Fordmods Logo

can i attatch neons to my battery 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 29 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
Posted: Tue Aug 02, 2005 11:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1934

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon XR8

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

chunkz wrote:
caus your going to want to be able to turn it off


when Mr Plod comes along!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 1:26 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 15

Joined: 2nd Aug 2005

Ride: EF Fairmont Ghia 5L

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

lol

 

_________________

SOOn Shel Be DonE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 3:00 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2098

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: egas bf xt

Location: Gosford
NSW, Australia

I would have thought that the sheer amount of current produced by a car battery would fry the neon, and any fuse that is suitable to a neon... Wouldn't it be wiser to connect it up to say the power wire that powers the internal lighting ?

 

_________________

I can see through wooden doors.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 8:52 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 52

Posts: 4370

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Fairlane Ghia

Location: Karratha
WA, Australia

Fully sik habib, u got monster tacho wit dat bro?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 3:19 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

THe battery only produces 12v doesnt it?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 9:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 509

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: '05 5.4L BA MK2 XT

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Its a 12 volt battery with a HUUUUUUUUGE current ... :)
Talking something in the regions of like 100 amps in a falcon (Main fuse size under the hood is 100A).
Considering 0.08 amps for any longer then a second will kill you no questions asked its MORE THEN ENOUGH POWAAR :)

As for blowing any switch in line with the neons, thats what the relay is for...
Battery into relay, 12v rated, pick one up from strathfield car audio or the likes.
Then run it from the relay to the switch, run the power from battery straight to switch = BIG FIRE, the switch cannot handle the power and will eventually fry...

Also you need to find out how much current these things are going to draw and get a suitable rated fuse (in a fuse holder, mount it next to the fuse blocks in the engine bay).
If the fuse is rated too high you could damage the neons, If it is rated too low, you will pop the fuse and no harm done - 50 cents a fuse who gives a crap :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 9:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4305

Joined: 6th Jul 2005

Ride: BA xr8 Magnet ute

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

your lights will burn very very bright for a very very short time :D :D :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: power
Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 9:38 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 68

Joined: 23rd Nov 2004

Ride: Typhoon

Location: perth
WA, Australia

you can hook it up to the nearest power source eg cigerete plug or a good one is the brake light swich if you do that it should be sweat it wouldbe a good idea to put a swith on the circuit to turn it on and off
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 9:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 509

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: '05 5.4L BA MK2 XT

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

You can use the cigarette lighter power, splice it onto your neons and have the use of the lighter still (or lose it and just use the power for neons).
Or like I said join them all to 1 plug and plug it in the front, that way you can turn them off when the piggers are out in force and during the day.

either way you will need a switch of some form.
Also depending on how many neons the cigarette lighter power may not be enough for them and you will just keep popping the dash/interior light fuse.
(Cig. Lighter and accessories on same fuse from memory)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 12:19 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 15

Joined: 2nd Aug 2005

Ride: EF Fairmont Ghia 5L

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

YEH A BATTERY ONLY LETS OUT 12V
AND THESE ARNT LIKE CAR SHOP NEONS BUT LIKE FULL SIGNAGE NEONS ?

 

_________________

SOOn Shel Be DonE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 12:20 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 5313

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Surf, Turbo Diesel

Location: Melbourne, S.E Suburbs
VIC, Australia

try hooking it up to ya cig lighter...
if it doesnt work.. well buy a big fuse and attach to battery

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 12:22 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Is footwell neons rice?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 12:26 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 5313

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Surf, Turbo Diesel

Location: Melbourne, S.E Suburbs
VIC, Australia

depends...
if always on/controlled by switch, then yeh

or if there as like a curtesy light, then no

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 05, 2005 2:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1518

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Power: 175 rwkw

Location: The Shire, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Aside from fuse and wiring issues, you're all missing the point that neons run on stupidly high voltage! The "proper" ones run at around 5000v from memory.

All neons require an inverter to run, to boost the power up to this voltage. The sort that you buy for $10-50 either has it built into the cig lighter plug or in the fat plastic end caps at the end of the tube itself. The bigger variety probably have a seperate transformer that is wired somewhere between the battery and the tubes. If they really were custom made for you then the guy who made them should have given you all the necessary hardware to hook them up, or alteast told you what you need!!

 

_________________

ImageImage

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 7:17 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names