Fordmods Logo

BA - CarPC 

 

Page 9 of 12 [ 170 posts ] Go to page Previous  1 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12  Next

 
 Post subject: Re: BA - CarPC
Posted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 9:21 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 50

Posts: 38

Joined: 28th May 2007

Ride: F6 Tornado

Location: Melbourne, Australia
VIC, Australia

auMatt wrote:
Im more interested in the CAN AVR. Wouldnt mind setting up a unit to simulate a way to test the clusters etc and then going further.


Yep, my plan is to totally replace the ICC/head unit with the micro, should be doable. Thanx to Luke's (and others) exhaustive testing of the existing ICC, we have most likely all data that needs to be programmed to such a micro to take care of all ICC functions, including the climate control.

Will open real doors for the carputer enthusiasts, and ample room for decent displays, which is the must in any carputer setup.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA - CarPC
Posted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:37 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 50

Posts: 38

Joined: 28th May 2007

Ride: F6 Tornado

Location: Melbourne, Australia
VIC, Australia

And?

Did you get the M2-ATX? PC up and running yet?

[/curious mode off]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA - CarPC
Posted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 10:12 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

The PC is running yeah, but M2-ATX is still in customs, so it's still on the bench.

I don't know what the story is with customs - or if it's that (hopeless) Australian Mini-box garage-based distributor. I'll give it another week and then just buy one of those M2-ATX clones off eBay.


Lukeyson
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA - CarPC
Posted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 4:07 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 50

Posts: 38

Joined: 28th May 2007

Ride: F6 Tornado

Location: Melbourne, Australia
VIC, Australia

Heya Luke,
If you need one urgently, I can send you my spare and you can replace it when convenient ;)

Keep me posted.

Br,
MrBean
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA - CarPC
Posted: Sun Mar 01, 2009 10:25 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

Thanks for the offer. I'll soldier on for now.

I came across some new bits today that could prove useful:

Bluetooth Keyboard: http://usb.brando.com.hk/prod_detail.ph ... cat_id=036

Or maybe just a small USB Keyboard?: http://usb.brando.com.hk/prod_detail.ph ... cat_id=034

Short SATA Cable: http://usb.brando.com.hk/prod_detail.ph ... cat_id=032


Lukeyson
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA - CarPC
Posted: Sun Mar 01, 2009 3:55 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 50

Posts: 38

Joined: 28th May 2007

Ride: F6 Tornado

Location: Melbourne, Australia
VIC, Australia

Hey, no worries - keep me posted, I have one spare of you get screwed over by Customs.

Have a looky here, Logitech DiNovo Mini, just another option for a very decent BT keyboard.

I have a few different BT keyboards, and the DiNovo for carputer use by far my favorite. Maybe you like it too, give it a once-over.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA - CarPC
Posted: Sun Mar 01, 2009 4:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

The DiNovo is on that Chinese website too. It must be the 'Lambourghini Keyboard' option because...

The Bluetooth Mini KB is $39USD
The Wireless Illuminated Mini KB is $47USD
The USB Mini KB is $22USD
The DiNovo is - wait for it - $145USD!!!!

I'd need some convincing......!


Lukeyson
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA - CarPC
Posted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 9:22 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 50

Posts: 38

Joined: 28th May 2007

Ride: F6 Tornado

Location: Melbourne, Australia
VIC, Australia

Hehe - good one ;)

Once you've tried it though, you won't use anything else again. Question is if you will use it a fair bit, or just every so often - in that case, go for the cheaper versions.

Else, the DiNovo.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA - CarPC
Posted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 9:29 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

I hate the DiNovo's, I prefer a 'clicky' keyboard.

Currently using a 'Das Keyboard Ultimate'

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA - CarPC
Posted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 1:23 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 50

Posts: 38

Joined: 28th May 2007

Ride: F6 Tornado

Location: Melbourne, Australia
VIC, Australia

@ Datamine: Hey, that's not fair - the DasGeek is for ultimate geeks, I'm just a geek :(

Erm....I mean the DasKeyboard Ultimate is for geeks...er...whatever, you know what I mean...lol

What makes the DiNovo handy is that I picked up a very decent little neoprene pouch for it last time in Bangkok, fits like a glove, and protects the kb very well - small, out of the way, fits in the door side-pocket.

