Fordmods Logo

Fordmods Advertising

Aircon??? 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 43 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: Aircon???
Posted: Mon Oct 15, 2012 8:38 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 57

Posts: 909

Joined: 13th Sep 2010

Ride: Ford Falcon AU 2000 Series II

Location: Eagleby
QLD, Australia

G'day,

Can anyone provide an answer as to what the problem might be.

I have an AUII built June 2000. I have had this car for about 2 years. I've had the aircon running on occassions when needed. It seemed like I was getting not enough cold air inside the car even though the fan setting was placed at speed number 4. On about 3 hot days, I was not getting any cold air inside the vehicle so naturally I had the windows down otherwise too hot in the car.

Switched aircon on and noticed steamy mist coming out of the central vents, still no cold air, cold air eventually came back on after a period of time.

I took the car to 3 different aircon techs all came back with some story about aircon has too much head pressure or some type of blockage or restriction.

I dont have thousands of dollars or even hundreds of dollars for them to pull the car apart to find the problem. I wonder if they are trying to fleece me. I reside in Brisbane area. I might be low on gas but hard to say as there is no sight glass on the accumulator. I can feel one line hot, the other line cold by hand.

Any suggestions or people having similar issues and how it was solved is welcome.

Thanks, Peter
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Aircon???
Posted: Mon Oct 15, 2012 8:48 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 143

Joined: 8th Sep 2010

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Just wondering . Do you have the problem where the light on the aircon control flicks on and off ? . Because if you do it could be because your aircon is going in between on and off . It was happening in my car till i fixed the switch , i was getting the same thing with the mist .
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Aircon???
Posted: Tue Oct 16, 2012 12:41 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 57

Posts: 909

Joined: 13th Sep 2010

Ride: Ford Falcon AU 2000 Series II

Location: Eagleby
QLD, Australia

Hello my671fordv8

No, never had the problem of light flickering, it always remains on until I depress it to switch off.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Aircon???
Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 12:18 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 57

Posts: 909

Joined: 13th Sep 2010

Ride: Ford Falcon AU 2000 Series II

Location: Eagleby
QLD, Australia

i'm still stumped as to what the problem is.

Is there any truth that the accumulator....receiver/drier needs to be replaced at a certain mileage or is another con job by the aircon people to sell you a product.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Aircon???
Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 12:31 am 
NSW Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 7330

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: TE50

Location: ɹǝpun uʍop
NSW, Australia

I had the exact same issue as you, I took it to a air con specialist, AU aircon systems have a stick type filter that is inline.

These block up over time. They have to be replaced. Some places will try and clean them but replacement is the only option. The system needs to be drained, the filter can then be removed and replaced. Then the system can be repressurised.

Any aircon specialist worth their salt will easily do a bang up job for you. The AU aircon system, fortunately is quite simple, unfortunately, some people are even more simple than the systems they try and work on.

ALSO a good aircon tech will be able to accurately diagnose and quote you, a s**t one will just start changing stuff out at your expense.

 

_________________

Image

I have a car.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Aircon???
Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 1:08 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 57

Posts: 909

Joined: 13th Sep 2010

Ride: Ford Falcon AU 2000 Series II

Location: Eagleby
QLD, Australia

dc_todd,

Thanks mate, I have not heard of that before i.e. aU aircon systems have a stick type filter that's inline.

Maybe that's what those aircon places I took my car to might have been talking about but would not say it as it was...all three of those places said they had to take the whole system apart and keep the car for 2 days to find the blockage...big bickies was quoted, more than what I paid for the car.

Would you know if this stick type inline filter is situated in the engine bay or somewhere inside the car as I'm curious to know where it's located

Thanks, Peter
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Aircon???
Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 6:47 am 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14502

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

afaik the inline capilery filter is inside the pipe on the passenger side inerguard near the airbox just behind the join in the pipe.. had this replaced on the mrs old au..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Aircon???
Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 8:26 am 
NSW Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 7330

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: TE50

Location: ɹǝpun uʍop
NSW, Australia

TROYMAN wrote:
afaik the inline capilery filter is inside the pipe on the passenger side inerguard near the airbox just behind the join in the pipe.. had this replaced on the mrs old au..


