Fordmods Logo

Fordmods Advertising

BA Aircon Stuck On WTF 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 22 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: BA Aircon Stuck On WTF
Posted: Thu May 27, 2010 2:24 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 324

Joined: 23rd Apr 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: EF II TickMont, BA XR6T

Location: Adelaide - Whyalla
SA, Australia

currently got an issue with my aircon, the fans are stuck on flat out and i cant turn it down or OFF,
with the Key off and out the fans are still blowing, only way to stop it is pulling the AC 40 amp fuse

WTF is goin on, auto electrician told me its roughly 1200$ to fix buy fitting some new moduel
its a manual aircon not climate control


Please help :(

 

_________________

Current Ride - Phantom BA XR6 Turbo
EF II Fairmont Tickford Optioned, J3 Chip, Converted To 5 Speed
R.I.P. Nelly .... My NL V8 Fairlane..... Totaled by a kombivan

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Aircon Stuck On WTF
Posted: Thu May 27, 2010 8:59 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 155

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: EB Fairmont Turbo

Location: Wynyard
TAS, Australia

This problem can be caused by a short circuit in the engine cooling fan circuit,
Water ingress into the cooling fan conector ( Located in front of the air filter ) causes a short circuit,
this backfeeds from the cooling fan power supply into the ignition circuit.
When Heater, Ventilation, Air Conditioner integration Module (HIM ) sees an ignition voltage without a CAN communication, it turns the heater fan on as a default mode,

HOW TO FIX

Dry any moisture from the connector and seal the connector with sealant,

 

_________________

EB 2,Turbo EL Motor, Momo Wheel, Cam, Fuel preasure reg, LSD, Color coded boot garnish 17" wheels, Lowered, Shift kit, Slotted & cross Drilled Brakes, AU fuel injectors, & more to come

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Aircon Stuck On WTF
Posted: Thu May 27, 2010 9:10 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 124

Joined: 5th Apr 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: FB wagon

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

sounds like the HIM module needs to be replaced. Dash out job unfortunately. It's a common problem I've had to fix a few that have done the same thing.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Aircon Stuck On WTF
Posted: Thu May 27, 2010 12:49 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 324

Joined: 23rd Apr 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: EF II TickMont, BA XR6T

Location: Adelaide - Whyalla
SA, Australia

ll it has been pretty wet for the last few days so i hope its just a connection fault
about to go check it all out now

what a HIM Module price wise? and is it something guenuine fraud or can i pick it up from else where ?

Cheers

 

_________________

Current Ride - Phantom BA XR6 Turbo
EF II Fairmont Tickford Optioned, J3 Chip, Converted To 5 Speed
R.I.P. Nelly .... My NL V8 Fairlane..... Totaled by a kombivan

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Aircon Stuck On WTF
Posted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 10:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 929

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: EB SXR6 | ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Tezza393 wrote:
ll it has been pretty wet for the last few days so i hope its just a connection fault
about to go check it all out now

what a HIM Module price wise? and is it something guenuine fraud or can i pick it up from else where ?

Cheers



how did you go with this mate?

 

_________________

EB SXR6. ED XR8 Sprint.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Aircon Stuck On WTF
Posted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 10:46 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 324

Joined: 23rd Apr 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: EF II TickMont, BA XR6T

Location: Adelaide - Whyalla
SA, Australia

for the moment, the aircon is disconected, its a pain really, tried a few fixes but the module must be cactus,
checked every plug in the front just to be sure and all connections are good

still lookin for a new module, does anyone know if you have to buy a certain type for the car or is it one module type for manual aircons?

also does anyone know any good places to get it done in adelaide

Cheers

 

_________________

Current Ride - Phantom BA XR6 Turbo
EF II Fairmont Tickford Optioned, J3 Chip, Converted To 5 Speed
R.I.P. Nelly .... My NL V8 Fairlane..... Totaled by a kombivan

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Aircon Stuck On WTF
Posted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 11:02 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 186

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 1997 EL Fairmont,2008 FG G6E

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

One HIM module for all BA,BF,FG Falcons. They are suppose to be revised now.

