Fordmods Logo

BA'o'MATIC - BA Shifter stage 1 now complete 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 34 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: BA'o'MATIC - BA Shifter stage 1 now complete
Posted: Thu Nov 25, 2004 10:05 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

As some people may know, I have been working on fitting a BA shifter into my car (amongst all my other project work) for a long time now.

Well last night saw about 3 hours of hard work put into the project of fitting the BA shifter, and saw it fitted to the car :angel: finally, it is only uses PRND at the moment with the normal Power/Econ switch still and works fine. Details will be posted when the project is finished, as I do not want to give too much away at this point, I will answer questions.

Sorry no pics :( , but it does fit like my avatar shows, so whats next:

Stage 2 - Electronics for the SS (Sequential Shift) to be fitted and tested, should happen Sunday morning at Lukes (while I do his gearbox change) thanks to Murray (Muzza). The electronics will set Power mode when in SS mode and alow the full control of gear selection, so the switch will be ditched.

Stage 3 - Better mounting brackets need to be made, the one I have has a bit of give to it, but serves the purpose for now and is functional, need to see my brother in law (boiler maker by trade) for another custom bracket :D , and I have to mount the shifter protection plates as well (need to make a slightly bigger cut to the trans tunnel).

Stage 4 - Centre console to be sorted to look more like a stock car then a modded car (alot thought to be put into this one), currently I have a cardboard cover.

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 25, 2004 11:14 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 241

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: R33 GTS-T

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Sounds good mate should be awesome once it's all finished up.

 

_________________

Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 25, 2004 12:49 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3097

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: VU SS

Location: Ivanhoe
NSW, Australia

Yep can't wait to see how you sorted it all out.

 

_________________

EF Fairmont now Sold!
Guides: Polishing|Modifications |Manual Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 25, 2004 10:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1679

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: 32 GTR

Location: Greenacre
NSW, Australia

f**k awesome lad. One of the reasons i want a BA :lol:
Can i ask is it very costlyand do you think it will ba a mod that a lot of people will do, once they learn or is it very hard and costly to do ?

 

_________________

237.9 KW ATW

12.485

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 1:39 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

very nice buddy
i heard that the Ba use a cable for the sports shift? is this tru and what electronics u usign?

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 10:08 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Snow_white - cost using all new parts etc, would be around $500 and then you still have customise your console, its not very hard and if you had the brackets made up already that are required, could be installed in half a day with a bit of effort (a day tops).

Disco Frank - The BA shifter uses a cable instead of rod and linkage as used up to the AU falcon, but cable is easily routed and fitted. The electronics is a pic chip to control the Sequential Shift side of things, the TCU (trans control unit) just needs to have the voltage input wire changed so it thinks its in a gear, so basically fool the TCU to what gear its in, and hey presto you have BA SS shifter :)

Do I expect alot of people to do it, if they can source the parts cheap enough then probably yes, otherwise I think I will be the only one for quite a while.

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 8:50 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Dellboy999 wrote:

Disco Frank - The BA shifter uses a cable instead of rod and linkage as used up to the AU falcon, but cable is easily routed and fitted. The electronics is a pic chip to control the Sequential Shift side of things, the TCU (trans control unit) just needs to have the voltage input wire changed so it thinks its in a gear, so basically fool the TCU to what gear its in, and hey presto you have BA SS shifter :)

nice man nice!
one thing is though my au has rod linkages

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 6:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

Awesome, ill be watching this space, i was looking at this mod a while back but put it in the too hard basket, $500 sounds like a good price, keep up the good work and please keep us informed.

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 12:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Stage 2 has just been completed, SS is now working, due for a road test on the way home tonight (3/12/2004). Shame I won't be going on the GOR cruise, sorry poeple, but it will get a work out when I head to Tarwin on Saturday afternoon.

Next some better brackets.

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 12:50 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

BOOHHYAAAAHH!

dude let us knwo how it goes!

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

sounds like your having some fun!
when u get it worked out u'll need to write up a document on how to get it working ;)
Well done mate ;)

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 2:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 593

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

yeah i wouldn't mind that in the 5.0 litre..., i have thought about it, but not sure if i'll do it yet.

 

_________________

4 cylinders are like chinese food, few minutes after you have them you just want more!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 3:19 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 11791

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Holden VF Calais / NL FBT

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

congrats! thats is a fuggen good effort and deserves a huge pat on the back!
huge can do attitude and its amazing what can be done! That is an amazing mod!

 

_________________

Nicko

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 1:36 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 20

Joined: 29th Nov 2004

Ride: AU Series II

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Yeah I deffently want the doc so i can do this in my AU, SS would make the car soooo much more enjoyable to drive :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 06, 2004 10:34 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Spent about 1/2 hour and 10 attempts to get the alignment of the shifter just right as it was slightly out, its now perfect will be a shame to change the brackets to better ones and have to do it all again.

----------------

ROAD TEST:

Ok, after 300 k's of driving to Tarwin and back over the weekend, the shifter gots its fair share of testing, could shift down a gear quickly and easily to overtake, when SS was chosen power mode was engaged no worries, and otherwise it behaved as a standard econ mode 4 speed auto, and I have to say it passed 100% not a problem at all.

The only thing I found out is that the power steering switch is leaking worse now and dripped onto the cat and made a lovely smoke show after we stopped from driving for a straight hour or so.

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 12:54 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names