Fordmods Logo

Changing globes in EF cluster 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Changing globes in EF cluster
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 6:46 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 145

Joined: 4th Aug 2010

Ride: BA Ghia '03

Which globes do I have to change to change the colour for the speedo/rev/oil/fuel (etc) gauges? Looking into doing them all white as I believe they'll work better. They are t5 globes yes?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing globes in EF cluster
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 7:11 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 22

Posts: 337

Joined: 30th Apr 2011

Ride: '97 EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hey mate
This should answer your questions
documents.php?d=25

Cheers

 

_________________

The EL ghia
^^^^^^^^^^

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing globes in EF cluster
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 7:49 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 145

Joined: 4th Aug 2010

Ride: BA Ghia '03

This is what I'm actually after, however I don't know which globe holders to take out to replace them with white/better globes

documents.php?d=1
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing globes in EF cluster
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 9:12 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 22

Posts: 337

Joined: 30th Apr 2011

Ride: '97 EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Tech90 wrote:
This is what I'm actually after, however I don't know which globe holders to take out to replace them with white/better globes

documents.php?d=1


This pic shows you the globe positions for all the gauges. The odometer is the globe at the bottom right in the middle.

Seeing as your car is an EL, the globe holders are sealed, so you'll have to go down to the wreckers and grab a set of unsealed EF holders in order to pop some LEDs in there.

All in all, a very simple and effective conversion. I did all mine white too. So yea, have a look and see what you think.

 

 

Attachments:
clusterpolarity8cboz6.jpg
clusterpolarity8cboz6.jpg [ 27.65 KiB | Viewed 47 times ]

 

_________________

The EL ghia
^^^^^^^^^^

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing globes in EF cluster
Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 9:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 1006

Joined: 1st Oct 2010

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: EF XR8

Location: Richmond,
NSW, Australia

TheELghia wrote:
All in all, a very simple and effective conversion. I did all mine white too. So yea, have a look and see what you think.

I did mine in white originally, but didn't like how stock it appeared to be... so I changed them to GREEN!

 

_________________

Blue blooded.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing globes in EF cluster
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 5:50 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 145

Joined: 4th Aug 2010

Ride: BA Ghia '03

Ah I missed that pic -.-; cheers.

Anyone tried blue and looked better than stock? Deciding between white and blue ATM.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing globes in EF cluster
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 11:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 843

Joined: 20th Feb 2010

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Elizibif Norf (Local Spelling!!)
SA, Australia

If its the blue lettering with the red needles you're after, give THIS a read.

 

_________________

dc_todd wrote:
Cheap pads squeal like cheap hookers, and you can take that to the bank.


Au Fairmont Ghia
My (Old) 95 EF Wagon

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing globes in EF cluster
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 11:35 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 398

Joined: 16th May 2010

Ride: 2010 G6E

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

blue is good, i'm yet to go get me some ef globe holders for the smd's to go in, (brighter than normal led, better light spread) but blue is good, just make sure you get the paint off the needles first.

 

_________________

be good or be good at it.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing globes in EF cluster
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2012 6:24 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 22

Posts: 337

Joined: 30th Apr 2011

Ride: '97 EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Tech90 wrote:
Ah I missed that pic -.-; cheers.

Anyone tried blue and looked better than stock? Deciding between white and blue ATM.


ford-interior-f14/pics-of-led-modded-dashes-pls-with-new-dash-pics-d-t34111-135.html

Have a look through this thread, should give you an idea of what you want.
The one at the top of the linked page is an alright example.
Also, because theres not really any white clusters in there, heres a pic of mine:
Image

 

_________________

The EL ghia
^^^^^^^^^^

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 2:34 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names