Fordmods Logo

Can you disable Smartlock? 

 

Page 1 of 4 [ 46 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

 
 Post subject: Can you disable Smartlock?
Posted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 12:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 3785

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford

Location: Victoria
VIC, Australia

I have read all of the Smartlock topics but couldn't find what I was looking for.

Was wondering if you can disable Smartlock in a EL so that you can still lock and unlock the doors using the key but not using the remote?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can you disable Smartlock?
Posted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 6:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 539

Joined: 30th Nov 2004

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I am using a j3 chip to disable smart lock in an AU and it does not stop the door locks from working.


not sure about the bypass module you can buy.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can you disable Smartlock?
Posted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 7:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 3785

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford

Location: Victoria
VIC, Australia

MMD wrote:
I am using a j3 chip to disable smart lock in an AU and it does not stop the door locks from working.


not sure about the bypass module you can buy.


At the moment my door locks are cycling and it's really starting to annoy the hell out of me. If I could bypass Smartlock but still have all the doors and the tailgate lock by locking and unlocking the drivers door by key then I'd be happy.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can you disable Smartlock?
Posted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 7:20 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

revcore wrote:
MMD wrote:
I am using a j3 chip to disable smart lock in an AU and it does not stop the door locks from working.


not sure about the bypass module you can buy.


At the moment my door locks are cycling and it's really starting to annoy the hell out of me. If I could bypass Smartlock but still have all the doors and the tailgate lock by locking and unlocking the drivers door by key then I'd be happy.


the problem is in your door actuators not the smartlock.
best off just fixing the actuators..
the smartlock in ef/el is in the bcm, so the only reall way to dissable it is to remove it. fit a smartlock bypass and bypass the ignition kill.
but if you remove the module most of the interior options wont work anymore including the central locking..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can you disable Smartlock?
Posted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 7:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 3785

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford

Location: Victoria
VIC, Australia

TROYMAN wrote:
revcore wrote:
MMD wrote:
I am using a j3 chip to disable smart lock in an AU and it does not stop the door locks from working.


not sure about the bypass module you can buy.


At the moment my door locks are cycling and it's really starting to annoy the hell out of me. If I could bypass Smartlock but still have all the doors and the tailgate lock by locking and unlocking the drivers door by key then I'd be happy.


the problem is in your door actuators not the smartlock.
best off just fixing the actuators..
the smartlock in ef/el is in the bcm, so the only reall way to dissable it is to remove it. fit a smartlock bypass and bypass the ignition kill.
but if you remove the module most of the interior options wont work anymore including the central locking..


Sounds like I might have to buy a new actuator for all 4 doors. If only one actuator is buggered how can I find out which one it is?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can you disable Smartlock?
Posted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 7:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 539

Joined: 30th Nov 2004

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Agreed with Troyman,
pretty sure you can have only one connected at a time and it should still function properly.
So maybe try to disconnect all but one and cycle through them until you get a result.

someone else confirm ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can you disable Smartlock?
Posted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 4599

Joined: 30th Aug 2010

Ride: BF XR6,

Location: NEWCASTLE
NSW, Australia

couldnt you unplug one at a time until the problem stops then you find your problem?

 

_________________

BF XR6
xr8 snorkel,typhoon lower snorkel,territory intake pipe,20% underdrive kit,pacemaker extractors,high flow cat,xforce exhaust,t56 conversion hd turbo clutch/ flywheel,m86 3.45 lsd,custom tune187.1rwkw as an auto

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can you disable Smartlock?
Posted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 3785

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford

Location: Victoria
VIC, Australia

bry40l wrote:
couldnt you unplug one at a time until the problem stops then you find your problem?


I'll do that tomorrow and hopefully there is only one actuator that is buggered. My guess is the drivers door actuator.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can you disable Smartlock?
Posted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 3785

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford

Location: Victoria
VIC, Australia

Are the actuators cheap? If it is the master actuator would that be more expensive than a slave actuator?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can you disable Smartlock?
Posted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2091

Joined: 3rd Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont, XG Ute

Make sure the plastic snib on top of the rod is moving freely, and that the rod isn't catching part of the doortrim or anything on the inside. Often this is the problem. I'd pull off the drivers door trim, pull the rod away from everything so it can't catch and then try locking and unlocking it.

After that, try disconnecting them as mentioned.

You should be able to get a replacement pretty cheap, I paid $30 for a full set a few years ago. I only have the backs left now though.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can you disable Smartlock?
Posted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 3785

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford

Location: Victoria
VIC, Australia

SLO247 wrote:
Make sure the plastic snib on top of the rod is moving freely, and that the rod isn't catching part of the doortrim or anything on the inside. Often this is the problem. I'd pull off the drivers door trim, pull the rod away from everything so it can't catch and then try locking and unlocking it.

After that, try disconnecting them as mentioned.

You should be able to get a replacement pretty cheap, I paid $30 for a full set a few years ago. I only have the backs left now though.


Funnily enough I had the drivers door trim off last week because I replaced the face on the drivers door lock and when I took the door trim off the plastic rod broke so I replaced it with another one that had a slightly different bend in it so there is a possibility it could be catching although the button moves up and down freely that I can see.
It doesn't cycle all the time....About 85% of the time at the moment regardless if I use the remote or use the key to unlock and lock the car.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can you disable Smartlock?
Posted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:55 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

even the lock button on the top of the trim being pushed on to far can cause cycling of the actuators..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can you disable Smartlock?
Posted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 3785

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford

Location: Victoria
VIC, Australia

Those plastic rods are pretty fragile....The original one on my EL was a red type of colour and had a specific bend in it where as the one I replaced it with was white and had a bend in the opposite direction (It was a spare from my ED) so perhaps the white one could be a left instead of a right - Possible reason why I get the cycling problem. I'll disconnect the rod tomorrow and see what happens. If need be I'll have to hunt down the proper rod for it.
Come to think of it I reckon the problem only started after I replaced the face on the drivers door lock which was also when the plastic rod broke in the drivers door (Which was replaced with a slightly different rod).

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can you disable Smartlock?
Posted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 9:05 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

yep, you have the wrong rod, white is a passenger one..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can you disable Smartlock?
Posted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 9:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 3785

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford

Location: Victoria
VIC, Australia

TROYMAN wrote:
yep, you have the wrong rod, white is a passenger one..


It's a pity Ford made the EL with a sniper button on the drivers door....Would have been excellent if it didn't have one like the rest of the doors. But I can see why it's there I guess.

I'll remove the white rod tomorrow and see what happens.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 4  [ 46 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 5:42 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names