Fordmods Logo

BA Dash 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: BA Dash
Posted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 9:29 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 46

Joined: 31st Mar 2009

Ride: EL FORD FALCON XR6

Power: 145 rwkw

Location: Liverpool
NSW, Australia

who in sydney has installed BA/BF dash into EL. Would like to talk to them. thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Dash
Posted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 9:48 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

You asked the same thing about an FG dash. You have the same issues with a BA/BF Dash as you would with a FG Dash.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Dash
Posted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 9:59 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 46

Joined: 31st Mar 2009

Ride: EL FORD FALCON XR6

Power: 145 rwkw

Location: Liverpool
NSW, Australia

i want to install either in my el, so i want to find out who has done it and do it myself too.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Dash
Posted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 10:14 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

You will need the BA ECU/BCM. Runs Canbus, totally different setup to the EL.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Dash
Posted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 10:22 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 46

Joined: 31st Mar 2009

Ride: EL FORD FALCON XR6

Power: 145 rwkw

Location: Liverpool
NSW, Australia

so it doesnt matter which one you try to install. its the same procedure? where do you find all the information about them in such detail? where can i learn all the stuff?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Dash
Posted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 11:31 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

Buy the clusters... Buy the genuine Ford manuals with wiring diagrams and start creating pin conversion charts... Google the internet... Borrow stuff and pull it apart... Find people on here or Ford Forums who have dabbled with clusters and ask them any questions that come to mind...

There is no procedure... Probably nobody has done it because all the input signals on an EL cluster are indiviual sensors, the BA thru FG clusters are mostly fed from canbus data lines... There is no speedo sender for instance, there is no speedo sender input on the cluster... The speedo needle is driven from the canbus line out of the PCM...

To make this work you will need dual PCM's and possibly BEM's... So you'll need full dash and engine loom harnesses, start opening them up and cutting out what isn't needed, keeping the stuff to feed into the BEM and PCM to get the canbus output with all the data for the cluster to decode...

The EL cluster pin outs are in the tech docs on this site...

I'll kick start you with the BFII cluster wiring diagram...
Attachment:
BF_MKII_Vol3_Group7.pdf [501.37 KiB]
Downloaded 74 times


Looking at that this is the stuff you'll get to work easily...
->Fuel Level (pending sender impedance range)
->Park Brake Lamp
->Airbag Light
->Airbag Audible (If the EL has that request)
->Illumination
->Alternator Fail
->Brake Fail
->LH + RH Indicator
->High Beam

So thats most of the warning jewels... No cruise indication, thats in the canbus, oil light must be in the canbus, speedo is in the canbus, tach is in the canbus, temp is in the canbus, trip computer info is in the canbus...

Notice the cluster is one canbus line... It runs to the ICC which links it to a different cabus line... That one runs to the BEM which then converts it to another canbus line... That ones runs to the HIM... Then one to the ABS module... It then has another line to link to the PCM... I know nothing about canbus protocol... But these must be all different for some reason hence not being linked together... If they are different then to get the oil pressure light and tacho which are in the PCM, you need to feed those sensors into a BF PCM... then it'll canbus to the ABS, it to the HIM, it to the BEM, it to the ICC, then it to the cluster... That's a lot of modules just to get the tach needle to run... All these modules will need to be paired together with the Ford diagnostic software to enable communications to take place...

Here is the canbus network I've described...

Attachment:
BF_MKII_Vol3_Group7_Canbus.pdf [512.68 KiB]
Downloaded 57 times


If you have a good mind for communication protocols and electronics this should get you started... You'll probably be the first to do it then other people will be coming to you for advice instead of you looking for them...

There has to be an innovator for something... Somewhere, someone did the first BA motor into an E series... That person would have little to no help... Then he or she probably helped the next person and hence the common engine swap now... You will probably be the first with the cluster install... You can't expect someone to give you the answer... You need to start from the bottom, invest the time and money and work it out for yourself and then help others once you have gained the knowledge...

