Fordmods Logo

Ammeter wiring 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Ammeter wiring
Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2006 9:48 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 11103

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: AU III XR8 Pursuit 250 ute

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

How are ammeters wired up?
Is it just positive of battery to Negitive of alternator?
And is there no way around using big thick heavy cable for it?

 

_________________

Heaps of performance EF/L parts for sale, including supercharged VCT motor!

2002 Ford AU Series III Falcon XR8 Pursuit 250 ute - 5.6L of V8 Windsor!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2006 10:47 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

Yeah i reckon you've go it.

http://www.houlihane.co.uk/amps.htm

I would suggest heavy guage wiring is appropriate unless you get an expensive system which takes a reading and relays this information to the gauge (as opposed to this system where the gauge takes the reading itself).

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2006 1:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2449

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EB-s

Location: Manjimup
WA, Australia

Voltmeters measure potential difference between two points, so you'd put that across your two battery terminals or whatever. Amp meters measure flow, and so you must cut the charge wire from the alternator, and place the ampmeter where you cut the line. Year twelve physics or something? I'm sure i passed :D

 

_________________

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2006 3:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 1494

Joined: 1st Dec 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: BA MkII XT Wagon

Location: Maitland
NSW, Australia

yea thats bout right

ammeters are meant to be in series with the circuit
voltmeters are in parallel with the circuit!

basic stuff for a sparky! :D

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2280

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Falcon 95

Location: Rosebud
VIC, Australia

100% correct.

ammeters have very little resistance, voltmeters have a greater resistance, therefore ammeters go in series so as not to short anything out, and volt meters in parallel.

 

_________________

Cougar Zero makes my pants fit nice.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2006 5:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2449

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EB-s

Location: Manjimup
WA, Australia

Well, that may be the case. But ammeters measure flow. And you cant measure flow by comparing to different points. It needs to be in line with the electricity. To measure volts, its a potential difference. So the amount of difference between two points. If in line with the flow of electricity, there will be no difference!

 

_________________

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 3:23 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names