Part Number is BG19H616A i can't remember the price on them but it's a expensive part. If you have to do a HIM module your better of replacing the heater shaft at the same time.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Aircon Stuck On WTF
Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 9:30 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 2

Joined: 11th Jun 2010

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

You Have to change the hIM module.....only ford can change it...bec after changing the thing you have to reprograme it....if the reprograming is not done the car will not start...and for the reprogramming to occure you will need 2 keys....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Aircon Stuck On WTF
Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 9:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 19

Posts: 613

Joined: 13th Mar 2010

Ride: EF Falcon Monti

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

i was told by a bloke who use to work for ford in service that if the main fuse in the engine bay was blown the fans would stay on even after the ignition is turned off :?

 

_________________

BANNED USER

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Aircon Stuck On WTF
Posted: Sat Jun 12, 2010 12:08 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 324

Joined: 23rd Apr 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: EF II TickMont, BA XR6T

Location: Adelaide - Whyalla
SA, Australia

well if Fraud can only change it then ill have to wait and see, The HIM was Disconected, the car did start without it, just without the two main conector plugs the CD player wouldnt work, so i plugged the HIM back in and just pull the main A/C fan fuse and put it back in when i need the heater

ive had two quotes on replacing the HIM but their both around the 1200$ mark
ive never had so much trouble with a car, stoopid fraud crap fallin apart after 5 years, nothing is made to last anymore

 

_________________

Current Ride - Phantom BA XR6 Turbo
EF II Fairmont Tickford Optioned, J3 Chip, Converted To 5 Speed
R.I.P. Nelly .... My NL V8 Fairlane..... Totaled by a kombivan

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Aircon Stuck On WTF
Posted: Mon Jun 14, 2010 1:44 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 2

Joined: 11th Jun 2010

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I have had the same problem twice....1st i didn't fix....Second I changed the radio including the HIM module and reprogramed it.....the radio that bought was from a wrecker.....came with the module.....and the car is still on the road....and worst thing it's a taxi......so I can assure changing the thing will fix the problem as the taxis are on road 24/7.....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Aircon Stuck On WTF
Posted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 10:20 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 56

Posts: 27

Joined: 28th Jun 2008

Ride: Fairlane G220

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

I have a problem with the HIM module in my BA Fairlane G220 and I was also told that only Ford can replace it. CoolDrive Distribution has a kit that also includes the drive shafts (for singl and dual systems), so it appears that one does not need Ford to do it. However, one of my clients is my local Ford Dealer and I will be talking to them about clues as to rectifying such problems.
Two weeks ago the HVAC (I assumed) made a few clunking noises and later I found out (from the missus) that heat was not happening on her side. Now I was warm, but so was my left ear, so this must be rectified. If the HIM unit is $700 and labour to remove the dash is $1000, I will keep digging till I find a way to do it myself. Any clues from you clever fellows out there would be very much appreciated.

 

_________________

Regards from Frasier220
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Aircon Stuck On WTF
Posted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 7:48 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 124

Joined: 5th Apr 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: FB wagon

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

The Him module itself is easy to replace. anyone with a bit of mechanical experience can do it. the actual him modules are the same for single zone and duel zone they are just programmed to suit. The IDS program allows the user to choose between single zone with A/C without A/C and duel zone. It takes about an Hour to change the module and about 10-15 mins to program it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Aircon Stuck On WTF
Posted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 8:31 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 3409

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

The new HIM caused the old man some problems... I was in his work place one day he was working on an FG...

With the old one, You had to load its personality into the IDS, plug the new one in (old design), put the personality back into it and program the body module to it...

The new model will not take the personality out of the old one, he had to fit the new one, read it's personality and then load its own personality back into it again and program to the body module... Took him ages to figure it out and had to ring Ford in the end... God knows whether the new ones are any better or not than the old ones... Test of time will tell... The HIM in the FG can be changed without taking the dash out, this wasn't the case with the BA's was it? The dash had to come out?

Cheers,
Tim

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Aircon Stuck On WTF
Posted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 11:24 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 56

Posts: 27

Joined: 28th Jun 2008

Ride: Fairlane G220

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

Wow, you are talking another language guys!. What's IDS? What do you mean by "personality"? Surely there is someone out there who can explain in simple terms, how to replace such a unit, and program it. There is obviously some process to access the car's computer and program the replacement unit, yes? Pretend I do not know what yopu are talking about and then explain. Humbly yours,

 

_________________

Regards from Frasier220
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 1:26 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names