Fordmods Logo

BA - MCC to ACC Conversion 

 

Page 13 of 17 [ 244 posts ] Go to page Previous  1 ... 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17  Next

 
Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 1:39 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 4401

Joined: 25th Mar 2005

Ride: BA XT, BA XR6T, ED Ghia 5.0

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I think you'll find you still need a few other parts. You can have a look quickly to see if you need an ambient air temp sensor (little bump that pokes out the bottom of the passenger side mirror) and if you don't have one you need the door wiring loom. Being a BF it should have auto headlights already with a sunload sensor. Not too sure on the dash loom but you'll need the dual zone mixer shafts and actuator.

Lukey could probably clear this up a lot better then I can, I'm yet to install mine still, parts have been sitting around for months now.. yes I am lazy :(

 

_________________

What's the difference between a Holden and a sheep? It's less embarrasing getting out of the back of a sheep..

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 1:53 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

no you will still need to replace the icc unfortunately, but you should get reasonable money for yours.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 11:13 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 3

Joined: 6th Mar 2008

Ride: BF XR6T

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

fnp wrote:
I think you'll find you still need a few other parts. You can have a look quickly to see if you need an ambient air temp sensor (little bump that pokes out the bottom of the passenger side mirror) and if you don't have one you need the door wiring loom. Being a BF it should have auto headlights already with a sunload sensor. Not too sure on the dash loom but you'll need the dual zone mixer shafts and actuator.

Lukey could probably clear this up a lot better then I can, I'm yet to install mine still, parts have been sitting around for months now.. yes I am lazy :(


Thanks - I was just wondering about the ICC itself. I know I need the ambient temp sensor/actuators/mixer shafts/etc, but just wondering if I could buy the buttons + fascia from ASL and just replace my bits with it.

xpression wrote:
no you will still need to replace the icc unfortunately, but you should get reasonable money for yours.


Looks like I can't though - what would you guys consider 'reasonable' money?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 11:20 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

I'd suggest asking this question of Headsex.

He did a bitsa-replacement on his by taking parts out of his Premium ICC and putting them into a DZ ICC he bought off eBay that had no screen. I'm not sure if it came with a 6-stack CD though to know if he used this or the one from his Premo unit.

The 6-stack CD has the CAN termination and smarts for sending messages when the buttons are pressed. So the key is, since the buttons on the Premo ICC are different, does it still send the same commands to the Circuit board so it can generate messages?

I've seen the messages on the CAN bus from both DZ and SZ units. They each send their messages regarding temperature and fan speed in different bytes of the CAN packet, so there is a difference.



Lukeyson
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 2:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

If it helps, I've dissected a Standard SZ, a Premium SZ and a DZ ICC. Datamine is hosting the Pictures here for me:

http://s136.photobucket.com/albums/q199 ... ectronics/

So heres a Premo ICC Circuit Board:
http://s136.photobucket.com/albums/q199 ... G_2234.jpg

And here's a DZ ICC Circuit board:
http://s136.photobucket.com/albums/q199 ... G_2403.jpg

There's lots of detail so if you can't zoom in, there are other pics taken a lot closer of some areas..



Lukeyson
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 3:58 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 3

Joined: 6th Mar 2008

Ride: BF XR6T

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Lukeyson wrote:
If it helps, I've dissected a Standard SZ, a Premium SZ and a DZ ICC. Datamine is hosting the Pictures here for me:

http://s136.photobucket.com/albums/q199 ... ectronics/

So heres a Premo ICC Circuit Board:
http://s136.photobucket.com/albums/q199 ... G_2234.jpg

And here's a DZ ICC Circuit board:
http://s136.photobucket.com/albums/q199 ... G_2403.jpg

There's lots of detail so if you can't zoom in, there are other pics taken a lot closer of some areas..



Lukeyson


Thanks Luke - some really helpful pics. Looks like it'll be easier to just get a whole new ICC and sell the old one.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:24 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 109

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Ride: BA XT

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hello, considering doing ACC conversion to BA XT. I am wondering whether the Indicator/wiper stalk assembly is needed, if i do not want the auto headlights on/off feature?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 6:02 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

Hmm. Good question. I'm not sure, but I think you should be OK.


Luke
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 9:48 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 11791

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Holden VF Calais / NL FBT

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

i reckon you will have to - otherwise it will log constant dtc's

 

_________________

Nicko

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 3:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

I'm not sure it will. It's just the same as the switch not ever being in the auto position isn't it?


Lukeyson
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 12:44 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 14

Joined: 3rd May 2007

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Hello, what i was wondering when you guys have done this is when you have the BEM scanned and you already have the switch on the dash for traction control and fog lights plus there is traction control on the acc panel which bottons do you use or as the wiring harness is different you no longer require the mutli switch but only the fog lamp switch.

cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 1:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 4401

Joined: 25th Mar 2005

Ride: BA XT, BA XR6T, ED Ghia 5.0

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Both traction control switches should work.

As a side note hopefully mine should be going in on Sunday :D

 

_________________

What's the difference between a Holden and a sheep? It's less embarrasing getting out of the back of a sheep..

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:04 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 14

Joined: 3rd May 2007

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Hey FNP,

Are you changing the head light switch or do you already have the auto on it?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 4:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 11791

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Holden VF Calais / NL FBT

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

Lukeyson wrote:
I'm not sure it will. It's just the same as the switch not ever being in the auto position isn't it?


Lukeyson

Yeah youcould be right

You have to change the dash loom anyway basically - you may as well add it!

 

_________________

Nicko

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 5:36 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 14

Joined: 3rd May 2007

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

after reading this post again i am still to understand why the requirement of new dash harness is required. Can someone tell me why and how do i find out what i have and don't have. although i do not have auot headlights
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 13 of 17  [ 244 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:08 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names