Fordmods Logo

AU RADIO CODE???? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 26 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: AU RADIO CODE????
Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 3:16 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 13

Joined: 8th Oct 2006

Ride: AU FALCON

Location: gympie
QLD, Australia

Hi, Can anyone tell me the code for an AU radio cass player. I replaced the globes in the radio and after refitting it to the dash I now need a code to make it work. I rang Ford, they say I have to come in in person to get code,(not convenient for me)maybe something to do with $10 code retrieval fee I rekon.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 3:39 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 2245

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA XR6T

Location: Bayswater
VIC, Australia

hmm, ive never heard of any dealerships charging you for the code. i think its more of a security measure. probably dont want to give you the code over the phone incase you just nicked it out of somebodies car!

i think leroy on here works at ford and might be able to get them for you?
pm him and ask

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 3:44 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 13

Joined: 8th Oct 2006

Ride: AU FALCON

Location: gympie
QLD, Australia

you would have to be rather smart to fit this poxy radio to another car and they want the $10 for code. just checked again as i couldnt believe it either
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 3:47 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 13

Joined: 8th Oct 2006

Ride: AU FALCON

Location: gympie
QLD, Australia

will check with leroy though as any help is appreciated, thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 4:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

Mash85 wrote:
hmm, ive never heard of any dealerships charging you for the code. i think its more of a security measure. probably dont want to give you the code over the phone incase you just nicked it out of somebodies car!

i think leroy on here works at ford and might be able to get them for you?
pm him and ask


Wignals in Frankston charge $20 for a radio code. The reason they want you there in person, is they want to see the VIN number on the car and your ownership (rego) papers.

Without these measures the radio code would have no security benefit at all.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 4:28 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 2245

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA XR6T

Location: Bayswater
VIC, Australia

madmax wrote:
Wignals in Frankston charge $20 for a radio code.


faarrk thats a bit steep!

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 5:30 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 13

Joined: 8th Oct 2006

Ride: AU FALCON

Location: gympie
QLD, Australia

ok will front up monday morning with all the necesseties in the ex cab au (550 k on the clock and still going strong)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 3794

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: Hilux

Location: Mornington
VIC, Australia

pm me your vin i will try get it for you tomorrow.

and yeah we usually charge about $10. mainly becuase of the time and the software charges though.

 

_________________

Now driving a Hilux

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 7:49 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 13

Joined: 8th Oct 2006

Ride: AU FALCON

Location: gympie
QLD, Australia

pmed vin to Leroy but since then it has been played with and now instead of saying code in display, it says err. anyone know fix??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 7:52 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 13

Joined: 8th Oct 2006

Ride: AU FALCON

Location: gympie
QLD, Australia

Troublesome unit, I would put a cd player in but I like the controls on the steering wheel.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 7:52 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 2245

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA XR6T

Location: Bayswater
VIC, Australia

i think you just have to leave it for a while now?

its another security feature, if you punch in the wrong code so many times, it eventually shuts itself off for a while.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 7:58 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 13

Joined: 8th Oct 2006

Ride: AU FALCON

Location: gympie
QLD, Australia

year trying that now,I tried leaving it unpluged for 5 mins allready but that didn't work so will leave for couple of hours or all night and see what happens.ta
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 8:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 3794

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: Hilux

Location: Mornington
VIC, Australia

you have to leave the car switched on but cant drive it or anything. evertually the err will go away and say code again.
could be half an hour.

 

_________________

Now driving a Hilux

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 8:21 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 13

Joined: 8th Oct 2006

Ride: AU FALCON

Location: gympie
QLD, Australia

onya thanks will let you know how it goes
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 8:22 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 13

Joined: 8th Oct 2006

Ride: AU FALCON

Location: gympie
QLD, Australia

hang on do you mean ignition on, dash lights on?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:13 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names