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Dash
Posted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 11:43 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 46

Joined: 31st Mar 2009

Ride: EL FORD FALCON XR6

Power: 145 rwkw

Location: Liverpool
NSW, Australia

Thanks alot for that! Im planning to put the dash and the dohc engine all in one go. Do the dash first. And then the engine.and then few other bits. But thanks for the help. Will have to look into it tomorrow
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Dash
Posted: Mon Feb 23, 2015 11:57 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 319

Joined: 24th Jun 2014

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Location: Jamestown
SA, Australia

TimmyA wrote:




Notice the cluster is one canbus line... It runs to the ICC which links it to a different cabus line... That one runs to the BEM which then converts it to another canbus line... That ones runs to the HIM... Then one to the ABS module... It then has another line to link to the PCM... I know nothing about canbus protocol... But these must be all different for some reason hence not being linked together... If they are different then to get the oil pressure light and tacho which are in the PCM, you need to feed those sensors into a BF PCM... then it'll canbus to the ABS, it to the HIM, it to the BEM, it to the ICC, then it to the cluster... That's a lot of modules just to get the tach needle to run... All these modules will need to be paired together with the Ford diagnostic software to enable communications to take place...

Here is the canbus network I've described...

Attachment:
BF_MKII_Vol3_Group7_Canbus.pdf


If you have a good mind for communication protocols and electronics this should get you started... You'll probably be the first to do it then other people will be coming to you for advice instead of you looking for them...

There has to be an innovator for something... Somewhere, someone did the first BA motor into an E series... That person would have little to no help... Then he or she probably helped the next person and hence the common engine swap now... You will probably be the first with the cluster install... You can't expect someone to give you the answer... You need to start from the bottom, invest the time and money and work it out for yourself and then help others once you have gained the knowledge...



Not 100% on this but i think that the can bus lines between some of the modules are joined between the pins. The 2 can highs and 2 can lows are linked in the BCM.
You should be able to get away with the BA/BF BEM, PCM and cluster, and allot of time and research.

 

_________________

Current Ride
BA XR6 Turbo, P3 Paint, BP Trim, Fully Stock Mods to Come!
1996 EF Falcon furura, White.
BA XR6 , P3 Paint, BG Trim, !
1995 EF XR6 The newest member of my ford family!

BLUE BLOOD
Previous Rides
1997 EL Falcon
1980 Ford Escort

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Dash
Posted: Tue Feb 24, 2015 6:43 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 46

Joined: 31st Mar 2009

Ride: EL FORD FALCON XR6

Power: 145 rwkw

Location: Liverpool
NSW, Australia

Cool thanks for that! I've ordered the whole dash with wiring harness and everything complete. Even got the steering column. So we will see how we go!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Dash
Posted: Tue Feb 24, 2015 9:02 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

If you are installing the Barra, do the whole thing. Use the BA wiring loom, dash, ECU. BCM etc. It will save you so much time and effort with splicing the wiring to suit the engine.

Do do the dash first will involve a hell of a lot of work and then you will either pull it out to run the Barra motor or do further splicing to get it to work.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Dash
Posted: Tue Feb 24, 2015 10:50 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 46

Joined: 31st Mar 2009

Ride: EL FORD FALCON XR6

Power: 145 rwkw

Location: Liverpool
NSW, Australia

Thats exactly what im planning to do. Allready got parts ordered and waiting for me
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Dash
Posted: Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:46 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

My suggestion would be to buy a BA/BF write off with a good engine/gearbox and tranfer everything over to your EL. You would have everything in place with the wreck and could see where everything goes. Would make life alot easier.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Dash
Posted: Tue Feb 24, 2015 1:40 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 46

Joined: 31st Mar 2009

Ride: EL FORD FALCON XR6

Power: 145 rwkw

Location: Liverpool
NSW, Australia

Was thinking of doing that but the only problem is the space. Where to put it as ive already got 4 cars in drive way and on the street
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Dash
Posted: Tue May 19, 2015 3:07 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 3

Joined: 19th May 2015

Ride: Ford ba 2004

Location: Shepparton
VIC, Australia

Hello I have a ford ba 2004 and when I turn the heater on it blows cold air I have been told the air mix shaft (heater shaft) has snapped I havethe part but have no idea how to replace it and labour would cost 800 to put a 70 dollar part in just wondering
If anyone is familiar with taking the dash out and could possibly do it I have 2 kids and being this weather need it fixed if anyone sround the melbourne area could do this I would be very grateful
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:12 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names