01 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Posts: 453

Joined: 13th Jul 2013

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

verify compressor is switching on - verify condensor fan operates with a/c on - feel large pipe into firewall from compressor should be cold - block heater hose off temporarily and retest a/c - check for blocked air inlet to fan motor - mist is probably condensation - fan bearing may be siezing - air mix door may be not be switching correctly
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Aircon???
Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2014 12:27 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 58

Posts: 913

Joined: 13th Sep 2010

Ride: Ford Falcon AU 2000 Series II

Location: Eagleby
QLD, Australia

TedW,

Thanks for that info, I have done those steps earlier , it's not doing it all the time.

I don't know about the history as in air conditioning service of this car as I purchased it second hand.

I've had the vehicle for about 4 years and never had a service done. I have taken this vehicle to a couple of auto aircon service centres, 3 of them said there appears to be a blockage but don't know where.

Only way to tell is to strip the entire unit, $2,500.00 to find the cause I was quoted. Bloody robbers I think.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Aircon???
Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2014 8:14 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 71

Posts: 12

Joined: 9th Nov 2014

Ride: au falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

having the same problem I am AC mechanic. I am sure it is an air flow problem am thinking it may have got some junk over the evaporator between the fan and the outlets. The heater also is inefficient . So have to try and drop the fan body so I can get the camera in to look at the evaporator fins.. Any one else had the fan out of an AU ???
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Aircon???
Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2014 8:49 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14507

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

the whole dash and heater box has to come out to access the fan and evaperator
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Aircon???
Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2014 10:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 58

Posts: 913

Joined: 13th Sep 2010

Ride: Ford Falcon AU 2000 Series II

Location: Eagleby
QLD, Australia

Sounds like a big job and time consuming.

I'd be keen to do this myself but not having done this in the past I might end up breaking or snapping a component.

Is there a particular diagram or instruction guide that covers Ford AUII? Cant find anything useful in Max Ellery EP.F042 or Gregorys No 274 repair manuals.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Aircon???
Posted: Wed Feb 25, 2015 8:24 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 8

Joined: 25th Oct 2006

Ride: AUII

Location: Broken Hill
NSW, Australia

Hi guys, I sorted my air con problem by replacing the condenser. It was severely blocked and is a common problem and it should have been replaced along with the orrifice tube whenever the compressor has to be replaced. Just to be safe I also replaced the accumulator while the system was being re serviced so hopefully the system will be good for another 12+ years. Hope this is of some help to others with similar problems. Cheers! 8-)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Aircon???
Posted: Wed Feb 25, 2015 9:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 58

Posts: 913

Joined: 13th Sep 2010

Ride: Ford Falcon AU 2000 Series II

Location: Eagleby
QLD, Australia

ravkl

Thanks for the update, I'll definitely be replacing mine no worries.

I've been looking on ebay for a receiver/drier to suit my Ford AUII.

They seem to look the same.

Can anyone let me know which would be the correct one for my vehicle?

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Aircon???
Posted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 11:27 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 1000482

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

my671fordv8 wrote:
Just wondering . Do you have the problem where the light on the aircon control flicks on and off ? . Because if you do it could be because your aircon is going in between on and off . It was happening in my car till i fixed the switch , i was getting the same thing with the mist .



how u fix the switch this is my issue, no mist, the aircon works great just the switch goes on and off and turns the compressor on/off PITA

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Aircon???
Posted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 11:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 58

Posts: 913

Joined: 13th Sep 2010

Ride: Ford Falcon AU 2000 Series II

Location: Eagleby
QLD, Australia

Fortunate for me, I don't have not experienced that problem.

I'm sure someone may have and could let you know to resolve it.

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Aircon???
Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 3:00 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 19

Joined: 4th Jan 2011

Ride: au fairmont ghia

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

Hi all AU2 fairmont ghia, air con is cold. But rattle like a leaves in fan noise ? Has any one taken the dash out to change the cabin filter, as im getting low fan air pressure, so thinking filter inlet must be gunked up ? The air pressure is definitely lower than a few years ago. thanks in advance. cheers. or will the fan age and work slower? or just stop lol
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Aircon???
Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 3:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 58

Posts: 913

Joined: 13th Sep 2010

Ride: Ford Falcon AU 2000 Series II

Location: Eagleby
QLD, Australia

@ tylee

I'm experiencing the same problem before and still do.

Interesting to know how to remedy it.

Bondy
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Aircon???
Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 3:37 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 59

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

tytee wrote:
Hi all AU2 fairmont ghia, air con is cold. But rattle like a leaves in fan noise ? Has any one taken the dash out to change the cabin filter, as im getting low fan air pressure, so thinking filter inlet must be gunked up ? The air pressure is definitely lower than a few years ago. thanks in advance. cheers. or will the fan age and work slower? or just stop lol


AU's don't have a cabin filter.

 

_________________

SWC

South West Customs


Members of the SWC Stable, fordebgt93, TROYMAN, Benj, svo_matt, Mrs C, eb_fairmont, Total_tool, Terroristghia

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 3  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Mar 25, 2017 7:08 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names