Fordmods Logo

BA Instrument Cluster 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: BA Instrument Cluster
Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2022 8:27 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 376

Joined: 21st Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: BA Ford Fairmont 5.4L

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

Hey, I need to replace my instrument cluster, just wanting to be sure there isn't a difference between the ones in a 6 and the 8's.

I have the 5.4L 220Kw 8 and there is a dash on ebay thats for a Fairmont but apparently only the 6? Is that right?

 

_________________

http://www.sipheren.com

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Instrument Cluster
Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2022 9:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 880

Joined: 16th May 2012

Gallery: 16 images

Ride: EF-XR6/XG-6/XE-V8- project

I would think that they would work the same as the other factors on how they work would be governed by the ECU & other electronics in the car etc..I could be wrong hopefully someone can verify for sure.

 

_________________

XG DOHC-BARRA 182/Turbo kit/20% Underdrive and BA 4-SPEED + Tiptronic shifter

https://youtube.com/channel/UCaRUQ10of3FlOuSpvfapOtA

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Instrument Cluster
Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2022 9:58 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 376

Joined: 21st Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: BA Ford Fairmont 5.4L

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

Yeah, they look identical, I wouldn't think Ford would bother making different ones. I can get one for $60 so might at as well just try it.

 

_________________

http://www.sipheren.com

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Instrument Cluster
Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2022 7:47 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3824

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '03 BA Wagooon & EB Wagooon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

Sipheren wrote:
Yeah, they look identical, I wouldn't think Ford would bother making different ones. I can get one for $60 so might at as well just try it.



i believe they are the same?, just not 100% [maybe 70%?]. with the BA cluster they are just plug & play as i have swapped around clusters with no hassles. believe it's only when you get to the BF that you can/will have issues. i'm currently using a Fairlane/LTD cluster in a Futura with the only issue the lights in the cluster being dull. but i believe that is due to the wiring fitted to the Futura.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 01, 2022 11:28 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names