Fordmods Logo

BEM/ICC Change 

 

Page 2 of 3 [ 45 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

 
Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 12:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1231

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: 2010 Nitro Blue FG

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I have no idea if this information helps anybody but thought i would share some experiences. My Standard XR ICC was changed over to a single CD Premo silver ICC out of a Typhhon. It was aa straight swap and all we had to do was change the BEM's and it was plug and play. The only thing worht noticing is that if you have your instrumjent cluster out the Screen will not light up.

 

_________________

The boogieman checks under his bed for chuck norris

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 1:03 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 290

Joined: 5th Mar 2007

Ride: BA XR6

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

andrewsfutura wrote:
I have no idea if this information helps anybody but thought i would share some experiences. My Standard XR ICC was changed over to a single CD Premo silver ICC out of a Typhhon. It was aa straight swap and all we had to do was change the BEM's and it was plug and play. The only thing worht noticing is that if you have your instrumjent cluster out the Screen will not light up.


Excellent, thanks for your post.

Yep, that's what Darren at FTG said. Change the BEM, and you've got a plug 'n' play swap. No need to visit Ford.

So you need your headlights on for the screen to illuminate? Hmm ... that's kind of a pain. How's visibility during normal day driving?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2008 2:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1231

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: 2010 Nitro Blue FG

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

No not your headlights. The unit lights up normally. I meant the instrument cluster. If that is not plugged in WHILE you are doing the swap the screen wont light up. Without headlights its a grey backlit colour and when you turn you headliight on the screen goes black with white illuminated wrting.

 

_________________

The boogieman checks under his bed for chuck norris

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2008 2:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

A curious question.

Are you guys removing power to the battery when you change the ICC, or leave it connected? My changes are always done with the battery disconnected.


Lukeyson
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2008 3:50 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 290

Joined: 5th Mar 2007

Ride: BA XR6

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Lukeyson wrote:
A curious question.

Are you guys removing power to the battery when you change the ICC, or leave it connected? My changes are always done with the battery disconnected.


Lukeyson


I'm curious as to this myself.

I've only ever removed the ICC once to change the fascia, NOT to change the entire ICC unit over. When I did remove the ICC that one time, I left the battery CONNECTED, and there were no Recodes needed when I plugged it back in.

I'm guessing that when Andrew did his ICC swap he left the battery connected, maybe that's why he didn't need a Recode? In your case Lukeyson, you've always D/C'd the battery, and hence needed a Recode?

AndrewsFutura, can you confirm this?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2008 7:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

I've never needed a recode when re-installing an ICC that's already be trained to my car. But yes, for every ICC that hasn't yet been trained to the car I've had the security code message come up on the screen.


Lukeyson
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:02 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1231

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: 2010 Nitro Blue FG

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

When we did mine, we left the battery connected as it still retains the code and does not need re-programming.

 

_________________

The boogieman checks under his bed for chuck norris

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:11 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 290

Joined: 5th Mar 2007

Ride: BA XR6

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

andrewsfutura wrote:
When we did mine, we left the battery connected as it still retains the code and does not need re-programming.


Thanks mate that answers my query.

Looks like leaving the battery in the whole time will save you a trip to Ford.

I wonder if there's any inherit danger in leaving the battery connected?

I've had the ICC in/out before with the battery still connected and never had any problems.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 8:37 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

If you're going to leave the battery connected, you'll want to remove the BEM connectors from right to left, otherwise you'll hear a relay chatter somewhere in the Dash.

So are you going to do this or make us wait for ever?


Lukeyson
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 10:48 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1231

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: 2010 Nitro Blue FG

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

we had the realy chatter as well when removing it. Along as you remove the units connectors in 1 minute there is no problem.

 

_________________

The boogieman checks under his bed for chuck norris

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 8:32 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 290

Joined: 5th Mar 2007

Ride: BA XR6

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Yep, I ordered my premium ICC from Darren on Friday (yesterday). Should arrive mid next week. I'll give it a punt and see how it goes.

What's this about relay clicking though? Is that healthy? Last time I removed the ICC (about June last year), I can't remember what order I removed the BEM connectors in, but I never heard any clicking coming out of the dash and I had the battery connected the whole time. What is that?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 9:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

From the WS Manual:

 

 

Attachments:
File comment: ICC Swap. CTS is the Cabin Temp Sensor on Dual Zone ICC's.
ICC Swap WSMan IMG01.JPG
ICC Swap WSMan IMG01.JPG [ 21.82 KiB | Viewed 254 times ]
File comment: Relay Chatter ...
ICC Swap WSMan IMG02.JPG
ICC Swap WSMan IMG02.JPG [ 65.9 KiB | Viewed 326 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 8:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 9:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

andrewsfutura wrote:
I have no idea if this information helps anybody but thought i would share some experiences. My Standard XR ICC was changed over to a single CD Premo silver ICC out of a Typhhon. It was aa straight swap and all we had to do was change the BEM's and it was plug and play.


Was this an ASL Logistics exchange-swap by any chance? Or just one you picked up from a wreckers?


Lukeyson
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 11:07 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 290

Joined: 5th Mar 2007

Ride: BA XR6

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Lukeyson wrote:
http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11204918


Lukeyson


This thread is talking about a ute, not a sedan. Apparently that makes a difference.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 3  [ 45 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:12 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names