But yeah, those DasKeyboards are pretty nice, especially the ones without the lettering.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA - CarPC
Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 12:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

http://www.virtualvillage.co.uk/Items/0 ... %20Display


The dimensions look a little big compared to the one I have. The beauty of the eBay touch screen is that it doesn't require any changes to the IR receiver. I've seen some guys try to use what I think is this 7" touchscreen, and they've had to cut the IR receiver off to get it to fit.

As a comparison:

My Screen: 143mm x 88mm (5 5/8" x 3 1/2") - makes this a 6 5/8" screen?
7" Screen: 165mm x 104mm (6.5" x 4")


lukeyson
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA - CarPC
Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 6:54 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 50

Posts: 38

Joined: 28th May 2007

Ride: F6 Tornado

Location: Melbourne, Australia
VIC, Australia

Hello Luke,
If you're referring to the std factory TFT LCD, it's actually 5.8" viewable size......incase you get the overlay and it doesn't fit proper.....

 

 

Attachments:
Sharp_lcd_lq6bw_datasheet.pdf [123.16 KiB]
Downloaded 124 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA - CarPC
Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 8:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

Well, this is the Overlay as shown in the eBay Auction. It looks pretty good to me. I was measuring right out to the edges of the glass, so I'm not sure if that's the norm.

Attachment:
!BHeDE-w!2k~$(KGrHgoOKiEEjlLmgM5VBJJWQgwWOQ~~_1.JPG
!BHeDE-w!2k~$(KGrHgoOKiEEjlLmgM5VBJJWQgwWOQ~~_1.JPG [ 18.18 KiB | Viewed 54 times ]


This coming weekend is the last one I'll have free for a month, and I've only just been told today that my PSU has finally been released from customs, which means I won't be getting it till next week. So there'll be little-to-no progress till early April now I'm afraid.


Lukeyson
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA - CarPC
Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 10:06 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 50

Posts: 38

Joined: 28th May 2007

Ride: F6 Tornado

Location: Melbourne, Australia
VIC, Australia

Yep, that looks good. They usually only consider the "active" area when referring to LCDs and touch-overlays.....

So that overlay's active area should be 5.8" or 6" or close....

Good find, and good luck for next few weekends.

I am seriously busy with the ICC/AVR-CAN project, and am currently studying some CAN initialization code for the AVR.

Check on FordXR6 for some updates soon, otherwise I could start a thread here to, and update both with the same data.

Take care,
MrBean
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA - CarPC
Posted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 12:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

OK, overlay done. I made one error, and that was to put a little bit too much superglue on the top-right. I now appear to have a small visible smidge up there.

I just took it for a drive, and I'm a little disappointed at how bad the visibility is through the screen when there's direct sunlight on it. When there's no sunlight directly on it I think it is fine, but is a bit more washed out then before.

Here are some pics, and there's some extra detail in each of the 'file comments'.

Attachment:
File comment: Sizing up the overlay and the screen.
IMG_5018_WEB2.jpg
IMG_5018_WEB2.jpg [ 65.18 KiB | Viewed 51 times ]


Attachment:
File comment: Glued into place
IMG_5028_WEB2.jpg
IMG_5028_WEB2.jpg [ 66.16 KiB | Viewed 53 times ]


Attachment:
File comment: Mounting the USB 4-Wire controller using Jaycor Stand-offs (drilled myself, removed case to drill)
IMG_5035_WEB2.jpg
IMG_5035_WEB2.jpg [ 67.06 KiB | Viewed 53 times ]


Attachment:
File comment: To do this again, I would have used larger Jaycar stand-offs, and chosen to route the factory cable underneath it. I may still do that. I have another cable management zip-tie-clip from another loom that would go in the hole directly underneath.
IMG_5038_WEB2.jpg
IMG_5038_WEB2.jpg [ 80.2 KiB | Viewed 47 times ]




Lukeyson

Last edited by Lukeyson on Sat Mar 07, 2009 12:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 9 of 12  [ 170 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 6:52 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names