Fordmods Logo

BA Heater - no warm air 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 29 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: BA Heater - no warm air
Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 9:25 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 379

Joined: 17th May 2006

Gallery: 26 images

Ride: 2003 BA XR6 TURBO!!!!!

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

My dads BA only pumps out cold air, was working but has just stopped. Any ideas?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 2351

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: Blown XR8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

A mates has been doing this for a year.
It something with the heater box i think. I think to get it repaired it was around the 1k mark.
He had a play with it as he was told he could do it a lot cheaper himself. But i don't think it worked.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 11:54 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 214

Joined: 8th May 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melb
VIC, Australia

i work at ford, guaranteed fix is either the heater shaft is broken or the HIM(which controls the shaft) is faulty, only experienced people know how to see which one it is, i could try to describe how but id only confuse you, what state you in, i could prob have a look if your not too far?

 

_________________

aaahh yes! a forums with more freedom than a nerd in an empty library- www.psupernak.com register asap!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 11:54 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 214

Joined: 8th May 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melb
VIC, Australia

ooh just saw your in melb

 

_________________

aaahh yes! a forums with more freedom than a nerd in an empty library- www.psupernak.com register asap!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 2:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 473

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: XR6T

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

I had the exact same problem with my BA.
Ford had to remove the whole dash to replace a shaft that had broken.

Lucky it was under warranty....

 

_________________

"This is FORD country.... Where on a quiet day you can hear the HOLDENS rusting...."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 16, 2007 1:46 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

psupernak wrote:
i work at ford, guaranteed fix is either the heater shaft is broken or the HIM(which controls the shaft) is faulty, only experienced people know how to see which one it is, i could try to describe how but id only confuse you, what state you in, i could prob have a look if your not too far?



99% certain it will be a broken air mix shaft in the heater box. Im a ford mechanic and ive done the latest course on the climate control systems in these cars.
Ive seen a only one or 2 HIM modules fail but starting to see a few more air mix shafts.

Unfortunately does require removal of the dash, but fortunately BA dashes are the easist falcon ever to have the dash out of.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:08 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Posts: 302

Joined: 1st Jan 2007

Power: 158 rwkw

xpression wrote:
psupernak wrote:
i work at ford, guaranteed fix is either the heater shaft is broken or the HIM(which controls the shaft) is faulty, only experienced people know how to see which one it is, i could try to describe how but id only confuse you, what state you in, i could prob have a look if your not too far?



99% certain it will be a broken air mix shaft in the heater box. Im a ford mechanic and ive done the latest course on the climate control systems in these cars.
Ive seen a only one or 2 HIM modules fail but starting to see a few more air mix shafts.

Unfortunately does require removal of the dash, but fortunately BA dashes are the easist falcon ever to have the dash out of.


Parts interpreter here! These guys are dead on the money! More times it is the mixer shaft! Odd occasion its the HIM module! If him module, it needs to be programmed to car! It's just not plug and play like the old days!?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2007 12:28 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 379

Joined: 17th May 2006

Gallery: 26 images

Ride: 2003 BA XR6 TURBO!!!!!

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

mad. thanks for the help.
dads just gonna get it booked in, i hate stuffing around with dashes.
neway, let u know how it goes
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 11:00 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 2351

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: Blown XR8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Yeah if you don't mind, can you let us or me know how much it ends up costing, so i can let my mate know.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 11:03 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3505

Joined: 1st May 2005

Ride: EB Fairmont

Location: Northern Suburbs, Adelaide
SA, Australia

Yeah my parents car has just started doing this too.

Great f**k time to do it too, right when we get the coldest weather.

 

_________________

Doin it for Scotty.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 01, 2007 6:37 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 379

Joined: 17th May 2006

Gallery: 26 images

Ride: 2003 BA XR6 TURBO!!!!!

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

so the car went back to Ford and they said they just reset an alarm module which controls the heater apparently and that fixed it! No cost and easy fix THIS TIME!

Good luck anyone else.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 01, 2007 6:39 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 379

Joined: 17th May 2006

Gallery: 26 images

Ride: 2003 BA XR6 TURBO!!!!!

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

probably meant the HIM module not the alarm one sorry.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 7:36 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 379

Joined: 17th May 2006

Gallery: 26 images

Ride: 2003 BA XR6 TURBO!!!!!

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

damn thing has gone back to cold air! Anyone know if resetting the HIM module is something I can do or do I need ot take it to Ford?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 7:40 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 214

Joined: 8th May 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melb
VIC, Australia

resetting the him is only a temp fix, youll need a new him, i have a new one and can do the job if interested. pm me?

 

_________________

aaahh yes! a forums with more freedom than a nerd in an empty library- www.psupernak.com register asap!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 8:33 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 379

Joined: 17th May 2006

Gallery: 26 images

Ride: 2003 BA XR6 TURBO!!!!!

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

ok pm'd you
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:44 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names