Correct, takes about 1/2 hour with them, set me back about $130 total

 

_________________

Image

I have a car.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Aircon???
Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 11:25 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 52

Posts: 5506

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

bondy99 wrote:
I might be low on gas but hard to say as there is no sight glass on the accumulator. I can feel one line hot, the other line cold by hand.
The sight glass is pretty much useless with R134A refridgerant - with the old R12 you could see bubbles which were an indication of low gas.
bondy99 wrote:
Is there any truth that the accumulator....receiver/drier needs to be replaced at a certain mileage or is another con job by the aircon people to sell you a product.
Nah, that's a fair call - receiver/drier should be changed every few years - they serve as a filter and moisture trap. Check Ebay, you can get ones cheaper delivered than what you get quoted.
Warm your engine a bit, so thermo fans will come on with A/C - condenser needs the airflow. Turn on A/C at max - watch the compressor clutch stays engaged, after a few minutes, the compressor inlet pipe and evaporator outlet pipes (near the TX valve) sections should get cold and have condensation.

If not, and if the other pipes are hot, then you may have a restriction or low gas.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Aircon???
Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 11:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 57

Posts: 909

Joined: 13th Sep 2010

Ride: Ford Falcon AU 2000 Series II

Location: Eagleby
QLD, Australia

Thanks snap0964, Troyman and dc_todd.

Much appreciate your guidance on this topic.

Where abouts would the TX Valve be located?

Thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Aircon???
Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2012 1:12 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 52

Posts: 5506

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

TX valve meters the refrigerant feed into the evaporator (it's a liquid at this stage), once in the evaporator, it boils and changes state to a gas - it absorbs heat, so hence the cooling.

The TX valve is near the firewall - has a bellows and capillary tube. The return pipe between the evaporator and compressor should get cool at both ends - the condensation I mentioned.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Aircon???
Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2012 1:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 57

Posts: 909

Joined: 13th Sep 2010

Ride: Ford Falcon AU 2000 Series II

Location: Eagleby
QLD, Australia

snap0964

Thanks for the info on location of TX Valve and its' function.

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Aircon???
Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2012 1:08 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 57

Posts: 909

Joined: 13th Sep 2010

Ride: Ford Falcon AU 2000 Series II

Location: Eagleby
QLD, Australia

Aircon compressor works ok and cycles correctly . I may still have a blockage inside the vehicle as I dont seem to get a good flow of cold air at fan speed 4.

Aircon compressor is heard switching on and off however the aircon light stays lit even when compressor's clutch is momentarily disengaged. Is that normal?

The only time the aircon light goes off is when you depress the switch.

Fan speed set on speed 2 is just noticeable.

Someone suggested the heater valve might not be shut properly. Heater valve appears to work correctly when changing from blue (cold) temp to red (hot) temp.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Aircon???
Posted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 12:59 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 8

Joined: 25th Oct 2006

Ride: AUII

Location: Broken Hill
NSW, Australia

Hi, I have had the tube replaced and a new compressor put in but the air con still seems to be not working at 100%. is there a thermostat switch in the system of an AU Series 2 (2000 model) or even though the light is on in the switch could the switch be faulty, Hoping for some help, Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Aircon???
Posted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 2:59 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 70

Joined: 6th Sep 2005

Ride: AU II Fairlane

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Hey mate, there are 2 swtiches near the compressor that might be the issue one is the the A/C pressure swtich (high side) and the other i cant remember the name of is next to it. replace both i bought the pressure switch through supercheap for $140 and the $5 for the other one from a wreckers.if you have changed the recierver/dryer and the oriface tube then the only thing that i can think of that is stuffing up is the pressure switch. the part number is PS4652 for the pressure switch.

Hope this helps

 

_________________

AU II Fairlane Ghia 180 hp@ the wheels, Pacemaker 4499, RedBack 2.5", stock CAT, CAI, Lovells low's. More to come

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Jan 19, 2017 5:35 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names